We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, Great Service, Great Price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound
Ranked #248 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location, Great Service, Great Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

This is probably the best price for a really good hotel that you'll get for its location. It is 10 mins walk to Vatican City and has all sorts of good resturants near by.

The rooms are very funky and you'll really remember your stay here.

Breakfast is good; and the sound systems are great as well.

Downside: There was some sort of construction going on in the lower floors when we were staying and it was irritating at times.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    217
    63
    28
    9
See reviews for
136
263
14
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

Did a weekend trip with our 13yr old daughter to show her the sights of Rome. Stayed in the Triple room, which appeared to be the suite with the pull out couch as the second bed. Pictures of the room are accurate-if you open the pull out couch you have no access to the private courtyard. Clean and comfortable, if tight...but its Europe, so we expected that. Our room was just off the lobby however the soundproofing was good, and there was no music heard from the other rooms. Nice selection of CD's to listen to-which is important because there is 2 news channels only (CNN&BBC) to watch on TV...tough on kids who are bored-family's with younger children beware! Cool disco ball in the bathroom, we liked the music theme.
On the downside the walk to/from the Metro is ten minutes, 15 to the Vatican. At the end of a long walking day, the walk can be a killer. Would have liked to have been a bit closer-you trade distance for cost/ammenties. Safe neighborhood, good local family restaurant a block away. Markets nearby. Free minibar, basic but yummy breakfast included. Internet was free and a decent speed...we considered it a big plus. Would reccomend if you don't mind walking...we don't, but be advised, it is a bit far away.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilseany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

Stayed there because of good reviews and I wasn't disappointed. The rooms are excellent, shower may be a little complicated - I accidentally pulled on their emergency cord. AWESOME staff, I have been emailing them even before I arrive in Rome. They arranged pick-up from the airport to the hotel with a private service car. They suggested restaurants and places to go, tours to take and maps to follow. They arranged another pickup from the hotel to the port ( for out cruise) AND another pickup from the port to the airport (when our cruise was done). Breakfast was always excellent.

Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank merliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

Although we had a bit of a rough start, (room mixup etc)., overall our stay at the Franklin was very enjoyable and the staff were very friendly. I have to agree with some of the other reviews, in that the hotel itself is a little off the beaten track, but this being said, it made for a good sleep. Our 10 - 15 minute walk to the Vatican was very enjoyable - had a great time, finding all sorts of little treasures (like a market) along the way.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swanneyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

Everyone was courteous and helpful. I loved both my rooms (I changed from a single to a double when my friend joined me). The breakfast was fresh and tasty and I very much appreciated the use of your hotel bicycles, at no charge.
I loved the location! It is a lovely neighborhood and not as noisy as it is in the center, but not inconvenient to the center either.
I will be wanting to stay at the Franklin when I visit Rome again, and I WILL visit Rome again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janisvaile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

A great fun hotel but with a noise problem. WIth a music theme and B&O sound systems throughout, I expected 'noise proof' rooms. We stayed in the Jazz room on the bottom floor. You can't fault the rooms except for the wooden floating floors. Not such a problem in your room when you're barefoot, but in the morning every woman's heel and every voice resonates through the walls and ceiling. Don't expect to sleep in or recover from jetlag. The breakfast bar is on the other side of the wall and you hear everyone coming and the electric juicer on the other side going on and off all the time. If you don't need to recover from jetlag and are happy to get up about 6:30 each morning you'll be happy, otherwise listen to the one earlier review ...'Feel the sound hear the noise'. I used this as a chance to meet up with the wife after four months in Afghanistan and it wasn't a happy start : ( This is the first bum deal out of tripadvisor ...it promised so much but was so disappointing. The individual ratings have to be high because the elements of the hotel are great but you don't get to rate 'experience' which drags this down. Rooms on the top floor may be best.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

I stayed 2 nights at Frankin because it just sounded so different - plus it was close to the Vatican and that was our focus on our last day. Anyway, it was only about a 20 minute walk to the Vatican through a nice neighborhood, so that worked out well. The hotel has a unique music theme and this is obvious as soon as you walk in. There are drums for tables and a huge selection of cd's you can take back to your room to play on the fantastic sound system. I loved it! They had a great selection of jazz, which was right up my alley. Our room had a disco ball in the bathroom that had a cobalt blue light hitting it so it made for a really neat effect. It cracked me up, not to mention the snare drum side tables. It was clean and pretty quiet and reasonably priced, for Rome. I would stay there again, if and when in Rome.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTKING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
BEST WESTERN Globus Hotel
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#189 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Hotel Delle Vittorie
#257 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#972 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#210 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Prati
Alex Bed and Breakfast
Alex Bed and Breakfast
#1,692 of 3,736 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound

Property: Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound
Address: Via Rodi 29, 00195 Rome, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#285 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound is not just a hotel. It is the ideal place from which to visit the center of Rome in an intimate, family-friendly setting, just steps away from the elegant Prati quarter. If, like us, you are passionate about music, design and technology, come visit us at the Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound, a relaxing 3 star accommodation option in Rome where you can enjoy your trip to the rythm of your favourite music! Feel Our Sound and make it resound in one of our 22 rooms inspired in Pop, Rock, Blues, Jazz, and Soul music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel Franklin Feel The Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing