We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good balance of quality and price for the location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Siena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Siena
Ranked #379 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good balance of quality and price for the location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

The hotel is within an easy 5 minute walk of Spagna metro station. I found it to be a great base for walking to the main sites of Rome. You can get on 2 of the main tourist buses a few mins walk on nearby Via del Tritone. I found they were always very packed when they arrived there though, so didn't use them in the end.

I stayed in room 103 which was very dark when I arrived as the window shutters outside were closed, but you can open them to make it feel more normal. The room was clean and modern, with working air con. I tried to use the free wifi in my room and although it was very weak when sat on the bed, it was very strong near the door, so I just moved the chair and used it there when I needed it.

If you exit the hotel and go right, there is great sandwich shop (La Sandwicheria al Nazareno) about 3 doors down. Just a bit further along (within 1 mins walk), following the curve of the block, there is a supermarket, DeSpar, which is great for cheap drinks and snacks. Lot of cafes and restaurants whichever way you go as well.

The only sort of negative thing I might say is that the toilet is tightly positioned right in the corner of the shower room with the sink in front of it, and anyone who is really big or has mobility issues might find this difficult.

It took me a long time researching hotels in Rome, but in the end I felt this was the best choice for the right balance of hotel quality, price and good convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luna123072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    168
    47
    13
    11
See reviews for
50
157
43
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel Siena is located within walking distance to the Spanish steps and it's subway terminal and to trevi fountain. There are a lot of good restaurants and pizzerias within walking distance. The hotel itself is nice. Small but I guess all hotels in Europe are small. The breakfast in the morning was great you had the option of choosing cold and hot food. There is a grocery store around the corner in case you need anything. The staff was great and helpful. Overall great hotel, good location, and friendly staff.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Siena was a quite good hotel. The room we stayed had a view on the street and it was really nice and clean. The location though couldn't be better. It's near to everything. Stuff is kind and helpful too! Glad we stayed there for a few nights. Not sure about value for money though.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia M. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a small 4-star hotel close to many of the major tourist destinations and good restaurants. My room was small, more typical for a 2- or 3- star hotel (although stars have nothing to do with room size). It was beautifully decorated and updated, comfortable, and functional. My room had a doorway leading out to a small patio in the back of the building, quiet and even if there was no view, it was a quiet place to find some fresh air. The breakfast was excellent. The hotel's most valuable asset is its friendly staff, who made my stay nearly perfect. Excellent Internet connectivity. Given the great location, it was good value for money. I was a single business traveler, and while the hotel is better situated for tourists, it was ok for a business traveler who has time to see some sights after work. For my purposes it was very close to the metro (Spagna Station), but beware that the summer tourist crowds make the walk to the metro a bit wearisome after a few days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We spend 6 nights at the Hotel Siena in Rome. We picked this hotel primarily for its location and were not disappointed. The hotel is right in the middle of everything, but just enough off the main streets to be quiet at night (plus they have good windows). The air conditioning worked great, but it was only 85F outside, so it wasn't quite the hottest part of summer yet. The staff at the hotel all spoke English and were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great, having scrambled eggs, toast, cereal, pastries, fruit, coffee, juice, yogurt, and more. The room was very clean and finishes were nice and newly updated. The room was small, but we didn't come to Rome to sit in our room, so that was OK with us. The elevator is tiny with just enough room for 2 or 3 people, but we would take the stairs anyways as there are only 4 floors to go up and down. I cannot say enough about how helpful and friendly the concierge was, I would definitely stay here again given the opportunity to come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbagb94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just got back from an absolutely wonderful stay at Hotel Siena in Rome. The hotel is in a great location in the historic centre - walking distance of all the main sights. It is on a road which does not have that much traffic going down it so there's not much noise and there is a wide choice of restaurant in the vicinity. The staff were exceptional - friendly, polite, and all spoke good english and I felt very at home staying there. We were able to check into our room early, and leave our bags in the luggage room after checking out. The rooms were a fair size for a city hotel, with a good sized bathroom which along with the room was decorated in a modern, clean style. The bed was firm and comfortable, and the room had air conditioning and two very large windows allowing fresh air in. The breakfast buffet was very tasty - a selection of pastries, sweet bread and cakes, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, cold meats, eggs, cheese and rolls. I think there was also hot food on offer (bacon & eggs) but I didn't try them. The waitresses in the breakfast room made fresh coffee for us every morning which was delicious. I cannot praise this hotel enough. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Rome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank splumpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arolando1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Siena, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Ospite,

A nome di tutto il personale dell'Hotel Siena la ringraziamo per la bellissima recensione.
Siamo veramente lieti di sapere che abbia trascorso un piacevole soggiorno e che ci ricordera'
Sempre per la gentilezza del personale la pulizia e la varieta' della colazione , questi infatti sono i fattori fondamentali che contraddistinguono tutti gli alberghi della nostra catena lhphotels.
Augurandoci di poterla avere come nostro gradito Ospite le porgiamo cordiali saluti

Annerita Rolando
Responsabile Ricevimento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Wife and I spent two nights at this hotel in Rome.
Positive: Location was great!
Room was quiet (I wasn't facing the street).
Breakfast was decent.
Rooms were updated.
The shower wouldn't drain, so when we left for the day we told the staff. It was fixed when we got back.

Negatives:
Very tiny room. I dont mind small rooms personally, but it was hard to navigate around a couple of luggage bags and another person.
The toilet had the little paper strip across it saying the bathroom was clean. There was dry urine on the seat.
I wouldn't say the staff was rude, but they wern't as friendly as hotel staff should be.
Compared to other hotels, I think it was a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Rome Style Hotel
Rome Style Hotel
#366 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
#98 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Colonna
Homs Hotel
Homs Hotel
#551 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#120 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Memphis
Hotel Memphis
#402 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#264 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Siena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Siena

Property: Hotel Siena
Address: Via di Sant'Andrea delle Fratte 33, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#191 Family Hotel in Rome
#203 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#223 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Siena 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Siena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing