We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Residenza Cellini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza Cellini
Ranked #27 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

Me, my husband, and our two sons (10 & 13) stayed for 3 nights at the Residenza Cellini. It is located about 3 blocks from the train station, and about 1 block from the metro. Very convenient. The first night we stayed in two rooms (a jr. suite and a superior room), and the remaining two nights we stayed in the family quad room. The jr. suite was wonderful. The room, bed, and bathroom were large. We were on the 5th floor and overlooked a crummy courtyard, but it was sure quiet. My only complaint was the bed. It was hard, the sheets were low quality (not soft and scratchy), and the pillow flat and hard. The bathroom was lovely. My son took a nice, leisurely bath in the tub one night and was in heaven. The superior room was very small, but perfectly fine for 2 people. The family room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the street. It was large enough to accommodate all four of us comfortably. I wouldn't recommend the 3rd floor due to the noise from the breakfast room and front desk, but it wasn't too big of a deal. The staff were highly professional and attentive to our every need. The service was impeccable. The free breakfast was nice, although I was getting tired of the cookies, rich pastries, and salami. Although delicious, my stomach wasn't use to such rich food in the morning. The cappuccinos were delicious. They did have some fresh fruit, yogurt, and one type of cereal, which is what I ended up eating the last two days. The hotel is located in a busy part of town, but then again, Rome is busy all over. Overall, the hotel is very nice and the staff is wonderful. I would recommend staying here when in Rome.
P.S. If you need to do laundry, there is a wonderful self-service laundrymat not far. Ask the front desk for directions. The laundrymat has an attendant who will do all the washing and drying for you (but you should tip him). We dropped off our laundry, had dinner at Pizzeria Est, Est, Est, then came back to clean, dry laundry. All we had to do is fold.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    173
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
253
491
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, CA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

We loved staying in this little hotel.The service was great. The breakfasts were great. They did everything to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2009

We stayed for 5 nights and it was really the best hotel in Rome I have ever stayed in. Our junior-suite was clean, large and quiet. The location is perfect. Owners and staff are great ! Friendly and helpfull.
A perfect place to stay!

Stayed March 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank robinhood77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2009

We stayed at the beggining of March 2009 for two nights. The staff were very nice and helpfull nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is very clean and the rooms very comfortable. The location is good for the metro. I will be going back again and would recommend to any one.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevoEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irish
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2009

My husband and I stayed in Residence Cellini for 4 nights and we would highly recommend it. The room was small, but very comfortable and quiet at night. Location was ideal, walking distance to several of the tourist attractions, bus stop round the corner and metro at the top of the road. Best of all were the staff - very friendly, attentive to every detail and very helpful in providing guidance and arranging restaurant bookings. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishRugbyFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, MN, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

We had a great stay in a junior suite at the Residenza Cellini.

Our room was spacious but not huge by European standards, and immaculate. I was surprised to read that others didn't find them clean, as ours was as clean as any room we've ever stayed in. The only (minor) negative I could find is that the rooms facing the street had some late night noise (trash collection?) -- if you're a light sleeper, you might want to request a room facing the courtyard.

We found the breakfast well above average, with a nod to the excellent capuccino and espresso. And of course, the location is excellent -- a block to the Repubblica subway station and just a few more to the huge Termini station, and a reasonable walk to many of Rome's other attractions, including the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain.

But the highlight here is the attentive service. Any time we showed even a hint of a need for anything -- be it extra towels, restaurant recommendations or whatnot -- they were only too eager to help. Moreover, the responses were always warm and genuine, and they never lost patience answering question after question (as this was our first trip to Rome). By the end of our all too short 4-night stay, we felt like were leaving our home away from home.

As a bonus, they were nearing completion of the 5th floor terrace where they plan to start serving breakfasts. It wasn't ready for us to eat there yet, but we enjoyed a couple of relaxing evenings over a bottle of wine.

We look forward to staying there again....

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
4 Thank MarqFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2009

After a wonderful review in the Sunday Times over a year ago I bookmarked the Residenza Cellini web site for future reference, and as January was our 25th wedding anniversary we decided to try this hotel.

We were delighted with every aspect of our stay, fine room, a good size junior suite, and VERY quiet, (unlike most hotel rooms in Rome).

The staff were most attentive and couldn't have been more helpful.
Even though we know Rome quite well, they directed us to great restaurants and pointed us to areas we hadn't visited before.

This is Five Star customer care which many "big" hotels have lost.

We of course should keep this quiet as this will be "Our Hotel" in Rome from now on!

Peter & Mary Dublin IRELAND

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,981 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Cellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Cellini

Property: Residenza Cellini
Address: Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rome
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Residenza Cellini 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and exclusive, Residenza Cellini combines the timeless charm of its luxurious historical interiors with the functionality of the most modern and exclusive comforts to ensure a pleasant and restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residenza Cellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Cellini Hotel Rome
Residenza Cellini Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing