We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
Ranked #369 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stay at the La Griffe every year and each time we arrive we are greeted as if we are family. Valentina provided us a fantastic room and great service. All staff have been there for years which shows the great hotel it is. Rooms are so modern and cool and the breakfast space is amazing. We will be back! Thanks Valentina and all our family!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fremo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    517
    279
    104
    85
See reviews for
213
820
28
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel is located close to most of the attractions in Rome. Short metro ride to the Vatican. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Our room was very nice and spacious with a view down via Nazionale. The shower in the bath was a bit annoying, seemed to leak water all over the floor no matter how you arranged the shower curtain. We did not eat at the hotel as there are amazing eating options all over Rome. Our main criticism would be the free wifi which was next to useless.

Room Tip: We chose one level up from the basic room and it was very spacious, split level, with bed upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our arrival to La Griffe came on a very hot Rome afternoon after hours spent touring St. Peter's Basilica and the Colosseum. The cab driver could not get the internet to work on his credit card scanner. The desk staff and the doorman Joseph (worth his weight in gold!) did as much as they could to assist, pointing out a couple of ATM machines within easy walking distance. The knowledge of English is limited but certainly enough to get the job done.
The hotel was spotless, from the lobby to the rooftop. Very up to date technology re: locks, the shower (the best!), electricity (required you to put your room key into a slot to use lighting, TV, etc).
We were a bit dismayed to find the huge lunch buffet cost 50 Euro. The buffet had an enormous variety of food and looked delicious. The a la carte menu was also overpriced. The view from the rooftop garden area was lovely and the seating comfortable.
I and my husband felt the staff were very efficient and friendly. We didn't see one person just sitting around doing nothing!
I thought the decor was a bit dark, mostly black and red with some gray. But the view from our room (505) was not too bad, looking over the roof of the church next door. The church bells did not ring all night, so that wasn't a problem. I thought the hotel was very quiet, considering you're in the middle of Rome.
The location was great. Excellent for shopping, site seeing, eating out. We found quite a few great little eateries with local beers and all the Italian foods we love. The cost averaging 27-36 Euro for the two of us, including beverages. We didn't need a cab for anything.
Also, hats off to the lady concierge who made multiple phone calls to confirm our ride back to the airport, as the shuttle service seemed to not want to answer their phone until after 3pm. Also, her male counterpart who helped us acquire our boarding passes.And as previously mentioned, Joseph.
On the day of our departure, our shuttle bus was late. The hotel staff went out of their way to re-confirm our reservation and assure us that we would get to the airport on time and would arrange transportation for us.
Ratings:
Service-5/5 stars
Cleanliness-5/5 stars
Decor-4/5 stars
Convenience-5/5 stars
Television-3/5 stars. A couple more English speaking channels would be nice (of course, I'm not in Rome to watch TV!)
Amenities-4/5 stars

I would stay at this hotel again in a minute! And next time I'll bring an Italian phrase book with me to make everyone's life easier.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to get the better view. The hotel is surrounded on 3 sides by build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Close to all the attractions, rooms were good and the roof terrace very nice. Breakfast service was a bit slow and it was possible to arrive to find limited tables. However, having stayed at many hotels in Rome I would use this one again. However, I am a Accor platinum card holder, normally that gives some upgrade/drink voucher etc, we received no recognition as such.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Horrible experience if you have the bad luck to be given a room like number 210 without natural light or window. There are rooms like this one on every floor, so be aware before booking. We tried complaining but our complaints fell on deaf ears. I'll never go back again.

Room Tip: In that hotel if you finally decide to go check before what type of room they are going to assign. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JUAN JOSÉ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#95 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Esquilino
Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#300 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel

Property: La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
Address: Via Nazionale 13, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#158 Business Hotel in Rome
#199 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#297 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entwined in an elegant and sophisticated atmosphere in the heart of Rome, la Griffe Hotel is more than just traditional hospitality. The hotel is on Via Nazionale, between Piazza della Repubblica and Piazza Venetia, near the famous fountains of Tritone and Trevi, forming the triangle of Rome’s shopping with Via del Corso and Piazza di Spagna. Ideally positioned to discover the many sights and faces of the Eternal City, with excellent connections to public transport, busses to Vatican City, the Metro (Underground) at 150 m. and near Termini Station.The modern style of interior design is in sweet contrast with the 19th century building and it’s historic location fits it like a frame. The architectural concept is a perfect blend of classic and modern, where luxury and contemporary art surround you in total comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Griffe Rome
Hotel La Griffe
La Griffe Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing