We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for Rome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Siena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Siena
Ranked #373 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent value for Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed 6 nights in September. I had a room facing the noisy street -a lot of foot traffic between the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps- but the windows shut the noise out and the A/C worked well. The staff in the breakfast room was very attentive and the food selection was good. I knew that the room would be small, so no complaint there, only that the nightstands were small tables, it would have been nice, if there had been a shelf and/or drawer, especially for a stay for more than a few nights.

The front desk staff was just OK, not particularly helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arcadian7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    168
    47
    13
    11
See reviews for
50
157
43
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Having a delightful reception when we arrived late at night, we were very happy to find such nice rooms--small but lovely. On the street, there were 3 very good restaurants and it was a short walk from there to The Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steppes. We walked miles, ate very well and returned to a perfect hotel room every night. Breakfast in the morning was excellent which was a good jump start to the rest of the day

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel had to be the worst one of out trip to Italy. It's the third hotel of four on our stay. Where do we begin? The guy at the front desk is so rude and pompous, he won't even let you finish a sentence before he cuts you off and then does not grant your request. The beds are rock hard, the rooms are dark with LED lighting, the air conditioner barely works, the free wi-fi only works in the lobby, (maybe if you're lucky), although they tell you it will work from your room when you check in, the hand towels are dish towels, and the bath towels feel like sandpaper, and the shower door won't close all the way, (soaking the floor outside) My Mother asked for another box of tissues because the one in the bathroom was empty, and the jerk (same jerk as before) said, we can't have anymore. Super unaccomidating. Our safe in the room didn't work either, he never came to help with that, even tho he said he would. The people who gave this place more than 2 stars must be related to the management, or their heads are so far up their own [--], they can't tell the difference.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shannonie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just finishing up a trip to Italy and stayed at three different hotels in three cities. This was bar far the most disappointing. The others were great! Location was great being very close to the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps.

The hotel itself has many issues, all relating to poor service. First off pictures on the website are not what we saw. I initially booked online and emailed to confirm and they said they never got it and has one great room left at about 30 Euros more a night. We stayed anyway.

Room was very small and beds were rock hard. We asked for a comforter or different mattress and was told not possible, this is how Italy is. Asked for a blanket thinking we could put it under the mattress and told no blankets in summer!! To be fair all this poor service was with one person, which I could remember his name.

Anyway we were going to move and spoke to Claudio who was helpful. He got us one comforter which we had been told were not available plus two blankets!!!

Next day went out and came back and my wife asked original guy for a blanket. Again said not available and she said we had gotten some and needed one more. He said he would come up later. He did and I was in the shower. He came in and said we should have had some and looked in small closet(not there) while I was in the shower with door open and a glass door. How rude!!!!

This one person was so annoying and unhelpful and really didn't want to be bothered with anything . Even getting answers to basic questions seemed like we were a huge bother.

Would never stay here again. By the way will be writing very positive reviews for the other hotels we stayed at in Venice and Florence. And Rome is awesome!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

That is what this hotel has, location. It also has tiny rooms with no rugs. It has been redecorated and looks cute in the photos, but we have only been in one room in our travels that has been smaller. I wouldn't have traded a bigger room for a location farther away, this is, again, almost a perfect location, adjacent to the Spanish Steps, and the major sights. It is easy to walk a;most everywhere. We always look for hotels that are location friendly, and first class. This first class hotel is small. The location must be very expensive it is the best. The staff were nice, but not memorable. The room and particularly the bathroom are very dark (black tile and counter - top). It was also poorly designed, with pools of water with no where to go immediately appearing behind the sink whenever it was used. The bathroom was dirty. The tub appeared to have "jets" for a whirlpool bath. There was so much black grime (mold?) around the jets that I thought they might be black rubber gaskets! No. I scraped one of the gaskets with my fingernail and it was not a gasket. No feather pillows, which many/most first class hotels do have. The room felt barren, and I did walk around with no shoes on, but wondered how clean it was.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the street. it was fun to look out, but the noise at night was too much to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alcstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was a lovely hotel right in the middle of everything! Just a few very short blocks to the Spanish Steps in one direction and just a few short blocks to Trevi Fountain in the other direction. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We had trouble with our remote one day and rather than brushing it off, the front desk came up to our room to help! The lift (elevator) was very tiny!! Only 2 people at a time, I still don't know how we managed to fit the 2 of us and our luggage at the same time. The room was a little on the smaller side, but it was bright and clean so it was all good. Ensure to ask the front desk where to eat. Our best meal in Rome was on the recommendation of the staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlana_1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed at Hotel Siena for one night in July, great boutique hotel, close to the Trevi Fountain and shopping. Rooms were a little small and the A/C not very cold at all, otherwise good stay, very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Rome Style Hotel
Rome Style Hotel
#366 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
#97 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Colonna
Homs Hotel
Homs Hotel
#551 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#118 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Memphis
Hotel Memphis
#409 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#262 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Siena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Siena

Property: Hotel Siena
Address: Via di Sant'Andrea delle Fratte 33, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#191 Family Hotel in Rome
#201 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#223 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Siena 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Siena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing