We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location, location, location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Siena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Siena
Ranked #382 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“location, location, location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

That is what this hotel has, location. It also has tiny rooms with no rugs. It has been redecorated and looks cute in the photos, but we have only been in one room in our travels that has been smaller. I wouldn't have traded a bigger room for a location farther away, this is, again, almost a perfect location, adjacent to the Spanish Steps, and the major sights. It is easy to walk a;most everywhere. We always look for hotels that are location friendly, and first class. This first class hotel is small. The location must be very expensive it is the best. The staff were nice, but not memorable. The room and particularly the bathroom are very dark (black tile and counter - top). It was also poorly designed, with pools of water with no where to go immediately appearing behind the sink whenever it was used. The bathroom was dirty. The tub appeared to have "jets" for a whirlpool bath. There was so much black grime (mold?) around the jets that I thought they might be black rubber gaskets! No. I scraped one of the gaskets with my fingernail and it was not a gasket. No feather pillows, which many/most first class hotels do have. The room felt barren, and I did walk around with no shoes on, but wondered how clean it was.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the street. it was fun to look out, but the noise at night was too much to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alcstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    168
    47
    13
    11
See reviews for
50
157
43
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was a lovely hotel right in the middle of everything! Just a few very short blocks to the Spanish Steps in one direction and just a few short blocks to Trevi Fountain in the other direction. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We had trouble with our remote one day and rather than brushing it off, the front desk came up to our room to help! The lift (elevator) was very tiny!! Only 2 people at a time, I still don't know how we managed to fit the 2 of us and our luggage at the same time. The room was a little on the smaller side, but it was bright and clean so it was all good. Ensure to ask the front desk where to eat. Our best meal in Rome was on the recommendation of the staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlana_1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed at Hotel Siena for one night in July, great boutique hotel, close to the Trevi Fountain and shopping. Rooms were a little small and the A/C not very cold at all, otherwise good stay, very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Got a great deal with Jet2 for this hotel. Turned out to be a fantastic boutique hotel. Location was brilliant, 5 minute walk to Trevi fountain in one direction and 5 minute walk to Spanish steps in the other. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby and just a great place to stay for a short city break.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanBell85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed over at Hotel Siena for 4nights. Pretty new furnishings and clean rooms. I was allocated the top floor room which was fine, except the lift broke down during our check-out day. There was a sky-window at the ceiling of the bathroom, those who value privacy may wish to take note.

I attempted to walk to the hotel from the train station, not recommended for those with huge luggage. Surprisingly, the locals either have us wrong directions or had no clue where the hotel address was.

Location of hotel was great to launch our day trips and shopping from. Good place to retire and rest in the evening away from the busy streets.

Service was alright, something akin to a "doing just enough, nothing more" kind of attitude. That's fine except that the hotel is priced at a premium, a little more personal touch and warmth at the reception's will go a long way to improve the guests' stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teoliyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed here five nights in mid June 2013. Hotel has modern decor, reminds of a boutique hotel - modern and stylish. Best aspect is the location - walk to anywhere in the heart of Rome, great for night strolling after having hit the major attractions during the day. It is a five minute walk to Spanish steps and Trevi fountain and shopping. Staff is helpful and service oriented. Room was small and with two suitcases there is hardly any walking room.Safe provided at no charge.The bathroom was small. Breakfast was various dessert like cakes and breads, croissants, yogurt, orange juice, salami and cheese; all of which I found to be of good quality and taste, but nothing exceptional. I enjoyed my cappuccino every morning. Overall, good location, friendly staff and clean hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 007Desigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Fine room, nice breakfast, very clean, great hospitality. Much better than other hotels in its class. Not far away (5 min walking) from the Spanish steps and Trevi fountain. There is a metro station near the Spanish steps. There is a great place for sandwiches near by (La sandwicheria a large Nazareno) and also a supermarket.

Helpful?
Thank urihadar
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Rome Style Hotel
Rome Style Hotel
#367 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
#98 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Colonna
Homs Hotel
Homs Hotel
#549 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#117 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Memphis
Hotel Memphis
#406 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#264 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Siena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Siena

Property: Hotel Siena
Address: Via di Sant'Andrea delle Fratte 33, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#191 Family Hotel in Rome
#205 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#223 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Siena 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Siena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing