We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super location with lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
Ranked #365 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Ghaxaq
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Super location with lovely staff”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The location cannot be better and the staff especially the doormen are great always ready to assist and always with a smile. The room was perfect, decor is superb and everything clean. The only area I can mention for improvement is the WIFI service. Thank God that I was there only for the weekend as otherwise I would have had problems to the fact that I could not connect my Ipad with the WiFI. My husband had the same problems ...seems that the internet connection is really slow. As I mentioned I didn't bother as I was there only for a long weekend however if I was there for a longer stay I would have complaint since I would have needed to connect to my work. During sunset we really enjoyed having a drink on the 10th floor with spectacular views of Rome. Breakfast second to none with both continental and english breakfast offered. Will certainly visit again....as long as WIFI is better :)

Room Tip: Choose higher floors and at the back side so that one avoids the noise of a busy road..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGriffehotel R, General Managerf at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Madame

On behalf of our Team I would like to thank you for your comment concerning your last year stay at La Griffe Roma.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were impressed by our amazing Roof Top and very satisfied of our breakfast.

Our complimentary internet service has be implemented and it will work perfecly by the time of your next visit.

Once again, thank you for the courtesy of your time and we all look forward to welcoming you soon at La Griffe Roma.

Your sincerely,


Massimo Mainella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    533
    299
    108
    87
See reviews for
219
853
29
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Upsides
Reasonable location (around 100 m from the Republicca Metro station);
Sophisticated `boutique hotel style`; lots of design objects and furniture...
Breakfast at the roof top; a great view of Rome´s landscape; a must see
Concierge service

Downsides
Small rooms.. felt like inside a matchbox
wireless internet connection - unstable, extremely slow and limited to a certain amount of mbytes; if you´re a business traveler I definitively DO NOT recommend this hotel; you will suffer to check your emails
the room door keys - presenting bad functioning; some times worked, some times needed to ask for help from the front desk in order to make it work
unfriendly treatment from a couple of frontdesk staff and a couple of waitresses during breakfast; not compatible with the sort of service and treatment expected in a hotel of this level

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilberto0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest

I am sorry to learn that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay at La Griffe Roma.

Our standard rooms are certainly small if compared to American or British standards but absolutely adequate to European average and local competitors rooms size.

I remain at your complete disposal and I thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

On the next occasion of your visit to Rome please contact me personally in order that I can ensure you experience the hotel as it is meant to be. 

Kind Regards,


Massimo Mainella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This hotel was a wonderful find. The location is absolutely perfect for a visit to Rome, situated on Via Nazionale, with easy access to the Trevi Fountain, Piazza della Repubblica, Pantheon and Colosseum within walking distance. The building is a gorgeous 19th century structure, standing proudly on the famous street.

The staff at the hotel couldn't have been more helpful, from the fantastic doorman Josef, Valentina at the front desk, the manager and also the front desk manager. Each of them provided five star service, and made my friend and I feel comfortable and welcome at all times.

We had the privilege of staying in one of the Junior Suites, which was actually on two floors. The room had a massive 12-foot window overlooking Via Nazionale, with a little balcony that you could stand on and take in the view. The room was furnished with red leather chairs, two televisions, massive King bed and a huge bathroom and dressing area. There was a glass spiral staircase leading up to the sleeping area. Cleanliness was excellent, and the facilities of the room were very good. Had an amazing sleep both nights, as the room was lovely and quiet.

Breakfast was delicious, with coffee served at the table, and a buffet offering with lots of choice. The only thing I would have enjoyed was the option of toast and freshly squeezed orange juice, but there was certainly plenty to choose from. Also, as someone who enjoys a lot of coffee in the morning, an extra pot of coffee for the table would have been appreciated, but that is just personal taste.

One of the days, we enjoyed a buffet lunch for only 15 euros on the rooftop restaurant. A large bottle of water was very inexpensive, as was the wine and Prosecco, which was a pleasant surprise. The choice was very good, with nice options, as well as hot pasta (which was delicious!). Dessert was wonderful. I am not sure what we ate, but it was a large yellow dessert made with cream and fantastic flavours. The view whilst eating breakfast and lunch was out of this world. You can see all around Rome, even to the Vatican.

On the tenth floor, there is a huge terrace with views all over the city. We enjoyed sitting on the chairs, taking photos, and the staff even put music on for us. There is also 2 jacuzzi tubs and sunloungers, so you can relax. I can't say enough about the view. It really is this hotel's selling point!

We enjoyed a tasty and reasonably priced room service two nights, and were pleased at the service and speed of it. Food quality and presentation was wonderful, and it was great to enjoy the food in the lovely room, looking out on the bustling street.

After a 13 day tour of Italy, this hotel ended our trip on a high note. From fantastic service from all staff, management to the housekeepers, the friendliness and care given to guests was definitely appreciated. It was wonderful to be able to relax in the Eternal City, and be so central to all the major sights. Staying in the building really made you feel like you were living in a charming traditional building. From the moment we sat down in the room after travelling, we both let out a sigh of comfort and relief we had found such a lovely place. It truly did make us leave Italy very relaxed.

My only criticisms would be for the room, to upgrade the Dolce Gusto coffee makers to Nespresso, since they are so much tastier and fitting for such a hotel. Also, a good sound system with music docking would be good for such a class of hotel. And as before, a couple more items to the breakfast offering to make it perfect. The toiletries provided were okay, but higher end offerings would be good for the future (such as branded local luxury products).

Highly recommend this hotel to anyone, business or family or couples, to visit this hotel in Rome. Excellently priced for what it offers, in such a good location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the fantastic comments you have posted on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed the comfort of our Junior Suite.

Such positive feedback is always very rewarding and rest assured I have shared your feedback with all our Team Members especially with Joseph, Valentina and Massimiliano our Front Office Manager.

Your enthusiasm for our hotel is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for the entire Team.

I also took good note of your kind suggestions and rest assured we will implement the breakfast with the possibility have toasted bread and freshly squeezed orange juice.

I hope to welcome you back at La Griffe Roma very soon and please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you require assistance with any future stays.

Yours sincerely,


Massimo Mainella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We arrived and it is clean and easy to get to. The Wi-Fi isn't so great but the staff is nice I read reviews after my travel partner booked our stay Make sure you don't get a corner room because of street noise and no wi-fi gets connected there either the breakfast was good and the rooftop is amazing

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odalism2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment concerning your last year stay at La Griffe Roma.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were impressed by our amazing Roof Top and very satisfied of our breakfast.

Our complimentary internet service will be implemented today, August 6, 2013, with the latest broadband technology to ensure a faster and consistent wireless connection.

Thank you again for the courtesy of your time and we all look forward to welcoming you again at La Griffe Roma.

Your sincerely,


Massimo Mainella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Wonderful location staff most helpful and a gorgeous rooftop restaurant for breakfast
Would highly recommend the hotel..close to sights of Rome transport and shopping
The doorman was so helpful with where to go and what to see..

Room Tip: Staying up on top floors away from the street noise was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trena39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the nice comments you have posted after your recent stay with us at La Griffe Roma.

I truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not very distant future.

The entire Team would be more than happy to personally take care of you to ensure you will experience a memorable stay.

Kind regards,

Massimo Mainella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The front desk was not as helpful as they could have been in giving directions. No English movie channels. Room lost AC system, after several calls to desk we got upgraded and to a room in which the AC worked.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Dav989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay at La Griffe Roma for your recent stay in the Eternal City.

I am honestly surprised about the way problems you reported were handled by our Front Office Team and I would really appreciate if you could contact me privately to constructively discuss about your personal hotel experience.

Yours sincerely,


Massimo Mainella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The room is small, but clean and cozy. The staff are kind and helpful. Enjoyed the view and ambience from the roof top bar. Best place to watch the sunset while enjoying a glass of caipirinha. We will stay again when we visit Rome next time.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivi-mohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Madame

Thank you for the nice comments you have posted after your recent stay in the Eternal City.

The size of our rooms goes from the minimum legal requirement of a Classic Room to a maximum of 98 square mt. of our two level Fitness Suite with a dedicated and fully equipped gymnasium of 16 square mt.

I truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not very distant future to enjoy Your Caipirinha and the sunset while staying at La Griffe Roma.

Kind regards,


Massimo Mainella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#65 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#279 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Trevi
Sina Bernini Bristol
Sina Bernini Bristol
#275 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel

Property: La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
Address: Via Nazionale 13, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#158 Business Hotel in Rome
#199 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#297 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entwined in an elegant and sophisticated atmosphere in the heart of Rome, la Griffe Hotel is more than just traditional hospitality. The hotel is on Via Nazionale, between Piazza della Repubblica and Piazza Venetia, near the famous fountains of Tritone and Trevi, forming the triangle of Rome’s shopping with Via del Corso and Piazza di Spagna. Ideally positioned to discover the many sights and faces of the Eternal City, with excellent connections to public transport, busses to Vatican City, the Metro (Underground) at 150 m. and near Termini Station.The modern style of interior design is in sweet contrast with the 19th century building and it’s historic location fits it like a frame. The architectural concept is a perfect blend of classic and modern, where luxury and contemporary art surround you in total comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Griffe Rome
Hotel La Griffe
La Griffe Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing