We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean”
Review of Hotel Giotto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Giotto
Ranked #1,097 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Clean”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights. It was my first hotel experience in Italy. The rooms are small but clean. Breakfast is served and includes bread and basic pastries. Nothing over the top but good enough to hold me down as I explored Rome in the morning. I don't know how far the train station is as I was picked up by coach bus. The elevators are extremly small. The staff was friendly. My room faced the street and I didn't hear anything. This may be because I was jet lagged but it was really quiet. They have a fantastic little bar on the rooftop which was great for the evenings. It offered a pleasant breeze and a great place to hang out and meet people. There is a t.v. there and I was able to watch a world cup game there. The prices for the items sold at the bar are reasonable.

Room Tip: Some of the people I traveled with said the bathrooms on the fifth floor are horrible. Apparently th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mio0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    107
    209
    98
    116
See reviews for
100
193
37
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very basic hotel but always very clean and tidy. Breakfast is included but again very basic pastries, cheese, meat and tin fruit. Vending machine coffee. If you are a light sleeper this is not the hotel for you, the walls are paper thin. You can hear everything. Be prepared to walk, this hotel is about a 12-15 minute walk to the metro, from here you can get on the metro which is 1 euro 50 each single trip and gets you anywhere. Metro runs like London underground.
Would I stay here again - probably not but only for the fact that it is a little too far from everything.

Room Tip: Ask not to be on the 4th floor. The restaurant is on the 5th floor and when they clear up you can he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyCobham1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

An out of the way hotel, approx 20 min walk from Battistini metro station.
The hotel serves a purpose, the room was cleaned everyday. The lifts are small, barely fitting 2 people in.

We found that the best way to travel into Central Rome was a short walk to the bus stop to catch the 49 bus to the Vatican. This made it easier to get back to the hotel too, which can be an uphill slog from the metro station at the end of a long day exploring Rome.

The staff were pleasant and friendly

Breakfast was limited but the croissants were fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel is nice enough for a 3-star - it is clean and (when we were there) reasonably quiet. They advertsie themselves as guten-free friendly and do have gluten-free options available for breakfast and dinner. However, be prepared - there was one option for breakfast and one pasta type for dinner (no pizza) - enough for a night or two but you wouldn't want the same thing every day for, say, a week.
The biggest downside of the hotel was it's location - it is about 15 minutes walk through an okay neighbourhood (if you ignore the graffiti and minimal pavements) to the metro, and then you are at near one end of the line. It isn't far to the city - and anyone going to Rome needs to be prepared to walk plenty - but if you will have to plan time to get to and from the centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DyN_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were originally reinbursed for a terrible disaster of a holiday prior to this and decided as I'd always wanted to visit Rome we would spend the money on doing that.
When we arrived we were informed that our rooms were not ready and wouldn't be until the following day due to Spanish students "destroying" them. I took this with a pinch of salt and hopped in the receptionists car to their sister hotel north east of the Giotto. It was a lovely hotel just happened to be absolutely no where near anything. The next morning we walked 1hr 30mins to the Spanish steps which were gorgeous seen the trevi etc. Got back and students where running madly around the hotel to all hours prank phoning rooms and knocking on doors.

I would not recommend this hotel to couples. We were put into a store room for tea as a school had booked and got priority of the restaurant. Too top it off our shower did not work and our suitcase was lost in Rome airport.

Rome in general is beautiful...and the hotel is very handy to the metro. This was the only saving grace! ......I'm in need of a holiday to get over this one lol.:-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The location is good, near the Vatican. Clean rooms, of course it's a 3 star and in Rome nothing so great. But a decent place where to stay. I think I would stay here again. Price is good, nice breakfast.

Room Tip: May be high floors room are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biju_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimbledon London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed at hotel Giotto on a 4 night break with flights through a British airways deal. Although a bit out of town, it was quiet, the staff were friendly and the accommodation was very acceptable. We stayed in room 219 on 2nd floor overlooking the front entrance. Room was compact but was suitable for our needs. Breakfast was included which again was quite acceptable continental style. We used the restaurant on two occasions. A three course meal with a glass of wine and water included for 15 euros each. The portions were adequate and the choice reasonable.

A bus 49, only a few minutes walk away takes you to the Vatican or onto piazza Cavour. A bus 994 from the same stop take you to viale Aurelia metro stop, on line A. Easy access from there to' trevi fountain and spanish steps.

All in all a place we would consider to use again.

Room Tip: 219 was okay for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lbecci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Scheppers Hotel
#1,036 of 1,258 in Rome
258 reviews
Hotel Pineta Palace
#457 of 1,258 in Rome
1,007 reviews
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#956 of 1,258 in Rome
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#1,053 of 1,258 in Rome
284 reviews
Marc'Aurelio Hotel
#538 of 1,258 in Rome
387 reviews
Park Hotel Ginevra
#637 of 1,258 in Rome
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giotto

Property: Hotel Giotto
Address: Via Cardinal Passionei 35, 00167 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,097 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Giotto 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers modern comforts; situated in a very quiet residential area near a park; convenient to public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Giotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing