We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a view of a fire escape from room 303”
Review of Bailey's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bailey's Hotel
Ranked #363 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 8 August 2014

But does this really matter, we were in Rome and would see plenty of wonderful sights and locations.

The hotel is very well located, not far from the Spanish Steps, in a quiet side street, with a few good restaurants around it.

The staff are very welcoming, and offered us coffee, whilst we waited for our room to be free. The room was smaller than I expected, but we were only stopping two nights, warning for those stopping in this room for more than a couple of nights, very small wardrobe. The decor of the public area is simple but classy, the room we was, in was a bit overbearing, due to having large striped wall decoration in a very small room. The housekeeping is impeccable, so much so we got new soaps and towels everyday. Another warning the water can get very hot, check the temperature before using the shower. The breakfast are basic continental, but everything is fresh. There is a small bar at the back of the hotel, not always manned, but ask at the reception and you will be attended to.

The metro is not far, but I must admit we used the city tour bus pass, to get ourselves around the parts of Rome we wanted to see, and saw some awesome sights, that we did not expect to see.

I would recommend staying at the Bailey, but maybe ask for a large double room. we will on our next journey to Rome, I hope it is soon.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a small double.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tatts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
There are newer reviews for Bailey's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Was in a great location for all the sites. This hotel was in walking distance from all the main sites such as the Vatican City, Pantheon and Coliseum. Breakfast was lovely. The reception could book you a tour, taxi and just about anything else you wanted. We had the pleasure of being served by Mirko. Mirko was a well mannered polite man and should be congratulated for making my family and I feel so welcome.

Would 100% stay there again if I was in Rome. Loved it.

Room Tip: All rooms have air conditioning.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights last week. We found the facilities good, very comfortable and everything we had hoped for. The room was excellent, quite and spacious. Everything you expect from a 4 star room was included. We had a superior double. The breakfast was a good typical continental one, opening at suitable times. We did have a day when the wifi didn't work, but once back online we had access in our room without any problem. The location is brilliant. In a quite business district, but close to all the attractions. The termini really is just 5 mins walk, 10 mins leisurely stroll away. From here you can pick up the buses, and sightseeing yours. There are plenty of restaurants close by, which we found to be good. The prices are mid range, but good quality. Plenty of shops selling water, drinks and food were open every time we passed, morning, day time and late at night. We were only a 15 mins walk from the main hubbub of the city, which was great as you walked back you noticed things calm down. Would recommend this as a great place to explore rome from.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Joely88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were vacationing from the USA June 2014. Due to travel circumstances, we had to stay here for 1 night until we could go on to our assigned hotel. I'm writing this review simply to praise the Hotel Manager, Gerald. This was our 1st stop in Rome after arriving from the airport and Gerald made us feel welcomed and right at home immediately. Through his recommendations, we had all of our eating, snacking, social, and touring plans made within the 1st hour or so. He was spot on with every recommendation and treated my family exceptionally well. It left a "familiar" feeling that carried us through the rest of our Rome trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed a total of 4 nights. We found the staff at the front desk VERY helpful. Our flight arrived after midnight and the manager offered a pickup service for the very reasonable price (negotiated in advance). Good breakfast included. The hotel was clean and well located for our needs. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NickVery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We booked this hotel on the recommendation of a trusted travel agent, and we weren't disappointed. It's a good mix of small hotel with very cosy and comfortable rooms. Really, it was just a place to sleep; the hotel has a small foyer, a small breakfast room, and that's it.

The staff were really, really great; nothing was a problem, particularly when it came to the best way to get to the various attractions.

The room was spacious, very comfortable, spotless - ideal. It was a real pleasure to come back in the evening after a long day's exploring, and flop down on the comfortable bed.

The location is a relatively quiet street, just off the main embassy-and-government-department side of the city, so there was lots of nice restaurants, wine bars and cafes to try each evening.

Rome is an interesting and exciting destination, which I've visited a few times. I loved Bailey's Hotel and would strongly consider returning to this hotel over others in the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank zoolooklogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We arrived at Bailey's Hotel after arriving from Canada. We were treated to a free café while we waited for our room to be ready as we had arrived early. We stayed a total of 4 nights. We found the staff at the front desk VERY helpful. They have a pad of maps that they readily pull out to give simple directions. They were patient with our many questions! The hotel was clean and well located for our needs. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Oxford
Hotel Oxford
#345 of 1,267 in Rome
1,195 reviews
Gambrinus Hotel
#298 of 1,267 in Rome
1,371 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Empire Palace Hotel
Empire Palace Hotel
#271 of 1,267 in Rome
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Londra And Cargill
Hotel Londra And Cargill
#208 of 1,267 in Rome
875 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Marcella Royal Hotel
Marcella Royal Hotel
#92 of 1,267 in Rome
1,724 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#238 of 1,267 in Rome
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailey's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailey's Hotel

Address: Via Flavia 39, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Family Hotel in Rome
#199 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#207 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £65 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailey's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate Townhouse Hotel housed in a building dating from the 18th century & re-opened in 2001 after complete renovations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bailey's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baileys Hotel Rome
Bailey Hotel
Hotel Bailey Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing