We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not excellent (yet)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
Ranked #370 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    518
    279
    104
    85
See reviews for
213
821
28
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Excellent hotel in Roma.
Very well placed (metro next block).
The staff is professionnal and attentive.
Taking your breakfast in the last floor is just amazing for starting the new day.
The rooms are very very nicely decorated, simple, clean.
No noise, all peolple in the hotel are calm, it is very agreable to stay in this hotel, especially for romantic stay.
I stringly recommand it!
N. LEGLISE (accord member).

Room Tip: left side or right side is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel is absolutely great! The staff are so friendly and the door staff even took the time to draw us a map of routes to walk in the evening! The location is perfect and we managed to walk to see all of the attractions in the evening! It's close to Trevino fountain etc. metro is really close-by too for visiting the Vatican
The rooms are very small- but we didn't mind as we were out sightseeing most of the time.
Breakfast was great and you could sit on a terrace giving views of the city!
The design of the hotel is unique and everywhere is immaculate. One of the lifts was out of order whilst we were there- but this was only a one - off so shouldn't affect future travellers!

Ooh and the door staff even reserved. Table at a restaurant of his friends which was one of the best paces I've ever eaten!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here for New Year's Eve 2013 and it was just perfect.

Firstly, I think it's really important to mention that it is in the best location possible. The main tourist attractions are all within walking distance apart from The Vatican (which isn't really in walking distance to many hotels!) but it's an easy 10-minute Metro journey away. The nearest Metro is Republica, it's a two-minute walk from the hotel (come out the entrance, turn right and it's at the end of the road near the fountain).

We also thought it was very helpful to be so close to the main train station in Rome, as we got a train from the airport to that station. A ticket from the airport to Termini is 14 Euros. And a taxi journey is a fixed rate of 48 Euros. So, as there was 4 of us it worked out quicker and cheaper to get a taxi to the airport on the way home, which is something to bare in mind.

We thought the staff were incredibly helpful. The lovely lady on reception gave us a late check out for free, too - so it's always worth asking! We also found the doormen to be really polite and knowledgeable of the area.

The breakfast was really nice, and it's served on level 9 which offers gorgeous far-reaching views of Rome. There is also a rooftop terrace on level 10 which is definitely worth a visit!

The bedrooms were clean with a safe, free wifi, a TV, very comfortable bed, slippers, dressing gown etc. etc. - we also had a power shower which was the best shower I've ever been in!

The hotel was perfect and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to any of my friends. When I go back to Rome I'll definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

It was so comfortable and the people who work there are so polite and responsible.
There are too many hotel to be choose but the price of this hotel is acceptable.
It was not so big specially the lobby but in total every thing is good and arrange perfect, the rooms are clean and designed well.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Korosh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

The first thing anyone should know about La Griffe is that is in absolutely the best location possible in Rome. The vast majority of the main sights/attractions are within easy walking distance of the hotel, perhaps with the exception of the Vatican but even that is at most around 45 minutes walk from La Griffe. Colosseum and Ancient Rome is 15 minutes walk, Trevi Fountain is 15/20 mins, Pantheon is 25 mins, Spanish Steps are 30 mins. If you don't fancy the walks, Repubblica metro station is about 200yds up the road.

When we first arrived we were welcomed by friendly door staff and check-in was quick and easy. Payment was already complete and, contrary to some other reviews, we experienced NO issues regarding payment etc.

We were given room 308, and all I can say is this: if you are given room 308, ask to be moved immediately. I cannot believe they are using this room in a 5 star hotel. It has a boarded-up window that hides an inner service shaft of the hotel, so you have no natural light whatsoever and in the mornings you'd be faced with total darkness to wake up to. The TV in 308 also does not work (no available channels despite trying both automatic and manual tuning). Finally, there are NO free power points in the room. The two available both have bedside lamps plugged into them. Ridiculous.

Upon complaint we were instantly moved to room 205, which despite not having a bathtub like 308 was a MUCH better room. The TV works, there are power points and, hallelujah, there is a window! Having said that there is still no milk for the tea and coffee provided in the room, nothing to stir with and just some polystyrene cups to use. Seems strange as the rest of the hotel really is of an excellent standard.

Breakfast is served on floor 9, which is a lovely rooftop terrace looking out across the whole city. It is a buffet continental-style breakfast, and there is also bacon, eggs and sausages available. Most mornings we went up for breakfast between 8am and 9am, at which point there were plenty of spare tables and plenty of food. However, on New Year's Day we went up at around 10.30am and it was packed. We waited around 15 minutes for a table but others waited longer. The restaurant staff seemed stressed, which I suppose is understandable but not something I've really experienced elsewhere.

The staff are extremely friendly, helpful, caring and do genuinely seem to want make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. The reception is open 24 hours a day to deal with any possible issues.

One last tip: it seems like the WiFi doesn't work, but it does. Connect your device to LaGriffe via your device settings, then visit any web page in your browser. You'll be redirected to the WiFi login page where the username is your room number, and the password is GRIFFE. The usage is limited to 300mb per-stay per-room, and only one device can connect per username. To cheat it, just login with a different room number (if you are so inclined..!).

Overall, this is a good hotel in a great location with friendly staff. The small things sometimes let it down, and I'd say it would make a great 4 star hotel but 5 star is perhaps a bit of a push at times!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I visited Rome in November for a few nights with a friend. Great location. Clean. Comfortable beds. The doorman was fantastic. I'm sorry that I can't remember his name. He chatted to my friend and I everyday and recommended somewhere great to go. However the only complaint was the very average breakfast. I would return to La Griffe Roma on my next visit to Rome

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SNLK87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#94 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Esquilino
Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#296 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel

Property: La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
Address: Via Nazionale 13, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#158 Business Hotel in Rome
#199 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#297 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entwined in an elegant and sophisticated atmosphere in the heart of Rome, la Griffe Hotel is more than just traditional hospitality. The hotel is on Via Nazionale, between Piazza della Repubblica and Piazza Venetia, near the famous fountains of Tritone and Trevi, forming the triangle of Rome’s shopping with Via del Corso and Piazza di Spagna. Ideally positioned to discover the many sights and faces of the Eternal City, with excellent connections to public transport, busses to Vatican City, the Metro (Underground) at 150 m. and near Termini Station.The modern style of interior design is in sweet contrast with the 19th century building and it’s historic location fits it like a frame. The architectural concept is a perfect blend of classic and modern, where luxury and contemporary art surround you in total comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Prestigia, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Griffe Rome
Hotel La Griffe
La Griffe Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing