We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Caravaggio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Caravaggio
Ranked #199 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a week here. We did not have a rental car, so the location was great. Only a 20 minute walk from most of the major attractions like the Colossseum and the Pantheon. Also very close to Termini Station. Staff were helpful for the most part. Suggested a restaurant that is just around the corner from the hotel, Est Est or something like that. It was fabulous. Authentic Italian food for sure! Only problem was that the wifi was localized to the reception area. We thought that the rooms would have wifi access, which they did not.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for your review. We appreciate that you liked our location and our staff. At this time we offer a free wi-fi connection only at the reception. We are sorry that you did not notice that during your booking. We would like to inform you that in the future we will be able to offer a free wi-fi in the hotel rooms too. We are working on it. We hope you will choose our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    200
    80
    24
    29
See reviews for
82
248
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Having read some of the less than favourable reviews on here, I was a little worried about what I would find, so was really pleased when we saw our room. My daughter and I had booked for five nights and found the hotel to be perfect for our needs and the staff (Mido? in particular) were very helpful. The room was extremely clean and also very quiet. Breakfast was adequate, with a fair choice of food. The hotel is well placed and is within walking distance of the train station and the sights - in fact my daughter and I walked to all the main sites in Rome, including the Vatican. I would definitely recommend this three star hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: We wanted a quiet room and were given a room at the back of the hotel, overlooking the courtyard and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveCornwall31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for your really nice contribution. We are happy that we have met your needs. It is a big pleasure for us that you recommend our hotel to your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kastoria, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Hotel "Caravaggio" is very centrally located,not far from the Termini train station and almost in the heart of Rome. The nearest bus stop is less than two minutes on foot and the nearest metro station maybe five-six minutes. The room we stayed in was very good,spacious and clean.The mattress was good,too,something which is not always guaranteed! The bathroom was fine and there was a small fridge and of course TV and air-conditioning.
We had no complaint whatsoever from the staff at the reception. They were very polite and helpful and whenever we asked for information they gave it willingly.
The breakfast buffet was quite good. The variety was not so great,but on the other hand nothing was missing. Maybe breakfast time could be extended to 10.00 a.m.
We only had a slight problem: some noise from the neighbouring central street. It was a problem mainly for light sleepers and it could be solved by putting double glazing in the windows.
It is true that the building is old,but then this is only to be expected in the centre of a historic city like Rome and it only adds to the quaintness of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an internal room if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fotini T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you very much for the time you have dedicated to write this review. We are glad you have enjoyed your time in Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Good location for visiting Rome, very close to center, but small rooms with some not so nice smell. The personal from the reception is not friendly at all. The breakfast is poor and limited to cold plate.

Room Tip: ask for the rooom at the end of the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vatelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Sir,
we think we are not the hotel you stayed in, because our rooms have a standard size, they are clean, they are for sure without bad smell, we serve continental breakfast (we have boiled eggs, toasts, hot drinks) and our staff is really friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three days in September 2012 for our honeymoon. Having been excited by the beauty of this place from their website, we were disappointed in the quality of the hotel and the service we received (none).

We arrived at the hotel about 2.30pm for check-in and the front door to the lobby was locked and there was no one around. We waited half an hour on the curb before the concierge cam striding up the street, and passed between us standing at the doorstep, and unlocked the front door without a word. We followed him inside and he continued to ignore us whilst we waited at the counter. At this point I would have walked away if we had not pre-paid and everywhere else was showing "no vacancy" in their windows.

Eventually we were asked our name, given a key and directions to our room (in the adjoining property next door - a converted apartment terrace) and then promptly ignored again. There was no smile and no pleasantries whatsoever and he didn't even meet our gaze once.

Upon navigating the antique lift to our floor, we navigated the labyrinth of hallways to our room where we were again disappointed. The room had a tiny single window facing the apartment window next door (a view of laundry hanging in someone's bathroom) and the room was tired and dated - almost every wall had rubber scuff marks from shoes - some of them had whole footprints. The bathroom was surprisingly nice compared to the room.

The breakfast served in the mornings was quite nice, and all the attractions of the old city less than a brisk 10 minute walk away. At the end of via Palermo are a few great little trattoria's and enoteca's worth a visit that the locals attend.

Upon check out we were again ignored by a second employee we hadn't yet met, asked for the key, and then given a receipt all without another word uttered. I would have rated this place another star higher if the staff smiled, were friendly and not rude but this marred our whole stay making us feel like an unwelcome nuisance.

Room Tip: See it first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for your review. We would like to say that our rooms are facing to the street site, to the ministerial building or to the courtyard. There live families in the buildings around our hotel. That´s why sometimes you can see hanging clothes. Many times the guests write us what kind of view they prefer. We know that in advance and we try to satisfy their needs. We do not agree that our rooms are dated. They are renovated. We are sorry you found some marks on the wall from previous careless tourists. We are also sorry you did not receive the attention from the reception staff you expected. Unfortunately there is a bigger interval between your stay and your review, so we don´t know which member of the reception staff caused your dissatisfaction. Anyway, we have read your words carefully and we hope it will not happen in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Didn't like this hotel at all. The location was nice, close to Colosseum and some historic places. But the building was very old, the elevator was ancient, we were scared to use it to go to the room in the 4th floor. Actually the hotel uses some floors of a residential building. Reception is at a neighbour building, meaning that we had to go to the next building if we wanted to go down to use internet, for example.
Room was tiny, dark, old, noisy. Bathroom was smallest than in a cruise ship.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brazilian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guests,
we are sorry you didn´t enjoy your stay. It is true that most of historical places are very closely. There are no modern buildings in the historical city centre. Our building (including its elevator) is also a historical one. The elevator is ancient, but it is fully functional. We don´t understand why you were scared to use it. We don´t think the room is noisy. We are situated in the secondary street. The room and also the bathroom have standard sizes. There is a window in every room. Every room is also equipped with central room light and with light beside the bed. So we don´t agree they are dark. Our rooms were recently renovated, so they can not be described as „old“.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The best part of the Hotel is the location. You are within walking distance of most of what there is to see in Rome. The rooms are bit small, but comfortable and clean. Cheerful and help full staff and managers. Check it out on your next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbsingh390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your pleasing review. We appreciate that you recommend us to other tourists.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#189 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#108 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Monti
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
#194 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#203 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#73 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#91 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caravaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravaggio

Property: Hotel Caravaggio
Address: Via Palermo 75 | Rione Monti, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#209 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caravaggio 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Caravaggio is situated in the heart of Rome. The Hotel is the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore on foot the wonders of the Eternal City and to wake up in a quiet and pleasant atmosphere. The reception is opened 24/24. The courteous and friendly staff can give you information you need, city maps, information for the booking of sightseeing tours and airport transfer. Everything that is a part of the Rome experience: monuments, museums, galleries, theatres, shops, restaurants, bars and night life is within walking distance. Nearby the Hotel you will find all the public facilities as the underground and the bus. The area is also very well connected with both airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Caravaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravaggio Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing