We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound
Ranked #240 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Quirky hotel, superbly situated, excellent service and friendly. Music theme is unusual but works well, not sure about the blue glitter ball in the bathroom, side tables are drums and selection of CDs to borrow for the room. 10 minutes walk from nearest Metro station and about 15 from the Vatican, excellent position, although, after a long day sightseeing, that 10 minute walk from the Metro can seem like half an hour. Would have no hesitation recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveSinai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    225
    65
    28
    9
See reviews for
143
267
16
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shamong, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We booked this hotel for two nights to see the sights in Rome and were happy with the accommodations upon check in. Although the rooms were small, they were new, clean and in good order. Parking was an issue and we were told to drive around the block to locate a spot. Once again no issue.

The two night stay was fine, but that's when the trouble started. At checkout, we decided to take one last walk down to the Vatican (10-15 minutes) and were assured that our luggage would be fine in our cars directly across the street from the hotel front door. We returned in a few short hours to find that both of our cars (travelling with another family) had smashed windows and were been broken into. Their luggage was completely gone. Fortunately, we had only lost a few items before the thieves were scared away. Needless to say, no one saw anything on the bright sunny day in the middle of the street. The Police refused to come to the scene and the hotel management were not interested in helping at all.

The more I thought about it, the more this seemed like we were set up. There are apartments up and down the street and one next door where there always seems to be a person looking out the window. Sounds paranoid, but, how else could this be explained? In the short time that we were gone, a roving band of thieves didn't just stumble upon the only two vulnerable cars on a street filled with parked cars.

We attempted to discuss this with the Franklin Feel the Sound and Best Western Corporate here in the US to no avail. Best Western has lost a customer for life.

Italy was a great trip but never stop looking over your shoulder.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 611Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were totally excited to stay here. We loved the music theme & the location. We loved the snacks available in the front reception & the two female staff who went above and beyond for us - finding out info for us we hadn't even known we'd need! Our room was really cool & very clean, so happy about that. BUT. We were on the ground floor.. didn't mind that either but man, was this hotel NOT soundproof at all... there were two nights where a group in a few different rooms ran throughout the hotel yelling, banging, crashing into things, tvs on as loud as could be until well past 4 am. My husband tried to speak to the male receptionist about it and he said there was nothing he could do. He didn't even try. Unbelievable. It wasn't New Year's Eve yet and even that would have been a bit more understandable. It was a group of young teens with only a couple of adults. We were so disappointed in the noise level; we were on our first holiday in ages and really needed some rest and definitely did not get it... too bad..

Room Tip: Don't get the ground floor rooms..and take earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at Franklin Feel the Sound in November after an Adriatic Cruise. It fit our bill as we had an early morning tour of the Vatican and it is a 10 to 15 minute walk away. Rooms were generous size for Europe and very clean. We were met graciously and offered a cappuccino in the breakfast area and even though it was only ten a.m., they had a room ready for us . We did not eat breakfast there as both mornings we had to be up and out very early. I loved the fact the neighborhood is very safe and there are few tourists. We even went into a deli and bakery where the food was delicious but no one spoke English. Be sure and eat in the wine/restaurant on the corner. Food was delicious. Try the homemade ice cream for dessert which the owner makes. The staff was helpful in helping us find our way to food and the near by metro stops - If about a 15 minute walk. If you want to see how the real Roman's live, this is a great spot to stay and stoll through the lovely neighborhoods.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor in the front but since it is on a tiny street , noise was not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newplacestofind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A great hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were clean and large for Rome. A big bonus to staying in this hotel is, you can have your breakfast delivered to your room at no extra charge! Vatican City is only about a 15 minute walk away. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I travel for my job all over the world and I loved this cute ad quirky hotel. The staff was so friendly and helpful in finding a good restaurant close by. The room was huge by rome standards, comfy bed, nice linens. Mini fridge in the room, clean bathroom with our own disco ball no less! Snare drums were our nightstands. Breakfast was very nice, great food and a cute courtyard to sit in and enjoy a leisurely breakfast or glass of wine. The lobby has a great array of travel books and cd's to listen to in your room. Free wifi. Would highly recommend this hotel. Only about a 10-15 walk to vatican or # 23 bus will take you there

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atwagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Staff is very kind and gentle and they welcome you serving fresh fruit juice and different kinds of mini croissant. Breakfast offers a great choice of food:eggs,bacon,ham,cheese,croissants,yogurt,fresh fruits and vegetables and even the opportunity to make by yourselves smoothies as you prefer. The hotel is very clean and peculiar;furthermore it is located in a quiet street not so far away from Vatican city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laueffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Best Western Globus Hotel
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#267 of 1,258 in Rome
660 reviews
Hotel La Genziana
#448 of 1,258 in Rome
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Styles Roma Art Noba
#242 of 1,258 in Rome
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound

Property: Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound
Address: Via Rodi 29, 00195 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#285 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound is not just a hotel. It is the ideal place from which to visit the center of Rome in an intimate, family-friendly setting, just steps away from the elegant Prati quarter. If, like us, you are passionate about music, design and technology, come visit us at the Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound, a relaxing 3 star accommodation option in Rome where you can enjoy your trip to the rythm of your favourite music! Feel Our Sound and make it resound in one of our 22 rooms inspired in Pop, Rock, Blues, Jazz, and Soul music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing