We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to rest”
Review of Hotel Giotto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giotto
Ranked #1,088 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 12 June 2014

An out of the way hotel, approx 20 min walk from Battistini metro station.
The hotel serves a purpose, the room was cleaned everyday. The lifts are small, barely fitting 2 people in.

We found that the best way to travel into Central Rome was a short walk to the bus stop to catch the 49 bus to the Vatican. This made it easier to get back to the hotel too, which can be an uphill slog from the metro station at the end of a long day exploring Rome.

The staff were pleasant and friendly

Breakfast was limited but the croissants were fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel is nice enough for a 3-star - it is clean and (when we were there) reasonably quiet. They advertsie themselves as guten-free friendly and do have gluten-free options available for breakfast and dinner. However, be prepared - there was one option for breakfast and one pasta type for dinner (no pizza) - enough for a night or two but you wouldn't want the same thing every day for, say, a week.
The biggest downside of the hotel was it's location - it is about 15 minutes walk through an okay neighbourhood (if you ignore the graffiti and minimal pavements) to the metro, and then you are at near one end of the line. It isn't far to the city - and anyone going to Rome needs to be prepared to walk plenty - but if you will have to plan time to get to and from the centre.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DyN_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were originally reinbursed for a terrible disaster of a holiday prior to this and decided as I'd always wanted to visit Rome we would spend the money on doing that.
When we arrived we were informed that our rooms were not ready and wouldn't be until the following day due to Spanish students "destroying" them. I took this with a pinch of salt and hopped in the receptionists car to their sister hotel north east of the Giotto. It was a lovely hotel just happened to be absolutely no where near anything. The next morning we walked 1hr 30mins to the Spanish steps which were gorgeous seen the trevi etc. Got back and students where running madly around the hotel to all hours prank phoning rooms and knocking on doors.

I would not recommend this hotel to couples. We were put into a store room for tea as a school had booked and got priority of the restaurant. Too top it off our shower did not work and our suitcase was lost in Rome airport.

Rome in general is beautiful...and the hotel is very handy to the metro. This was the only saving grace! ......I'm in need of a holiday to get over this one lol.:-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The location is good, near the Vatican. Clean rooms, of course it's a 3 star and in Rome nothing so great. But a decent place where to stay. I think I would stay here again. Price is good, nice breakfast.

Room Tip: May be high floors room are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biju_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed at hotel Giotto on a 4 night break with flights through a British airways deal. Although a bit out of town, it was quiet, the staff were friendly and the accommodation was very acceptable. We stayed in room 219 on 2nd floor overlooking the front entrance. Room was compact but was suitable for our needs. Breakfast was included which again was quite acceptable continental style. We used the restaurant on two occasions. A three course meal with a glass of wine and water included for 15 euros each. The portions were adequate and the choice reasonable.

A bus 49, only a few minutes walk away takes you to the Vatican or onto piazza Cavour. A bus 994 from the same stop take you to viale Aurelia metro stop, on line A. Easy access from there to' trevi fountain and spanish steps.

All in all a place we would consider to use again.

Room Tip: 219 was okay for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lbecci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I visited in company of my 10 year old son for two nights to watch a AS Roma football game. The location is a little bit off in a quiet area of Rome.
The nearest metro station is a 20 min. walk from the hotel and a little bit hard to find, we used gps the first time.
The metro is a convinient way to reach most of the sights like Colloseum, The Spanish steps and Fontana di Trevi.
The hotel was clean and the staff helpful and friendly, they spoke excellent english I must add.
The breakfast was average.
I recommend this hotel for a couple of days stay to a good value for your money if you dont mind a long walk to the metro.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rolle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The hotel is basic but is clean, the cleaners do a great job every day making up our room. Staff friendly. Location was a pain as it right on the end of the metro line plus you either had a walk or a bus to get back to hotel when your knackered from walking round Rome all day last thing you want is long jaunt back to your hotel. We booked this through BA city break which made out the location was good but it isn't trust me!

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pineta Palace
Hotel Pineta Palace
#411 of 1,271 in Rome
1,106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pinewood Hotel
Pinewood Hotel
#393 of 1,271 in Rome
790 reviews
1 mi away
Park Hotel Ginevra
Park Hotel Ginevra
#663 of 1,271 in Rome
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#1,062 of 1,271 in Rome
311 reviews
1.9 mi away
Scheppers Hotel
Scheppers Hotel
#1,067 of 1,271 in Rome
276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marc'Aurelio Hotel
Marc'Aurelio Hotel
#542 of 1,271 in Rome
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giotto

Address: Via Cardinal Passionei 35, 00167 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,088 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £36 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giotto 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers modern comforts; situated in a very quiet residential area near a park; convenient to public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Giotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing