We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly Disapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Diana Roof Garden
Ranked #339 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Slightly Disapointed”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Over our whole Europe trip this was the most disappointed hotel stay, the staff were not overly concerned by our needs and not very helpful at all even when checking out, not even a good bye, hotel staff were not great. The location was good although if you have a car there is very limited space and can be costly! the rooms were basic although we did expect more..!! we was over charged at the end and felt there was a hassle by the staff every time we requested for something. VERY DISAPOINTED. If we could turn the clock's back we would have stayed in a much cheaper hotel as there is allot to do in Rome and really only need a basic room to sleep at night and our overall impression of the other hotel's seem to get rated low also in Rome compared to other city's.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lendytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    742
    370
    114
    79
See reviews for
393
644
115
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My grandaughter and I spent 5 days at the Hotel Diana. It is convenient to the railway station and walkable to most of the tourist sites. The staff was cordial and helpful. Our room (530), while not large, was clean and sufficient for our needs. Breakfast on the rooftop garden was a delight, the view was incredible. The waitstaff were pleasant and spoke limited English (we spoke limited Italian). Franco the bartender is a delight.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksauers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one night , and the first positive point I would say is the location. 1 minute walking from Termini Railway station. Nice and quiet room, confy shower ,good quality of towels and matress and free wi-fi in all areas. Lots af different channels on Tv .
Excellent service at the reception and friendly staff at the breakfast room.
Breakfast is good and varied and if you wish, you can have it in the roof garden, with beautiful views of Rome.
Rooms have independent A/C and it really worked as i wanted.

Room Tip: Interior rooms, are really quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maybers B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie Village, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Two evenings at Hotel Diana Roof Garden were disappointing. The employees at the front desk were all curt and lacked any kind of concern for the welfare of their guests. The morning of my departure, when I closed my account, the man who took my payment NEVER looked up from the computer, NEVER asked how I enjoyed my stay, and NEVER said thanks for coming to Hotel Diana!

The hotel was old, but clean. My room was very small and the mattress on the bed as very hard. I was on the 6th floor, with the window looking out a small square opening facing the other side of the same building. On the seventh floor, directly across from my window, was the kitchen. The kitchen windows were kept wide open day and night, and you could hear lots of shouting and clanging of dishes, pots and pans. The aromas were actually pleasant, but the noise started at 5am and ended close to midnight!

I would not recommend this hotel as a first choice; but as a last choice, you could live through it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Madison, Ms
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very convenient to Termini Train Station. 3 adults and 3 preteens walked to hotel with backpacks and rolling suitcases. Very nice breakfast which was included with stay. Roof garden dining area was open, quiet, refreshing. Beds, linens very nice. We had 2 triple rooms. One was larger and more open than the other. Open windows allowed for fresh air. 5th floor rooms were quiet of outside noise. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Corner room was better than hall room. 5th floor was a good floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madison_MsJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The staff at Hotel Diana was very friendly and kind. They provide free wifi for their guests. There is buffet-style breakfast everyday in the morning which was convenient. They had croissants, yogurts, cereals and omelets amongst other things. The rooms were clean and the setup was convenient. Our room had a nice street view. Their rooms have modern safes to keep your belongings. The location of Hotel Diana is very convenient as it is about 2 blocks away from the metro and a nice decent walk to the Trevi Fountain. The hotel also provides free maps and advice on where to enjoy nice authentic italian food. If you do not have an adapter to charge your smartphone just plug in your USB to one of their flat screen TVs and you will be good to go. I will definitely consider them again for my next trip to Rome. I love Rome!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Spent two nights here and it fit the bill. Clean, friendly, convenient. Nothing outstanding but nothing wanting either. Georgina who served us lunch and breakfast at the rooftop garden was a real delight.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#186 of 1,261 in Rome
1,700 reviews
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#242 of 1,261 in Rome
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo
Esquilino
Bettoja Massimo D'Azeglio
Bettoja Massimo D'Azeglio
#331 of 1,261 in Rome
918 reviews
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#169 of 1,261 in Rome
2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana Roof Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana Roof Garden

Property: Hotel Diana Roof Garden
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 4, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#183 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diana Roof Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel offering modern comforts and amenities, restaurant and bar; situated in the heart of Rome near the Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diana Roof Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Diana Rome Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing