We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not clean” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Siena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Siena
Ranked #382 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“not clean”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were there in January and ... well, the rooms are cozy, the hotel personnel are friendly and helpful, breakfast is good, but this hotel has a huge problem: it has cockroaches. We saw two and called the receptionist to kill them. Had to check out and find another hotel the very next morning. I was terrified.
In addition to this, the carpets on the hallways were not very well cleaned either.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adella10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arolando1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Siena, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Mrs. Adella10,

we are very sorry about the inconvenience occurred to you during your stay at the Hotel Siena in Rome. At your arrival we upgraded to a superior room with jacuzzi bathtub in order to make your stay more confortable, but it did not help much.

We are very glad to know that you appreciate all the efforts made by our staff in order to satisfy your needs and we can assure you that concerning the carpet on the hallways it was due to a simply oversight by the chambermaid. As you can see from our reviews all our guests are extremely satisfied with the cleaning of the house.

In anyway we are taking the problem in big consideration and during the last days we checked and disinfest all the rooms in order to fix the inconvenience.

We hope that during your next visit in Rome you will think about giving us a new opportunity, offering us the chance to change your mind about the service.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    168
    47
    13
    11
See reviews for
50
157
43
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located at walking distance from all major attractions. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. I stayed in room. 106. I felt the room was too tiny even for one person. But I guess this is quite common in Italy. Bed was very comfortable and breakfast was very rich. Thank you for everything!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Maya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I ended up in one of the tiny single rooms at Hotel Siena, due to a "system issue" at the Hotel Delle Nazioni. It was at first upsetting to hear I'd not be staying at Delle Nazioni since it was highly recommended...but their staff had arranged my room at Siena a short three blocks walk away. Their bellhop walked me and my luggage to the Hotel Siena. As a jetlagged newbie to Rome it turned out to be a fine place. I was able to go out and enjoy walking Rome for hours, then came back and had a pleasant 12 hours of sleep. Yes, the bathroom is interestingly tiny. Otherwise it was a welcome upgrade from the airplane seat I'd slept in the night before - and the room was impecabbly clean and the space was designed so excellently! I don't know what the price would have been for the room, but I had a very good Expedia pre-paid rate at Delle Nazioni and that simply covered whatever the cost was at Hotel Siena. Breakfast was good, it included made to order espresso and a good selection (which is critical since I am gluten free and dairy free). I would go back here - depending on the rates. It is in just a perfect location.

Room Tip: Room was quiet at night despite foot traffic outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mskatymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
448 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

HOTEL SIENA in Rome is a centrally located and was formerly a villa built in the 7th century. Hence, as a landmark very little modernization or reconstruction could be done. The bedroom was small but comfortable with a modern black and white motif. The bathroom on the other hand was so small that it made a cruise ship's bathroom look huge. I had to step into the shower stall sideways and I barely fit in the shower. The most interesting and stressful thing I experienced was trying to use the toliet. The joint toliet and bidet was a first. I have never seen one so small. I had to try to positioned
myself under the miniture sink to get to the toliet. I am not huge but this bathroom was designed for THIN folks of kids. At one point, I squeezed in and got stuck and started laughing, for it was the theater of the absurb. Fortunately, in the lobby there was a small bathroom which was a major improvement over the TORTURE CHAMBER bathroom upstairs.

The breakfast was good and the service was great. The hotel was in the center of the historic area and within walking distance of the Spanish steps. The Hop on Hop Off Bus was only three blocks away. There were several good reasonably priced restuarants within walking distance. The local music house was only three blocks away.
I enjoyed my stay at the Siena Hotel but definitely could have used a room with a LARGER bathroom. When I got to Milan, I stayed in the same chain hotel and fortunately the bathroom was large and comfortable.

Room Tip: Check the BATHROOM before unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great. As others have said, it's position for sightseeing is second to none. Staff were courteous and our room was spotlessly clean. The hotel was quiet with a good selection for breakfast. Our room (321) was very small and that's why I haven't given it 5*. However, looking at the floor plan, it was clear that out room was the smallest so there definitely scope to get a bigger room if that's important to you. Having said that, our room did have a balcony which I'm pretty sure most of the others didn't have. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would go there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nellpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed 6 nights in September. I had a room facing the noisy street -a lot of foot traffic between the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps- but the windows shut the noise out and the A/C worked well. The staff in the breakfast room was very attentive and the food selection was good. I knew that the room would be small, so no complaint there, only that the nightstands were small tables, it would have been nice, if there had been a shelf and/or drawer, especially for a stay for more than a few nights.

The front desk staff was just OK, not particularly helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arcadian7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Having a delightful reception when we arrived late at night, we were very happy to find such nice rooms--small but lovely. On the street, there were 3 very good restaurants and it was a short walk from there to The Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steppes. We walked miles, ate very well and returned to a perfect hotel room every night. Breakfast in the morning was excellent which was a good jump start to the rest of the day

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Rome Style Hotel
Rome Style Hotel
#367 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
#98 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Colonna
Homs Hotel
Homs Hotel
#549 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#117 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Memphis
Hotel Memphis
#406 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#264 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Siena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Siena

Property: Hotel Siena
Address: Via di Sant'Andrea delle Fratte 33, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#191 Family Hotel in Rome
#205 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#223 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Siena 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Siena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing