We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything was faultless!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Residenza Cellini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza Cellini
Ranked #27 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Everything was faultless!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Kudos to my wife who found this apartment, who is part of the Residenza Cellini hotel. The apartment is in Via Marianna Dionigi no. 17, which is 2 minutes walk to Piazza Cavour (Supreme Court). We have 3 generations travelling, total of 7 pax, youngest being 3, and oldest 69. I really don't know where to start, so let's talk about start from the part when we checked in.

We were greeted by brother and sister team, Gaetano and Barbara. They made us felt really at home, and explained everything to us, from where to eat, where to visit first, what bus to take, etc. I think they spent over an hour with us when we checked in. The apartment was stocked up with all sorts of necessities; pastries, milk, juices, coffee, tea, etc. etc. It was almost like a mini 7-eleven in there. Towels, bath gel and shampoo were all provided for. There were 3 bedrooms in total, and everyone of us had a bed. The apartment faces the courtyard, so it was nice and quiet.

The location was superb. It was a short walk to the Spanish Steps. We basically walked everywhere. The only day when we took a bus was because it was raining, and we wanted to go a bit further to the Coliseum. Apart from that, this apartment is walking distance to everywhere, the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Vatican City, St. Peter Basilica etc. etc. If my dad at 69 and my youngest son at 3 didn't mind the walks, I think it says a lot. There are very nice restaurants and pizzerias very nearby. All of them are good, and worth mentioning is the Japanese restaurant Taki just down the road. Worth a try!

All in all, loved the apartment, great value for money (given that we would need to book 2 or even 3 hotel rooms for 7 of us) and thank you Gaetano and Barbara for making us feel so welcomed! We will definitely be back to Rome, and to this apartment again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0telH0pper56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    173
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
253
491
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at the Residenza Cellini for 6 nights last week. It was a treat! The hotel is in a great location. We felt very safe walking all over the neighborhood. We walked easily to the metro, Termini Station, numerous restaurants, shops , a bank and a taxi station.

We could also walk to many tourist sites including the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain.
Our room was immaculate and very welcoming. The mattress was comfortable and the decor lovely. Barbara, one of the owners, was on site most of the days we were there and was always available with a smile to help us with restaurant suggestions, directions, and any information we needed. Robert , who works at the desk, even helped us get reservations and tickets for the Uffizi Gallery in Florence which was our next stop. A generous breakfast was included with delicious cappuccino or latte made by Hector each morning. There was a lovely patio on the 5th floor where we sat several evenings having a glass of wine. For outstanding service, we recommend that you stay at Residenza Cellini.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marsha665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We just returned from Italy with 3 days in Residenza Cellini and think it was one of the nicest rooms in our trip (Venice, Rome and Sorrento). The rooms themselves were large and spacious with a good shower, great after a long hot walk in Rome. :)

The location of the hotel is perfect, literally steps to the Republica Metro (M) station which is one stop after the Termini station. This was very convenient since we were taking the train from Venice to Rome. It is also one stop (bus or metro) away from all the highlights of Rome (Trevi Fountain, Spanish steps, Piazza Navona)

The staff is extremely helpful, armed with suggestions on places to eat and things to do. They also helped us make our itinerary on where and when to do what. We wanted to do the Borghese Gallery but since it was closed on May 1 , we couldn't get tickets for it. However, the lady at the front desk was extremely helpful and made a booking for us. This was very helpful and thoughtful on their part. Also, we used the mini bar for a packet of cookies and a cold drink and this ended up being complimentary and not added to our final bill. A nice touch! :)

There was a nice terrace like open area on the 5th floor where our rooms were which was very nice to unwind at the end of the day. The breakfast spread was also really nice with an assortment of cookies, fruits and cakes.

A definite recommend for anyone travelling to Rome! Grazie Residenza Cellini!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aarti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We were greeted warmly, the lady (who I think is the owner), was extremely helpful and hospitable. Our room was clean and comfortable. Sadly, from this point our experience was not so great. The wifi was slow or non existent. In the morning we attempted to call friends at another Rome hotel but couldn't dial out. The man on reception was extremely unhelpful. Eventually this problem was resolved. We then went to the breakfast room which is tiny and as a result there was no table available. We were woken both mornings of our stay by the noisy dumpster trucks which I appreciate is no fault of the hotel. I do not wish to sound negative but our experience was such that we won't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis, missouri
Level Contributor
192 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

This hotel is in a very unusual location. We walked there from the train station and then could not figure out where the hotel was! It turns out that it takes part of 2 floors of a large building (former Ducal palace). That building also houses other hotels and suites. Once we figured it out we were thrilled by our room and the memory foam beds. Crazy to note that as the best when there are so many good things about this hotel but the beds in Italy are hard, not firm.

Our room was large and beautifully decorated and very clean. We had a desk and tea and coffee making facilites plus a small fridge. The people who worked at the hotel were very nice and helpful. I will say that the breakfast room only seats 4 tables of 2 at a time and one morning we had to wait quite a while to eat.

There are numerous choices of shops and restaurants near by.

Room Tip: It was a much longer walk to the real sites of Rome than we expected. I should have done a little mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norms_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Excellent accomodation, great way to end our Italy vacation and definitely a place we would return to and stay again. So much more intimate than hotels with the staff going above and beyond in every aspect to ensure your stay is wonderful. Comfy beds, tasty breakfast and the quaint lift and terrace make this a must stay when in Rome.
Calgary, Canada

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue6816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,979 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#18 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,801 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Cellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Cellini

Property: Residenza Cellini
Address: Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rome
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Residenza Cellini 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and exclusive, Residenza Cellini combines the timeless charm of its luxurious historical interiors with the functionality of the most modern and exclusive comforts to ensure a pleasant and restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residenza Cellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Cellini Hotel Rome
Residenza Cellini Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing