We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
Ranked #381 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just returned from a 5 day visit to Rome to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The mixed reviews about this hotel on TripAdvisor caused me some concern but honestly there was really no need for that. Very courteous and helpful staff all the way to the restaurant. Upon arrival we got a free room upgrade, and a complimentary bottle of cooled Prosecco with two flutes were waiting for us in the room - 8th floor with a fantastic view of the city. We took a beautiful shot of sunset from our balcony. Room impeccable, lovely modern finish, very comfortable bed for my problematic back but slightly too warm especially at night. I tried to adjust temperature but only managed to bring it down to 21degC. We had to sleep with the balcony door ajar. The shower head could do with a bit more power but all the little extras were there including a loofah, bathrobe, body lotion etc. Good choice for breakfast unlike most other hotels I had stayed at during my previous visits to Rome. We even dined there on our first night because we were exhausted. Very good food and service. So overall I can say it was a very positive experience and I will not hesitate to use it again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    542
    308
    113
    89
See reviews for
224
870
31
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Its a mystery how this hotel managed a 5* rating. Its the only hotel of this class that I have stayed in that only supplies polystyrene cups in the room. If, that is the maid can be bothered. If you are lucky enough to be supplied with cups then you'll probably find that there was no time to make the bed.

The location is OK with only the Vatican being a little far to walk to.

We stayed in a "superior" room which is the 2nd out of 4 types of room. I'd hate to see what state the lowest type of room is like. Ours was cramped and the bathroom was poorly renovated with the toilet sounding like it would fall off the wall at any minute. The shower pressure laughable and the water had only 2 heats, fires of Mordor hot or a scalding cold.

The TV only turned off at the plug. The WiFi was pants as it had the same speed as 90's dial up connection.

The only way to recomend this hotel to anyone is to send someone here as a form of punishment.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank supertramp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Friendly staff, good location, well decorated reception and roof top restaurant/ bar. We were shocked to see how low quality the room facility was. Our toilet was half hanging on the wall, shaking when you sat on. Broken boiler, stuffy room with no aircon. Apparently the aircon was off for the winter, even though it was 19 degree for the valentine weekend. It was impossible to leave the window open for the night as our room was above the noisy central street. We enjoyed the location, easy to walk to most of the sightseeing places, but not worth of the value. We will avoid any MGallery hotel from now.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexa L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We arrived the first week in February and when we arrived we couldn't believe this was our hotel. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist, who then told us we got upgraded to a junior suite (we had only paid for a standard room). The room was on two floors, really clean and had good coffee making facilities.
The hotel is in a great location, we walked to most of the tourist attractions (even though it rained everyday) and even when we didn't walk, the hotel was close to the termi station so everything is easily reached.
Our overall experience with the hotel was brillaint, they were helpful with our questions and had a pleasant stay!
Would recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachh93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The location of this hotel of corse is very comfortable, very close to Termini station. The stuff is very rude and unprofessional. First they have made us wait on check in, just because they couldn't find the booking, than when I have said that the cost of the room I would like to pay half by cash and half by credit card, as we wanted to divide it with my friend, the man at the front desk seemed totally not hearing me and charged the credit card of my friend for the full amount. When I have asked him to cancel it,he said that it's impossible. The lobby and bathroom located just there were very dirty, seems like you are in Termini station. The room was a bit small and shower didn't work fine.We really very disappointed by this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We had to find a hotel last minute due to a sudden change in travel plans, and this was all that was available. Now I know why.

The price quoted seemed extremely high, but since we had no other options, and it was a highly rated Star hotel, we paid.

The room was very disappointing and in need of repairs. We were shocked to find out later that this was one of the recently renovated rooms! The television would turn on, but not off. You had to unplug it to accomplish that.

The jetted tub wasn't jetted, but that didn't matter, because only the shower worked anyway, not the faucet.

I won't say that the room was dirty, but I'm not going to say it was exceptionally clean either.

The only reason I will give this hotel two stars and not one, is that the staff at least tried to help us. When informed of the broken tv and tub, they did send maintenance up quickly, who was able to fix the faucet, (not the jets nor the tv), but at least he tried.

In the morning, they also said sorry for the stay although little else was done.

In the end, if you have any other choices in Rome, please exercise them.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielKOBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#286 of 1,256 in Rome
914 reviews
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#66 of 1,256 in Rome
623 reviews
Trevi
Sina Bernini Bristol
Sina Bernini Bristol
#273 of 1,256 in Rome
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel

Property: La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
Address: Via Nazionale 13, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#158 Business Hotel in Rome
#205 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#297 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entwined in an elegant and sophisticated atmosphere in the heart of Rome, la Griffe Hotel is more than just traditional hospitality. The hotel is on Via Nazionale, between Piazza della Repubblica and Piazza Venetia, near the famous fountains of Tritone and Trevi, forming the triangle of Rome’s shopping with Via del Corso and Piazza di Spagna. Ideally positioned to discover the many sights and faces of the Eternal City, with excellent connections to public transport, busses to Vatican City, the Metro (Underground) at 150 m. and near Termini Station.The modern style of interior design is in sweet contrast with the 19th century building and it’s historic location fits it like a frame. The architectural concept is a perfect blend of classic and modern, where luxury and contemporary art surround you in total comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Griffe Rome
Hotel La Griffe
La Griffe Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing