We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT stay!”
Review of Hotel Torino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Torino
Ranked #1,069 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do NOT stay!”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Awful service, rude staff, disgusting room, moldy shower, sewerage odour, room doors don't lock...issue not rectified. Breakfast was a chaotic joke and limited. This is not a 4 star hotel!! Possibly 2 stars

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pellegrino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    201
    267
    192
    161
See reviews for
143
294
88
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lerici, Liguria, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The hotel isn't costly but the rooms are not only old fashioned but also OLD looking. But clean. The panoramic terrace for breakfast has its charm.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days and enjoyed the stay in hotel as it was a minute away from train station. In fact the hotel is located in the center so most of the popular sightseeing was easily accessible. While stay in the hotel wasnt good as it is not so clean and staff wasnt helping at all.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prijain13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My wife and I had a lousy experience here in mid September. From the English-speaking front desk staff who couldn't have cared less, to the peeling wallpaper, to the empty bottle left in the room, to the toilet that didn't work in a semi-clean bathroom, the hotel was unattractive on many levels. Did I mention there were no bed springs? When I told the front desk staff that the toilet didn't work, the gentleman said "I'm sorry" but I got the feeling he's heard that complaint many times,as he brushed me off to serve the next guest who was desperately trying to check out. Breakfast was OK and the coffee machine even made a decent cappuccino. It's close to the train station so I'm pretty sure they want the overnight stopover guest. There is no reason to stay there again. It's obvious that hotel ratings are meaningless in the three or four class range. The low point of an otherwise great two week vacation.

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in mid September 2011. It was booked several months before and I was aware of some of the reviews. Whoever grades the hotels in Rome have got this one wrong. It is by no means a four star. Our room, on the first floor overlooking the main street was generally small and the bathroom tiny. The bathroom was moderately clean although the shower tiles could have done with a spray of disinfectant. The furniture / wardrobe was old and outdated. There was mould/mildew on the ceiling above the door as you walked in. Generally, the room was in need of a refurb. The reception area however was done very smart with a sense of "olde worlde" about it. Breakfast was average - usual continental style and nothing to write home about although did fill a gap. Some of the staff on reception could do with a course in customer relations. Perhaps a smile every now and again and engage the customer in conversation about their trip wouldn't have gone a miss. The roof top terrace was good. There was plenty of seating up there and provided an escape for an hour to sit and relax, watching the hustle and bustle of the streets below.

The bonus side of this hotel is its location. It is situated just a two minute walk away from the central train station and bus / tram terminus. This was extremely useful to us as we had bought a Roma Card and used public transport a lot. As they say, all roads lead to Rome, in our case, all buses and trams led to within 2 minutes of our hotel. The area that the hotel is situated in was also quite pleasant. There are ample cafes/bars/restaurants very close by and some lovely buildings / architecture to explore just moments away.

We paid 313 Euros for our three night stay here, and then there was an extra 18 Euros on top for the "tourist tax". Being classed as a 4 star hotel, the tax meant we paid 3 Euros each a night. If this was a 3 start hotel it would have been 2 Euros each a night.

All in all, the hotel experience didn't ruin our holiday, but when you stay at what is advertised as a 4* hotel, you would expect better. If I had to do it again, I wouldn't stay here, but would go to either a 3* hotel whose prices reflect it, or pay a little more for a genuine 4*.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roscotrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ry, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The Hotel Torino has a fine reception with english speaking staff, that is manned 24 hrs. And the roof terrase is nice, eventhough the nice furniture and flowers from the pictures has been replaced with somewhat more basic furniture of metal. That is positive. Also the location is fine, with 5 min to the trainstation and metro, or if you like to walk, about 15 mins to Colosseum and 20 min to the historical centre. But besides that, the hotel should not be rated a four star hotel. The rooms are clean, but old and especially the bathroom is not acceptable for a hotel with four stars. Using the shower with the old fixed showerhead mounted to the wall, leaves the floor a mess. And I am sorry to say this, but we had to use the plastic wastebin to flush the toilet, because the water pressure just was not nearly enough. The breakfast was acceptable, but only with bake-off bread and no bacon/eggs or similar. Again - that is okay, just not what you expect from a four star hotel. And the bathroom in the room - there is just no excuse but that it must be a deliberate choise not to fix them. One final thing on the nice roof terrase - besides for the breakfast service, there is no staff or bar at the terrase (and no bar anywhere else in the hotel) - so we had to go to the nearest shop to buy beverages.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morten016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saddleworth_UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We booked the Torino Hotel, Via Principe Amedeo, Rome, for four nights at the start of May 2011, mainly for the good location. After looking at TripAdvisor I decided to ignore some of the comments..........a bit of an error!!
Reception really is a problem here. ‘Mr Grumpy 1 & 2’ on the front desk is no exaggeration! There is a ‘Mr Smiley’ but we only met him on checkout.....not the best timing.
Room was a bit small and noisy with an open window but, noticing some other rooms being cleaned between guests, our room was quite large in comparison.
Breakfast was generally fine with a good selection of both continental and English tastes. One morning did not go quite to plan as, probably as a result of a business meeting nearby, there was total chaos with no tables available for a short time and very little food either! It did get sorted but should not happen.
However, location was spot-on as it was near the Termini. Also with so many restaurants in the area, finding a good one was no problem.
Would we go back to the Torino? No, I don’t think so, especially as we discovered more choice whilst in Rome. Also, Torino is not really 4 Star.

Reception guys need sorting............first impressions count.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noni_and_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Viminale
Hotel Viminale
#870 of 1,261 in Rome
525 reviews
Monti
Hotel Gallia
Hotel Gallia
#743 of 1,261 in Rome
378 reviews
Esquilino
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
Bettoja Atlantico Hotel
#504 of 1,261 in Rome
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#830 of 1,261 in Rome
431 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#238 of 1,261 in Rome
850 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eliseo
Hotel Eliseo
#675 of 1,261 in Rome
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torino

Property: Hotel Torino
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 8 | S.M. Maggiore, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#357 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Torino 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Torino is just 200 meters from Termini and Repubblica Metro stations. It offers a rooftop terrace with panoramic views of Rome and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Torino's rooms have classic décor, TVs, air conditioning and safes. It is located in a historic umbertino style building. A continental buffet breakfast is served from 7 to 10 am on the terrace. In the nearby Rione Monti you will find a wide choice of typical restaurants and picturesque bars. With a short walk down the hotel, you can reach world-famous attractions such as Piazza Venezia and the Colosseum. Staff will be happy to advise you on walking routes or arranging your visits. Termini Station and the nearby Monti area are a great choice for travelers interested in monuments, history and architecture, but also for Italian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Torino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torino Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing