We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Apartment Great Location - Associated with Residenza Cellini”
Review of Residenza Cellini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residenza Cellini
Ranked #127 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Unlike in the US we found it challenging to find hotels in Europe with rooms that would accomodate 4 people, which they call Quads. Based on reviews we read on Trip Advisor we contacted Hotel Residenza Cellini but they did not have any "quads" available. However, they suggested we would be much more comfortable and it would be more affordable if we reserved an apartment that was managed by the Hotel rather than reserve 2 rooms at the hotel. They were right. And as we discovered, the apartment had a better location closer to the historical areas like the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon than did the hotel.

Upon our arrival we were met by Gaetano who showed us around the 3 bedroom apartment we rented on the 4th floor at Via M. Dionigi, #17. He also spent a lot of time with us to show us where we were located and where we could go nearby for dinners out. The hotel front desk could be called from the apartment for any questions or even to assist with dinner reservations. We stayed 5 nights and the apartment was cleaned once with fresh towels provided during our stay, which was sufficient.

The master bedroom was very large and spacious and contained an in-wall safe, air conditioner, phone, and TV. The 2nd bedroom contained 2 twin beds and was also amply sized. The 3rd bedroom was very small and suitable only for one person and one small bed. The apartment was tastefully decorated, clean and very large. Although not luxurious, it was a very comfortable and quite place for us to stay. The main bathroom was plenty large and had an excellent shower and there was also a dining room off of the kitchen that was stocked with cooking hardware, refrigerator, and some breakfast basics like juice, croissants, toast, bread, jam, and milk. The neighborhood was quiet and safe and had several good places to dine in the evening if we didn't want to cross the river to walk to the historical site seeing areas. If we did decide to take a walk for dinner or shopping we could get to many places within about a half a mile. We were also very close to a bus stop that makes it easy to get over to the Coloseum and Forum, which are too far to walk to.

We were a little weary of choosing an apartment rental over a full service hotel but in the end it worked out great for us. Unless you must have total luxury and full service amenities, we would highly recommend this apartment to families traveling as it definitely is more comfortable and more affordable than most other options. In our minds there is no comparison of the location versus the Residenza Cellini, which is further away from the historical sites and is also located on an upper level floor of a building.

One word of caution - parking is extremely limited and difficult to find nearly every place in Rome and the area around the apartment is no exception.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ef10s2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2010

Beautiful hotel. Close to the bus line and train station. Very helpful staff. Breakfast was yummy. Would definately return. We stayed in the large family room with our two older teenagers, was a bit tight, but we managed. Loved the big bathtub.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We have just returned from our wonderful 2 week trip to Italy where we had the extreme good fortune to stay in the Residenza Cellini in Rome for a total of 5 nights.. Every once in awhile a hotel comes along that is superior in every way and RC is that and more for the following reasons:
Service: Truly the gold standard in this area-from the minute we walked in we were made to feel welcome and nurtured. When we would come home each evening and take the charming vintage elevator up to reception to pick up our room key, someone at the desk would be right there at the elevator door to hand us our key so we didn't even have to get off. In addition Georges and the rest of the staff answered our endless questions with patience, enthusiasm and good humor.

Rooms: We felt so fortunate to stay in Rm 503 on the 5th floor which was cozy and sparkling clean, beautiful decor and we loved the state of the art bathroom! And we had our own private terrace which was enclosed in the larger 5th floor terrace that many other reviewers have referenced-absolutely lovely to sit out on with a cold drink after a long day of sightseeing. We took full advantage! It was extremely hot in Rome and when we returned to our room each day our A/C was turned on which was so lovely and refreshing. The A/C is controlled by remote so you are able to adjust at all times to personal preference-a big plus!

Overall ambiance of hotel: Just lovely-we felt like we were staying in a very elegant home. The roooms and hallways are beautifully decorated and sparkle throughout. The breakfast room is very nice and was a great place to start each day.

Breakfast: For us, the continental breakfast buffet was perfect. Pastries, breads, cereals, meat, cheese, fruit, yogurt, etc. And then of course the best part, your coffee preference (Expresso, cappucino, American coffee, etc) brought steaming hot to your table. We throughly enjoyed meeting others and sharing experiences, tips, etc.

Location: We loved the location!! Easy access to Termini, metro and bus and we enjoyed the surrounding area very much-great restaurants, very clean, nice to stroll. It was a bit of a walk to the major sites but we liked being out of the 'hub' a bit. The front desk made it easy to navigate the area and all of the sites with their large stack of maps that they would mark for us each time we went out.

In conclusion, we have travelled extensively and have enjoyed many, many different types of accomodations from motels to B&Bs to 5 star hotels/resorts and we can honestly give Residenza Cellini the highest recommendation with great enthusiasm. It was an absolutely wonderful place to 'come home' to each evening. We will never stay anywhere else in Rome!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenni721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We've stayed at the Residenza Cellini twice and absolutely love it! The staff is truly wonderful and always go the extra mile to make sure you are happy. The offer excellent suggestions as to restaurants and great places to shop. We had a fabulous stay both times and would be glad to stay there again should we return to Rome, which I hope we will.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Lovestotravel0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We stayed here in June 2010. I booked it in 2009 and their initial e-mail back to me was a bit slow, but I didn't have any problems communicating with them after that. As many people have mentioned, it's a bit tricky to find because the sign on it is so small, but we weren't turned around very long. It was a nice short walk from the train station, bus stops, shopping, etc. Good location!

We stayed in room 501 on the 5th floor. It was a nice room with a good TV and working wi-fi. As other people have mentioned, the bed was hard. One thing I didn't see anyone else mention was how small the showers were. It was a Jacuzzi showed in a corner and it was very, very small. I've compared it to trying to shower in a vertical glass coffin. I was ready to ask for another room because of it but opted not to because of the hassle of repacking and moving. There was also no deadbolt on the door. You had to use the key to lock it. We ended up leaving the key in the door at night because we didn't want to have to fumble with the lock in case there was an emergency.

The small breakfast was good and was prepared early. It was small, but enough to hold us over until lunch.

All of the people working there were courteous and helpful. They booked a time slot at the Borghese museum for us on a short notice. They were also up early and checked us out at 4:30 am for our early departure flight. They called us a cab, too, which got there quickly.

Overall, a great stay but if I go back I'll try and get a room with a bigger shower.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasAggie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

This was everything advertised on the website and then some. Initial emails regarding reservations and follow-up were prompt and complete. Georges was fantastic, responding to our questions and the other staff were also very accommodating. Restaurant recommendations and tips regarding getting around Rome to the various sites were perfect. Reception upon arrival was very gracious and the room fantastic, clean, and comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfasts which were provided and they have a new covered porch a few floors above the hotel rooms which was very pleasant and quiet to just sit and sip wine after a full day of activities. The neighborhood was safe to walk day or night. We cannot say enough about this small hotel and can fully understand why it has been ranked as one of the best finds in Rome. We would most certainly plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellers000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We spent 3 nights here in the middle of our 2 week trip and returned for a final nights before our morning return flight to home. The rooms we had were quite nice with adequate space, spotless bathrooms and lovely decor. It was a wonderfully relaxing place to return to after a hectic day touring the city sights. We loved the fifth floor terrace and met many interesting guests there. Although the elevator is small and somewhat cumbersome, that is common in older buidlings. The staff were just great in assisting us with any of our needs. We would definitely return and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mustlovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#61 of 1,269 in Rome
732 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#103 of 1,269 in Rome
1,491 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,269 in Rome
4,281 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#37 of 1,269 in Rome
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Cellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Cellini

Address: Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rome
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#77 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £105 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Residenza Cellini 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and exclusive, Residenza Cellini combines the timeless charm of its luxurious historical interiors with the functionality of the most modern and exclusive comforts to ensure a pleasant and restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residenza Cellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Cellini Hotel Rome
Residenza Cellini Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing