We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient & Easy going”
Review of Residenza Cellini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residenza Cellini
Ranked #40 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient & Easy going”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in triple suite, the room was beautiful, spacious & even had live orchids on the table. Location is awesome, right off of Via Nazionale, walking distance to all the major sights.
What I liked the best - very flexible check in & out policy. Let us in way early & didn't mind checking out about 1 1/2 late.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank iradar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    174
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
256
494
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roslyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We were at Residenza Cellini August 1-3,2013. They arranged for a car to pick us up. The driver was there with a sign and he whisked us away to the hotel. We arrived at 9 AM expecting our room to not be ready and were delightfully surprised to find out it was ready and waiting. We booked a suite/large room which had a Jacuzzi tub in a very modern bathroom. We bought a Rome pass which lets you use the public transportation for 3 days and also gets you into Roman sights for free or deeply reduced. The metro was a 2 minute walk and the bus, 1 minute. We walked to Trevi, Spanish steps, and the Roman baths. Staff was very eager and helpful. Breakfast was OK.
Surprises...We didn't know there were other hotels in the same building. and the old elevator. Both surprises were fine with us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoslynHeights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The hotel is in a very convenient location for walking everywhere to see the sights. The staff were extremely helpful and patient in pointing out places of interest to see and how to get there. We felt very safe and our room was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed here 2 nights post-cruise. Very convenient to termini staion and repubblica metro. We took the metro up to the villa borghese area and then walked back. Many sights are within 20 minutes walking-colosseum, trevi fountain, spanish steps. Large room, beautiful bathroom and satisfying breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ottawa1522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed with a group of six in the apartment owned by the hotel in Via Dionigi.
Pros: There was a huge amount of space in this beautiful apartment. One and half baths, two very large bedrooms, and one small bedroom. Comfortably slept 5, 6 was a squeeze. Gaetano and his sister were extremely helpful in orienting us to the area and setting up the apartment. They spent plenty of time giving us advice on everything from tourist attractions to buses to restaurants. They also stocked the kitchen with TONS of breakfast food and drinks. Clean and air-conditioned. Good location (great gelato nearby, good restaurants, short walk to the Vatican). The staff at the actual hotel was also very helpful; they called taxis for us with no trouble.

Cons: The wifi was free but it didn't reach all areas of the apartment, and it wasn't consistent. The location isn't bad but it is far from the Colosseum and Forum (30-40 min walk).

Overall: Great value for the money, would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IN
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The Residenza Cellini is close to the main train station in Rome which makes it convenient for metro and rail travel. However, if you like to walk, it's a bit far from the ancient sites of Rome. Our room was huge, bathroom was very nice, and the desk staff extremely helpful. Since it was our 40th wedding anniversary, they provided us with a lovely bottle of champagne and fresh sweets in our room. Breakfast was a delight every morning, with fresh pastries, cheese, and salami always available.....and, of course, strong coffee. We had one objection (and only one) to our stay there. The location made it very quiet EXCEPT there was a baby living in a room nearby and he woke us up every morning at 2AM......every morning!! Our first stay in Europe, after flying from Chicago, was at the Residenza Cellini. Needless to say, we were looking for a good night's sleep and we would have had it with the quiet location and the comfy bed, had there not been a family seemingly living at the hotel with their child. If we had known this, we would have selected a different hotel. Check this situation out before booking your room. Otherwise, we can highly recommend this Rome hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weyes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

If you are traveling with a young family or just want to immerse yourself in the Italian culture and community - look no further, you have found the most perfect place to begin your Roman vacation! I cannot express enough how wonderful this apartment is. Our family of five (two adults and 3 children, ages 13, 10 and 8) made this apartment our home for a wonderful 7 days in July 2013. From the moment we arrived at the airport and was greeted by our driver, to our first introduction to Gaetano and Barbara at the apartment, we knew that we had chosen the right place for our family. I will be highly recommending this apartment to anyone visiting Rome. Gaetano and Barbara made sure that the apartment was impeccable and to our surprise had a fully stocked refrigerator and pantry with items such as milk, bread, juice, coffee, pastries and much more. Apartment 11 is a spacious two bedroom apartment with a wonderful combined living room and dining room, a large beautiful bathroom and an eat in kitchen. The apartment also has wifi, air conditioning, and lots of natural light and character. Our three children shared the one bedroom with lots of room to spare. The windows open into the quiet street below and the original cage style elevator just adds to the charm. I particularly loved that we were centrally located, just steps away from Piazza Cavour. The only transportation our family needed was our walking shoes. We were only a 10 to 15 minute walk to such sites as Castel Sant`Angelo, the Vatican, Piazza Navona, Piazza dei Popolo, the Pantheon, the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain. Our farthest destination was the Roman Coliseum which was a 30 minute walk (with children). Thank you to Gaetano and Barbara for providing such a welcoming and beautiful apartment, and not to forget their hospitality and top notch service. We can`t wait to return!
The Porcellato Family (Canada)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PorcellatoFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,257 in Rome
1,294 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#58 of 1,257 in Rome
714 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Cellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Cellini

Property: Residenza Cellini
Address: Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rome
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Residenza Cellini 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and exclusive, Residenza Cellini combines the timeless charm of its luxurious historical interiors with the functionality of the most modern and exclusive comforts to ensure a pleasant and restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Residenza Cellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Cellini Hotel Rome
Residenza Cellini Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing