We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
Ranked #447 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Great Hotel.. All the major attractions are easily within walking distance.

Very clean rooms and helpful and polite staff.

Amazing view of Rome on the roof top terrace.

Free wifi in the hotel

Nice breakfast on the roof terrace with excellent views.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone would indeed stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenMoriarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review and for recommending to stay at La Griffe Roma.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you appreciated the hotel experience and that we overexceeded your expectations.

I will immediately share your comment with the entire Team for their friendlyness and positive attitude.

Please come to visit us again and do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Yours sincerely,


Massimo Mainella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 1,712 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Nice hotel in the city centre, not far from all main sightseeing sights ,great location, friendly, helpful and attentive staff, good service and very nice rooftop terrace.

My parents indeed enjoyed their stay at this wonderful hotel in a such beauty city.
Can't even described how we are thankful and grateful to the hotel team, (especially Ms Valentina Taraborrelli) for making these days special and remarkable!
As a gift for their 25th wedding anniversary, they upgraded their room for free in junior suite, and champagne and flowers were delivered at their arrival.

We will definitely stay here again if we come to Rome!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dar_Bar_729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Madame,

Thank you for your kind review and for recommending to stay at La Griffe Roma.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you appreciated the upgrade in our Junior Suites and our gift for your parent's anniversary.

I am really glad you both had a wonderful stay and I will immediately share your comment with Valentina - our Front Office Manager - for the great job done.

Please come to visit us again and do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Yours sincerely,


Massimo Mainella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed for 4 nights B&B
Great location just outside the immediate railway station vacinity which is not a nice area. If you are prerpared for a bit of walking you won't need to use any public transport to either get to the hotel from the station, or for any of the sightseeing
Staff very friendly and attentive and reception area quite posh
Rooms were fair sized, bed huge and quality of fittings reasonable - seems to me it's been done up to a high standard, but they need to do a bit of maintenance work to keep that eg. part of the shower glass was missing (doesn't bother me, it's their floor!). Air conditioning was efficient & quiet
Breakfast was on the 9th floor and so was half inside and half outside with great views out over the rooftops. Food quality and range in keeping with my expectations. 10th floor was a bar area which was very nice at night...but either a bit quiet (not a problem for us) or heaving because they were having an event
A further word about the room - ours didn't have a window since it was an internal room - it could open out onto a central (unused) fire escape through heavily curtained patio doors, which was ok, but it could be a make or break for some people. The advantage in having the inertnal room was that it was quiet - if you were at the street side of the hotel it would get traffic noise most of the night
Wifi worked no problem and was not fiddly to set up
Reception were fine about taking our bags on the last day since we didn't fly out until late evening
Would I stay here again? Maybe. I wouldn't call it a 5 * hotel but we weern't paying anywhere near 5* prices! It was great value

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have windows, so if it's a problem for you, get it sorted before you take t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hoohoobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment concerning your stay at La Griffe Roma.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you found overall a good value for money for your stay in the Enternal City but I am sorry to learn we did not meet your expectations in full.

We took good note of your comments and I am glad to inform you that most of releavant points of maintenance you kindly highlighted are already been discussed with our Chief Engeneering in order to fix them.

Sir, I truly hope there will be another opportunity for us to better serve you in the future and I invite you to contact me directly.

Thank you again for the courtesy of your time and we all look forward to welcoming you again at La Griffe Roma.

Your sincerely,


Massimo Mainella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at La Griffe during our recent honeymoon in Rome.

I have mixed feelings about the hotel.

The reception staff were largely attentive and pleasant to deal with, though the bar service upstairs was very slow.

The decor of the main lobby was very cosmopolitan and sleek, but the rooms, although comfortable and similarly cosmopolitan were a touch bland. I explored the option of upgrading to a suite, but seeing as the looked identical to the standard superior rooms, but slightly bigger, I thought better of it as the additional cost was huge. The bed though was huge and comfortable; the AC worked well, and the bathroom was neat and tidy.

The location is pretty good too. 15/20 mins walk from the majority of attractions.

One minor, but still irritating gripe was the lack of an iron in the room, or available for borrowing from the desk. The reception suggested going through the laundry service, but that would mean waiting hours just to get some clothes ironed just to go out in - not the most sensible of suggestions.

Overall, the hotel was nice enough; neat and modern. I suppose the 5 star rating of the property was warranted relative to other hotels I have stayed at in the country. Overall, I thought it lacked that extra umph needed to genuinely bestow a 5 star review on a personal level. The rooms, although modern and neat, felt a touch bland. I have stayed at other 5 star properties which simply blow other 5 stars away, so to rate them on the same level wouldn't make sense. So overall I'd give the Griffe 4 stars.

That said, it did cost a touch less than other 5 stars in the city I was looking at. However, I would most likely sample a different 5 star hotel next time I'm in town.

Room Tip: Stick to the superior rooms. The larger suites are just not worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank You for choosing to stay at La Griffe during your recent honeymoon in the Eternal City.

I will immediately share your appreciation with the Front Office Team for their attentiveness and positive attitude.

Overall, I am glad to learn you had a pleasant experience but on the other hand I am sorry that we did not overexceed your expectations.

I hope there will be another opportunity for us to make sure you will experience La Griffe Roma at its best.

Yours sincerely,


Massimo Mainella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Good hotel - a rather strange modern style in a refurb. Great location; good service and very nice rooftop terrace for breakfast & drinks (we didn't try restaurant apart from breakfast). The only thing I found strange was their relationship with a local restaurant (Ronaldino?) which they always recommended very strongly but nothing else close. It was good but expensive (60 Euros a head). You'll have to draw your own conclusion about why they only recommended it - I did.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChasColq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest

On behalf of the entire Team I wish to thank you for your precious feedback about staying at La Griffe Roma.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you in occasion of your next vacation trip in the Eternal City.

Please contact me directly and I will make sure you will experience La Griffe Roma at its best.

Yours sincerely,


Massimo Mainella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I loved staying here for 2 nights. The front desk staff was very attentive and helpful. Milena was amazing! They made dinner reservations, and helped us check out later for our evening flight. The door man was knowledgeable about our train times so we got to Termini on time. Breakfast was delicious each morning. We will definitely stay here again if we come to Rome!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Rachelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Madame, Dear Sir

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments following your recent stay at La Griffe Roma.

We are most grateful for your feedback and it is very rewarding to read that you totally enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank You also for kind words for our Team Members, Milena and the Doorman which is most important aspect to us to make sure our guest can experience a memorable stay.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you you back to La Griffe Roma very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you require assistance for your future stays in the Eternal City.

Sincerely,

Massimo Mainella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have stayed in this hotel part of a corporate conference, its location is excellent as it's near the metro station and surrounded by shopping/restaurants/cafes/...
The hotel is very nice and clean, excellent staff and very nice rooftop restaurant where one can enjoy excellent food and views over old Rome.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGriffehotel R, General Manager at La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for us and it helps us monitor the service we provide.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our property for your next visit to Rome and please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely ,


Massimo Mainella
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#286 of 1,271 in Rome
962 reviews
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#53 of 1,271 in Rome
670 reviews
Esquilino
Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel

Address: Via Nazionale 13, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#158 Business Hotel in Rome
#241 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#296 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £107 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entwined in an elegant and sophisticated atmosphere in the heart of Rome, la Griffe Hotel is more than just traditional hospitality. The hotel is on Via Nazionale, between Piazza della Repubblica and Piazza Venetia, near the famous fountains of Tritone and Trevi, forming the triangle of Rome’s shopping with Via del Corso and Piazza di Spagna. Ideally positioned to discover the many sights and faces of the Eternal City, with excellent connections to public transport, busses to Vatican City, the Metro (Underground) at 150 m. and near Termini Station.The modern style of interior design is in sweet contrast with the 19th century building and it’s historic location fits it like a frame. The architectural concept is a perfect blend of classic and modern, where luxury and contemporary art surround you in total comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Griffe Rome
Hotel La Griffe
La Griffe Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing