We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, value”
Review of Hotel Cambridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cambridge
Ranked #760 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Clean, value”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Our room was clean. Very tall ceilings. Bathroom was small, but had all to be expected from a European hotel, including bidet. Don't know about English language at reception as my husband speaks Italian. Wifi only works in the tiny computer room, has a comfy couch to sit on while doing your Internet thing. Breakfast was fresh with good coffee. Little coffee place across the street is nice, seems to be frequented mainly by non tourists, a plus for me. Round the corner a little pizza by the slice place has very tasty pizza. 10 minute walk from termini.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earthy_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    94
    79
    35
    27
See reviews for
46
115
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Batley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

So In May 2012 I turned 30 a dream had always been to visit Rome, so I booked & went.

The hotel Cambridge was unbelievably cheap for single person occupancy in Rome, so my thought was clean, comfy and safe!!!

The hotel was almost in the same place as a few other hotels it wasn't overly easy to find from the Termini ( however with my directional skills i'm not surprised it took me a while to find it !! )

Several residents tried to point me in the right direction and i finally found my way there, my fault completley.

my room was on the first floor, air con, private bathroom, fresh towels, and a TV
OK so there wasn't a view my room looked out into the middle of the block onto laundry & pigeon crap etc, but hey !!! I hadn't paid to look out at the Trevi or Spanish Steps

Rosa i think was the receptionist who was fab, she helped me with this whole on-line checkin procedure for my flight home and she even booked me Vatican tickets and told me when was best to go.

Didn't make brekkie most mornings but when i did its was fresh and lovely,

The best thing i liked about the hotel Cambridge was how safe i felt, normally i'd say don't walk around with a guide book in your hand
( but trust me in ROME you look more out of place if you don't have a guide book or map in your hand!!!! )

So many people on here complain instead of compliment
Well your not paying a Waldorf Astoria Price but i tell ya what for £238 inc flights for a 4 night stay at the end of may i thought i'd got me a bargain.

Would i stay again YES !!!

This is an honest review, I went to Rome to see Rome not moan about a hotel, at the end of the day sleep, shower and change is what i paid for and i got a tv and air con too!

Check out my tip for drinking water Xx

Room Tip: All around Rome are what look to be black, grey or blue fire hydrans with water pouring out, do as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizzya504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We booked the Cambridge for a weekend in Rome on the way back from San Marino for the England game. The location is ideal, just around the corner from Termini station, so you can get anywhere on the Metro. I have stayed in hotels in that area before which frankly were flea-pits. This is a basic hotel but very clean which is all we wanted. The staff were very friendly and all spoke English. The bathroom was probably the smallest i have ever seen in my life but on saying that, it was very clean. So if you want budget accommodation with no frills, but in a great location, I would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We had switched to the Cambridge Hotel from another hotel which had received bad reviews.
As a result we were in some trepidation. Our fears were unjustified. The Cambridge Hotel in Rome was clean in all respects. The staff were all unfailingly polite and able to communicate in French and English, although as a Scotsman I am averse to speaking English when abroad.
The breakfast was fine, tea/coffee, juice, fruit, yoghurt, croissants and buns with jam, butter and honey. I was perfectly content to watch Italian TV, especially as on one channel they give news on the screen, which I found it interesting to read.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The Stazione Centrale is not far off. The only problem about the Stazione Centrale is the numbers of men hanging about pestering tourists to buy their shoddy wares. However, the area immediately around the hotel is fine.

Room Tip: Having been in Italy in the summer, I would not want a sunny room. However, if you want sun, go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roderick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Roderick,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about the Cambridge Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a trip to Rome with friends. We were pleasantly surprised by the standard of this family run hotel. I note from a previous review that one comment stated that the bar was never open. Did the person ask for a drink? We did and the staff were only too happy to open the bar for us, not only for drinks but also supplied complimentary snacks and took time to chat to us about our stay and offer advice on sightseeing. There was a problem with the hot water, but this was resolved quickly. The rooms were a decent size and the shower and toilet were spotless. A five minute walk from the railway station and easy access to bus and metro make this an ideal location for a trip to Rome. We are looking forward to a return trip to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmcd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Cambridge, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cambridge, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for your opinion regarding Cambridge Hotel in Rome.
We keep opening our Bar whenever someone wants it and it is the best moment to enjoy our "working time" with guests.

Looking forward to have the chance to see you again!

Best Regards,

Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

It all comes down to your expectations. We had 4 double rooms, we all agreed the rooms and ensuits were very small but clean. The owners were polite snd helpfull. Breakfast was continental, no cooked food put plenty of bread , pastries ,yogut , cereal tea and coffee. This was a budget hotel and we got what we expected, we were only there for three nights so it was fine. Very well positioned for sight seeing.

Helpful?
Thank Ajax8uk
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

....as in properly working central heating and a supply of hot water in the room - especially in January! Unfortunately our room was cold on arrival and stayed chilly. The water temperature never got above tepid so there was no Roman bath enjoyed during our 3 night stay, just an extremely quick shower in a VERY compact bathroom. The location was ideal with it's close proximity to the train station, Metro and Tour Bus stops. The Reception staff varied from a helpful girl on arrival to another who was too busy on her mobile to even smile 'hello' and a night porter who couldn't speak English. I am not of the opinion that everybody, everywhere in the world should - but perhaps in hospitality it would be handy incase of an emergency (what's fire, fire...in Italian?!) The young lass that greeted us at breakfast was welcoming but she was the only good thing to say about that particular experience (mould on the top of my yoghurt pot). Unfortunately I cannot comment on the bar as we never found it open! Admittedly the B&B rate we paid had set our expectations to expect 'basic' accommodation but we had travelled as part of a group...and other members who were at a hotel, actually nearer to the Termini, enjoyed much better facilities; including a comfortable functioning bar and hot water, at the same rate.Therefore it would do well to thoroughly research before booking a hotel in this area as another discernable difference between the two groups were that The Cambridge 'guests' were pea green with envy!

Room Tip: Our friends on the first floor - where our room was located, also had only lukewarm water in the bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monty1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#927 of 1,258 in Rome
428 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Domus Praetoria
Hotel Domus Praetoria
#400 of 1,258 in Rome
760 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sol Levante
Hotel Sol Levante
#632 of 1,258 in Rome
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#461 of 1,258 in Rome
290 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#719 of 1,258 in Rome
156 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#552 of 1,258 in Rome
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cambridge

Property: Hotel Cambridge
Address: Via Palestro 87, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #760 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Superbreak UK, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing