We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound
Ranked #237 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I travel for my job all over the world and I loved this cute ad quirky hotel. The staff was so friendly and helpful in finding a good restaurant close by. The room was huge by rome standards, comfy bed, nice linens. Mini fridge in the room, clean bathroom with our own disco ball no less! Snare drums were our nightstands. Breakfast was very nice, great food and a cute courtyard to sit in and enjoy a leisurely breakfast or glass of wine. The lobby has a great array of travel books and cd's to listen to in your room. Free wifi. Would highly recommend this hotel. Only about a 10-15 walk to vatican or # 23 bus will take you there

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atwagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Staff is very kind and gentle and they welcome you serving fresh fruit juice and different kinds of mini croissant. Breakfast offers a great choice of food:eggs,bacon,ham,cheese,croissants,yogurt,fresh fruits and vegetables and even the opportunity to make by yourselves smoothies as you prefer. The hotel is very clean and peculiar;furthermore it is located in a quiet street not so far away from Vatican city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laueffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Nice and original if you like modern decoration. the staff tries its best to serve you and adapt to your requirements. Some may complain about the size of the rooms, especially with children. Breakfast room also on the small size, especially if you can not use the terrace.
the hotel is a bit remote from the main attractions (except Vatican) and the metro is 10 mn walk. Buses are ... erratic at most (30 mn wait at least)
Very nice restaurant (59 bacchanale) by the corner: nice wine selection and not so expensive).
We will use the hotel again

Room Tip: 901 + 902 are large rooms, but on the ground floor, so possible noise from guets at night + during b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LGSLGS007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

the location of the hotel is amazing with several restaurants and shops close by. It was very easy to find and the hotel itself had a very comfortable feel to it. the rooms were very small. as I had already read about it in previous reveiws we were prepared for it. Even though the room was very small I would still stay at the same hotel again if I were in Rome since the location and price wise it was a very good deal when compared to other hotels in Rome

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Thanks to our earned Air-miles, we were able to purchase Best Western gift-certificates for 3 nights at Franklin Feel the Sound.
Chill-out atmosphere, very friendly receptionists, pastries & juice & water at the waiting area, collection of music CD's to play in your room…We picked randomly Andrea Pagani "By the Sea" (some Italian jazz band) - was great to start our day! Interior design of the hotel & rooms is awesome - exactly as we saw on pictures! We were on the 3rd floor I believe. Beds are comfortable, very funky lights(especially in the bathroom) and of course - it's a heaven for a drummer (and I am the one) > snare-drums instead of night-tables and lamps made of splash-symbols. Reception table is also very cool-looking! Breakfast pastries, cheese, bread variety, squeezed orange-juice were great! (not a fan of meat cuts & omelettes, but it was there too). Staff in breakfast area smile when serving or bringing tea and outside patio is very lovely and green. One thing wasn't part of the room is kettle and I love to finish the day with a cup of green tea (but staff took care of me and brought to our room pot of hot-water with variety of teas and some cookies) Hotel area is the best in Rome! I know you will say: "Trastevere, etc.". It depends what you want. We loved Trastevere, especially having 6pm aperitif there and watching the sun slowly fading away - but it is too touristy and loud for everyday. We wanted to be close to Vatican in a first place (considering we booked excursion). It is 5-10min walk and you suddenly there right away! So to arrive from Rome airport was easy as well. We took the bus(3 euro per person) that comes right to Vatican and then we walked for 10min. Right on the corner(one street down from the hotel) - there is a Vodafone cell-phone store where we got sim-card and plan for a month: 400minutes and 2Gb data for about 20 euros including the sim-card (avoid trying to buy all that in airport - plans will start from 50euros for nothing - total scam!!!) Walking around hotel area might seems to be too empty, but it is very relaxing, romantic and very safe (Termini station area is the one I would stay away) - there are gorgeous wide avenues, huge leafy trees - great day walks…(one lady told us this is one of the popular expensive spots to live/rent for locals in order to hide-away from tourists but stay within the city centre) and coming back at night (one street up from the hotel) - you will always find line-up of people to a little street-kiosk "La Sora Maria", where Mama is making amazing refreshing cocktails with fresh lemon, coconut, ice and variety of liquors (very addictive). On the same corner of Vodafone store there is a bus-stop, don't remember exact number (ask at the hotel reception and don't forget to buy bus tickets there as well!!!), but that bus takes you very close to Colosseum. You might wait for it for 10min or so, but taxi to any part of the city - Colosseum or Trevi Fountain will cost you around 12euros. (you can order one from the hotel). Another benefit - close-by food won't cost you a fortune - there are great places around, real pizzas (it will be simple but very tasty and home-made) Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Once again, we lucked out here. We don't speak Italian but the friendly concierge did; he helped with the metro (subway), local travel agent and restaurant (next door, delicious) recommendation. Air conditioned, super clean rooms. The best part, though, was breakfast. It was a four star selection served indoors adjacent to a beautiful patio--all this in the heart of Rome! The charming barista didnt speak English but who cares? We learned how to order our cafe in Italian from her and had grins on our faces the whole time. Truly, best hotel breakfast I've ever tasted. And, I wanted to adopt the Barista! So cute!!

Room Tip: We had a room for parents and a room for the teenagers. Don't scrimp on that as the rooms are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My wife and I arrived in Rome after a long drive from Venice, and a brief stopover in Florence. I was exhausted and it was late at night. The hotel was rather easy to find - but of course, i had GPS! Parking is normally notorious to find, but luckily i found a spot close to the hotel. Unfortunately, there are some parking rules that need to be abided - more on that later! We were greeted by Rodolfo, who already had our reservation card and key ready! Our room was on the 3rd floor, facing the street - and in Rome, you want to wake up to a view of the Roman skyline methinks! The street is quiet and not a main throroughfare. The room was funky - just as advertised with a disco ball light with a blue light shining upon it. The "side tables" were snare drums, and a Bang & Olufsen sound system was mounted above the TV and if you decided to listen to music - CD or Radio - the sound is great and speakers have also been mounted in the bathroom. Room was small, but comfortable and a easily operated safe is provided in the cupboard. Bathrobes and slippers were also provided - unusual for a hotel of this caliber. The pressure of the shower was strong! Again, something unusual in hotels of this caliber - my hotel in Venice/Treviso was like a kitchen faucet by comparison. My only gripe was the wi-fi was real choppy - it took me a good hour to connect and plenty of running down to the reception to reset their wi-fi. And it was quite slow - as we are fond of uploading albums onto Facebook, i was compelled to post them at our next hotel in Milan.

Now in regards to the location - it is a 5 minute walk to the Vatican. When you step out of the hotel, you turn left and turn right once you reach the main road. From there, it is a straight walk to the Vatican museum, and further down after a few twists and turns, you'll find yourself in St. Peter's Square. The reason i chose this hotel is firstly it's price - 150 Euros which i felt was reasonable considering how generally overpriced most hotels in Rome are. Secondly, we had a car - and much of central Rome is subject to RTZ zones in which only designated cars can enter. Not being registered means you will get find as these "zones" are monitored by camera. So this location was just outside the RTZ Zone, but close enough to both the Vatican and most of the major sites in Rome - the Spanish Steps are just 2.2 km away, and the Coliseum is 4.5 km away from the hotel - you'd be looking at 6-10 euros one way in a Taxi. You can also walk if you're feeling adventurous, or alternatively take the metro just a few streets over.

Now regarding the parking - there are "Blue Lines" which are paid between 8AM and 8PM @ 1.20 euro an hour (and free thereafter), and there are white lines which are entirely free - but hard to find. There are also both blue and white lines with YELLOW lines which means between 2AM and 7AM, those spaces need to be vacated as they are loading zones for businesses or municipal workers. I learned this the hard way - i thought i got "lucky" when i found my space with a white/yellow line - but ended up with a 41 euro fine as it was a collection zone for the city's garbage trucks.

All in all, i had a great stay - the staff were incredibly helpful, and i think it serves as a perfect "base" to explore the best of both worlds - Rome and the Vatican.

Room Tip: We were booked on the 3rd floor, Room 301 facing the street. It's not too high - but just high e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CKGTribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#196 of 1,271 in Rome
741 reviews
San Lorenzo
Best Western Globus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Genziana
#504 of 1,271 in Rome
148 reviews
Hotel Capannelle
#756 of 1,271 in Rome
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound

Address: Via Rodi 29, 00195 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#284 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £36 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound is not just a hotel. It is the ideal place from which to visit the center of Rome in an intimate, family-friendly setting, just steps away from the elegant Prati quarter. If, like us, you are passionate about music, design and technology, come visit us at the Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound, a relaxing 3 star accommodation option in Rome where you can enjoy your trip to the rythm of your favourite music! Feel Our Sound and make it resound in one of our 22 rooms inspired in Pop, Rock, Blues, Jazz, and Soul music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing