We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strongly recommended hotel with a great theme”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound
Ranked #250 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel at the beginning of the year for our short break and I strongly suggest it to everyone who is looking for something different for their holiday in Rome.

When we checked in, we were greeted by knowledgeable, friendly and caring staff who gave us a free upgrade to a superior room and all the information regarding services and location, including a map and directions to the centre.

The hotel was perfectly located within walking distance to the Vatican and all means of transportation. You really don't need a car, it took us only 10 minutes to reach the centre on foot.

The hotel's facilities were brilliant! The room we were given was clean and spacious with theme furniture such as drum-shaped bedside tables. The bathroom was also quite large with a glitter ball and a jacuzzi bath. In addition, the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable.

The front desk was open 24/7 ready to help you with any type of query and at reception you can find a large choice of cds to borrow and play in your room.

Moreover, breakfast was also quite good although we would have preferred a greater variety of savoury food as well as just sweets.

We would definitely stay in this hotel again. However, I gave the hotel 4/5 because our room was right next to the breakfast area and the noise made by other guests woke us up every morning but this did not spoil our holiday. Hence if you don't want to wake up early during your holiday, make sure you ask for a room away from the breakfast and reception area.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room away from reception and breakfast area as it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 24Ago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, and everything about it was perfect for our Rome break.
When we arrived, we were offered juice or water and little pastries, (which are nearly always available in reception). Which we thought was a nice touch. In reception there is a large choice of cd's that you can borrow to play in your room.
(our room had a jacuzzi bath :) so after a busy day it was lovely relaxing in the bath, with a glass of wine listening to music!). Loved the glitter ball too!
Our room (303) was a great size, and on the back of the hotel. We couldn't believe how quiet it was. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, loved the drums as bed side tables!
There was a minibar, and also a safe. The safe was not attached to anything though, so it was kind of an unsafe safe!
But the hotel and Prati area felt safe(the hotel had 24 hour reception, and you had to use the buzzer/intercom, to be let in at night.), Prati is the area where Italians live, so you get a true feel of what it's like to be a Roman and Roman living!
The hotel is 10 mins away from the Vatican Museums, (the queues for this are 3 hours long, so i would suggest that you book a Skip the line tour, we used City wonders and they were amazing. I have done a seperate review for them if you're interested!)
The bus stops are a couple of mins away, and the Metro, about 10 mins walk away.We were at the Colloseum within 20 mins of leaving hotel. One thing I would say is that Rome is smaller than maps show!
Breakfast at the hotel was good, typical Italian hotel breakfast. Bacon, scrambled eggs, rolls, cheeses, hams, fruit, pastries, etc. There is a juicer so you can make your own juice, or decantered pineapple or orange juice. There is a wonderful Barrista, lovely lady, that makes your drinks. Cappucino, latte, americano, tea etc. She does a really good job!
There were lots of places to eat nearby, popeyes is literally round the corner. Food in Prati was noticably cheaper than by Trevi fountain, Piazza Navona etc. Almost by half.Great Gelaterias nearby too, the one on Via del Gracchi is fab!
The hotel staff were incredibly helpful, and friendly. Very impressed.
We would stay at this hotel anytime! Wonderful!

Room Tip: We loved room 303, it was very quiet when we stayed, you can hear the church bells and that's ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank son5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We visited here in Summer 2013 and for the price I think the hotel and it's facilities were brilliant. We had a wonderful room and a bathroom with a jacuzzi bath. It's worth upgrading! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holiday_Junkie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel was on the west side of Rome and was 10 minutes walk to Vatican. All in all, it was a perfect hotel for our stay.

The staff were very friendly and the hotel front desk was open 24 hours a day. The breakfast area is not large but the food was very good. The lady in charge of the breakfast area was super fast handling everything.

Just mention another thing: the hotel even provided us with umbrella in the front. The details told everything :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_ORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights before a Western Mediterranean cruise. We arrived early after a very long over night flight from Toronto. We were permitted to check in early, and invited to help ourselves to the juice and pastries in the lobby (nice touch). The room was well appointed, clean and comfortable. It took me a couple of tries before I figured out some of the lighting, but it was all good. We were upgraded to a main floor junior suite (thanks!) and it was great. We had a private patio area that would be extraordinary in the summer months. Although the weather wasn't really warm, we still managed to spend some time out here because it really was a nice area.
The hotel is tucked down a quiet side street, but well within a short walking distance to many restaurants, little shops, etc.
Breakfast was quite substantial with lots of options. The breakfast server was very personable, and seemed to enjoy taking care of the hotel guests.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the BW Franklin to anyone looking for a nice, quiet, clean and well maintained hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank tbaytraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The staff are great the rooms are really cool and everything was so wonderful. We had an amazing time and want to thank all of the staff. Grazie is not enough. Made our stay in Rome magical. The hotels Musical Theme was so cool and unique kind of set it apart from others. It is much nicer than any Best Western I have stayed at in Canada and the US. They use real plates cutlery and glasses at breakfast and the food was delicious.

Room Tip: It is very close to the Vatican only a ten minute walk but off the touristy area so quiet and friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisanPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The best hotel we have stayed at small and cosy . We were there for 4 days. Clean and nice room. Close to the Vatican. They have a nice free breakfast in the morning. Real plates in a very nice dinning room. Very friendly and helpful staff. We walk around the corner to Popeye's pizza got take out and went back to the hotel and ate it the dinning room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thenumberofthebeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#191 of 1,273 in Rome
764 reviews
Hotel La Genziana
#478 of 1,273 in Rome
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Best Western Globus Hotel
Hotel Capannelle
#736 of 1,273 in Rome
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound

Address: Via Rodi 29, 00195 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#284 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £36 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound is not just a hotel. It is the ideal place from which to visit the center of Rome in an intimate, family-friendly setting, just steps away from the elegant Prati quarter. If, like us, you are passionate about music, design and technology, come visit us at the Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound, a relaxing 3 star accommodation option in Rome where you can enjoy your trip to the rythm of your favourite music! Feel Our Sound and make it resound in one of our 22 rooms inspired in Pop, Rock, Blues, Jazz, and Soul music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing