We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rock and roll is HERE to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound
Ranked #242 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Austin,tx
Level Contributor
183 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Rock and roll is HERE to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

This hotel is clean, comfortable, serves a very good breakfast and is just plain FUN! The staff is very friendly and helpful. At the breakfast you know you are getting fresh squeezed orange juice, because you squeeze it yourself. The breakfast hostess is Johnny on the spot with your cappuccino or any other coffee you want. The rooms all have music themes, B&O stereo are standard. Our room had snare drums for end tables and a "Blue Velvet" comforter. The bath had a jacuzzi tub and a rotating disco ball! In Rome, you could spend a whole lot more and not get anything as nice or as fun as the Franklin hotel.

Room Tip: Go ahead and spring for the upgrade room with jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    220
    64
    28
    9
See reviews for
137
265
15
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel for six nights and loved it. Rooms were a good size, bathrooms were clean (great water pressure in the showers) and the SKY TV was an added bonus. Staff was friendly (especially the wonderful lady in the breakfast room).
Great little restaurants in the area and metro station just a few minutes down the street. Would definitely stay there again if I ever return to Rome.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talk2erica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Franklin is in a lovely part of Rome, in Prati, amidst old-aristocracy mansions and picturesque trattorias. Coated in the magic of the place the hotel seems a bit outta place with its pseudo-hip style. The music theme of the hotel is a welcome note but the attire of the employees (piano ties- cringe!), the disco-ball in the bathroom and the poor selection of music leave a lot to be desired. The lady preparing the breakfast was super nice and made a mean espresso. Rooms rather small. Not a bad place, but not amazing either, and certainly not a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strategist3171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totowa, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel in mid October. The room was of decent size and the bathroom was pretty good. The disco ball inside of the bathroom was a great added touch to the decor of the room which is music themed.

The bed and pillows were comfy which is a major plus esp after traveling 8 hours.

The breakfast which was included in the rate was nothing to scream home about but I guess it served it's purpose.

The hotel is located approx 10 minutes from the Vatican which is great and the Metro is also in the area which makes reaching Rome's attractions a breeze.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nasa808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bluff, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Our first night at the Franklin was great. Rave review. Rooms are interesting and clean and comfortable. Soaking in the tub with the blue disco light was very cool. Breakfast was good. Location was nice. We liked the neighborhood and the small shops for food, etc and the restaurants nearby. Upon check out, I confirmed our reservation for 2 weeks from then when we would be returning from Rome. I paid with my credit card. Fast forward 2 weeks - we returned mid morning and parked our bags to go tour around Rome and check in later that day. Rome was packed with more people than usual due to the impending canonization of 7 saints the next day. It was hot and humid. We returned at 2:45pm to check in, longing for a shower and a nap only to be informed that the original credit card I used to secure the reservation more than a year ago had expired, so they cancelled our reservation and now they were full. Sorry. We were stunned. And not very happy. We secured a room at the Airport Hilton and left. Personally, we feel they took advantage of the saint situation to rent our room at a much higher rate than we secured it for with our advanced booking. Can't prove it, but they did have our new credit card number and expiration, I did reconfirm the reservation 2 weeks before in person at the hotel and they had my cel phone number. They claimed it was because of Booking.com and it was out of their control, but that just does not make sense since I reconfirmed the reservation right there at the hotel and they had all my current information. Too bad, they tainted an otherwise perfect trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandyanddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Trying to find a ‘family’ room in Rome is almost like asking for a private audience with the Pope, but after a few days searching we finally came across the Franklin! The hotel didn’t have the pool we were after, but did have a PS3 in the room. The children now declare that a PS3 in the room is better value than a pool and to them this was ‘the best hotel ever’, so on that score it was a winner!

Once you have found your way to slightly off-map location (we did make it by walking from the metro), the music themed hotel is very welcoming. A small, but enterprising lobby, seamless check in (as the room was ready they were happy to check us in early for our two night stay) and a great room full of musical references and features. There was a treasure hunt for the kids, which they loved. PS3 games and board games were provided too and both the board games and the PS3 received good use. The only thing missing from the room is a curtain (or door!) dividing the area with the sofa-bed and the bed, so that you can watch the news while the children are playing the PS3!

The family rooms are on the ground floor and have access to some outside space too (which we didn’t use, but in hotter weather may well have done). The room has enough space for a family of four, but if you have lots of large luggage you may struggle to fit everything in. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom, Sky Italia on a large screen television (probably the widest range of TV channels available that I have ever come across in a hotel) and the breakfast was great (although traditionally continental, so lovers of a full cooked breakfast would be disappointed).

The hotel is only about 10 minutes from the Vatican and the closest metro station, although to some it may still seem too far away from the action. If you’re happy to walk then the location is no problem at all. Ambient hotel noise (e.g. toilets flushing, high heels on the floor above) did cause a bit if disruption to me, but these things and subsequent irritation level depend widely on the type of person you are.

One other thing that bothered my wife was the irregular shaped wooden bed frame, which despite looking great, meant she walked into it several times and banged her leg. Someone who gets out of bed on the ‘right’ side would not be aware of this problem, but it is worth mentioning.

On our departure the hotel arranged a taxi transfer from the hotel to the airport (FCO), which was an interesting experience. I thought India was bad, but I hadn’t taken a taxi in Rome until this trip! Still, at €45 for four it was a good value (and quick) ride!

We would happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrHandBaggageOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthGa
Level Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We chose Franklin Feel the Sound Hotel for the first of our four nights in Rome specifically because we had a very early audience with the Pope the next morning and it was in the Vatican area. To be honest, when the taxi pulled up to the hotel - on a side street in a busy area - and we walked up to a glass door facing a steep staircase, we thought "Uh oh - tiny Best Western hotel, no elevator - this may be a mistake!" How wrong we were! The hotel turned out to be a meticulously maintained small boutique hotel (with elevator) with a friendly front desk staff, a welcoming lobby with water and juices, funky music-themed decor, quiet, clean and comfortable rooms with a full bathtub (rare in European cities), air conditioning with an in-room thermostat (also rare in Europe) and an array of bath amenities that rivals any top-rated hotel I've stayed in. Our room had a Romeo & Juliet mini-balcony overlooking the street, and our soundproof windows and room darkening shutters and drapes made for a sound sleep. A great hotel experience in a big city!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthGaTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Delle Vittorie
#250 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
San Lorenzo
BEST WESTERN Globus Hotel
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#223 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel San Pietrino
#568 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Monti
Guest House Maison Colosseo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound

Property: Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound
Address: Via Rodi 29, 00195 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#285 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound is not just a hotel. It is the ideal place from which to visit the center of Rome in an intimate, family-friendly setting, just steps away from the elegant Prati quarter. If, like us, you are passionate about music, design and technology, come visit us at the Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound, a relaxing 3 star accommodation option in Rome where you can enjoy your trip to the rythm of your favourite music! Feel Our Sound and make it resound in one of our 22 rooms inspired in Pop, Rock, Blues, Jazz, and Soul music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing