We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helped get our Italian trip back on track”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Diana Roof Garden
Ranked #332 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 24 April 2014

After unexpected difficulties trying to secure a rental car at FCO airport, we found ourselves (2 adults, two teenagers and a nine year old with seven pieces of luggage) in the center of Rome wondering where we were going to find last minute accommodations for the night. After trying Best Western (they had no vacancy) we were advised to cross the street and try Hotel Diana. The nighttime hotel clerk was extremely helpful and friendly. When I enquired about a family room, he stated there was one available and gave the key to my husband insisting that he go inspect the room to make sure it would work for our family before we accepted. Because we were in a dire situation (it was nearing 11:30 pm.. and we had had a long and eventful day) we gladly accepted the room, even though it only had a queen size bed and two singles (standard family size room in Europe). However, even though we were a family of 5, the hotel clerk allowed us to all stay in the one room and did not make us split up into two rooms. My children found the pictures on the wall hilarious, but they got quite used to European art over our next 10 days spent in Italy. We had a LOVELY breakfast the next morning... honestly it was probably one of the best continental breakfasts I have ever had at a hotel, and the staff was very friendly, welcoming and courteous. Although I am not sure if we would stay here again (only due to the fact that we ARE a family of five and had we stayed longer I am sure we would have had to book more than one room), I can honestly say that we are truly thankful for this hotel and the wonderful hotel clerk who helped us on the night of 3 April 2014.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makala E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 1,723 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

We booked this as part of a BA trip to Rome and it was great value for over the Easter period.
The room was as described and was clean on arrival and a lovely little bag of Easte eggs on the bed we had daily 2 bottles of water a can of Pepsi and a bag of crisps left in the mini bar which are free.The breakfast in nothing to write home about but then I didn't expect much the basics toast, honey, ceral etc.The roof garden is very pleasant to sit and have a drink good views of Rome .The reception staff were very helpful and we left our luggage for a few hours as we had a late flight home.The hotel do have smoking rooms as I know how difficult it can be to find these and next door is a tour shop which sells the Roma pass this is great as it includes the entrance to the Collosium they also sell the tickets for the hop on hop of buses.I would saw if there are more than 2 of you take a taxi from the airport as it is cheaper than the train and round the corner from the hotel they do a fixed price taxi 40 euros to the airport.If you like pizza try and visit Pinsere about a 10 minute walk on Via Flava worth the walk outherwise if you go out of the hotel and turn right and then right again a good restaurnant on th left side next to the vespa tours wee had a lovely meal here and reasonable priced.Overall the hotel is clean,reasonably priced and in a central location .

Room Tip: We stayed in 316 which was at thr front of the building if you are a light sleeper perhaps ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheratonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We used this hotel,very close to the Terminus,where all trains,and airport transfer buses arrive.You can walk from the terminus to this hotel in about ten minutes.The hotel was clean,not too fancy or basic,quite comfortable,and a good location for seeing Rome on foot.There is also an open top tour bus stop about 200metres away.We visited in April and were able to have breakfast every morning on the rooftop garden,warm,and peaceful.Also good to come back to in the afternoon for a relaxing drink from their bar.The breakfast which was included in the stay was surprisingly good,continental,and with cooked items.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room that does not have a window inside the hotel alley,as on one night there was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Hotel Diana was a clean hotel located not far from many major tourist draws in Rome. While our room was on the small side, it was recently renovated, clean and had a good shower. The breakfast was quite good, and the wifi worked decently. We were there in mid-March, and the pleasant weather made the room comfortable (it would get a tad bit warm and we would open the windows for a while). There was some street noise, but an accordion player nearby tended to add to the ambiance since he did play too late. The roof top bar was not yet open while we were there, and given the nice weather, it would have been nice if they had opened it up for guests.

Room Tip: The street noise can get loud, so you may want a room not on the street if you plan to open the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel is exactly what you need for a city break.
The room was clean and comfortable with the nice extras such as free mini bar and safe, it's just what you need after a long day of walking around the wonderful city of rome.
The location of this hotel is great it's close to the main train station and other public transport, it's also close to main attractions. There is also many shops and bars around this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed Three night at the Hotel Diana in early April 2014. We were traveling as a family with my wife, Mam and Aunt.

A lady on the plane suggested a taxi rather than the train, good advice it turned out to be and at 48 Euro (the set price) good value compared to the train.

The hotel was chosen for the proximity to the station (turned out irrelevant!) and the roof garden, both were as described. The location also provides a good location to explore the rest of Rome on foot.

The welcome was very warm and the check-in was swift.

The rooms were clean and well decorated if not large. Breakfast was ok and provided good choice for the day ahead.

A very authentic Italian experience and to be recommended!

Paul & Di

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul_and_Dinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We travelled from Ireland and spent a weekend in the Hotel Diana in March 2014. The Hotel was clean and central to all attractions and close to the train station. We had dinner in the Hotel restaurant on one evening and found the food to be very good and reasonably priced. Breakfast was a good selection of cooked meats, cereals and fruit. The roof top bar/seating area was amazing. However, the highlight of our trip was the very polite and attentive staff in particular Franco, the singing barman who was extremely attentive and helpful with all our needs. It was our Mothers 80th Birthday which he made special with a cake and candles followed by an Italian rendition of Happy Birthday. I would have no hesitation in recommending Hote lDiana for a weekend break in Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFRingsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#232 of 1,271 in Rome
1,229 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#127 of 1,271 in Rome
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
Hotel Massimo D'Azeglio
#312 of 1,271 in Rome
966 reviews
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#166 of 1,271 in Rome
2,266 reviews
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#185 of 1,271 in Rome
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana Roof Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana Roof Garden

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 4, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £62 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diana Roof Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel offering modern comforts and amenities, restaurant and bar; situated in the heart of Rome near the Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diana Roof Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Diana Rome Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing