We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Memphis
Ranked #426 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel staff was vert helpful and their English was good
The breakfast was one of the best. There was cheese, yogurt, fruit, eggs, pastries, juice, meat, coffee,cereal, I was very full so I did not eat lunch.
My complaint is the wifi. The codes to get on were long and confusing. I had to sign in every time. I stayed in a single room number 301 and the wifi did work well in that room. The tv had movies but I could figure that out, but watching a movie was not too important.
The room was small but very quiet and comfortable. The hotel is clean and it has an elevator.

Room Tip: No fitness room. 301 the wifi does not work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seattle9294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

Placed in a narrow street between Trevi Fountain an Piazza Barberini (Via Veneto), this hotel does not offer amenities rather than a clean room. But this is the characteristics of all such kind of hotels in the city center of Rome, which have been re-arranged to accomodate hotel starting from existing old buildings. Anyway, Location is pretty favorable for walking around the city center and even bit far away , i.e. /San Peter or Fori İmperiali, being a trained walker. Breakfast is a bit poor but İ would recommend to have your İtalian breakfast in a bar, with cappuccino and cornetto! Wi-fi provider is quite slow and time consuming for connecting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaetano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed for a short business trip. The hotel is small but very well located for central Rome.
The Room was spotlessly clean with a desk and enough light to actually work plus bowl of fresh fruit. Contrary to the experience of some other reviewers I had no problems with the WiFi which is complimentary (get your password at check-in).

The staff were very helpful indeed. As a small hotel it does not have a restaurant, gym etc. but it is surrounded by restaurants and bars and 5 minutes walk from the Trevi fountain and Spanish Steps. It represents good value for central Rome.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very friendly hotel with helpful staff - especially Tiziana on reception - who know all the ways to get to the important tourists attractions. The location is great and convenient for bus and metro (just 1 minute to the buses and 5 minutes to the Metro at Barberini) and also only 5 minutes to Trevi fountain. The room we had on the 3rd. floor was comfortable with lots of drawers for clothes and a wardrobe for hanging coats etc. and also a safe. The hotel is very clean - bed linen changed every day and the bathroom is modern. Breakfast was adequate with choice of bread, cheeses, meats, croissants, fruit yoghurt, cereal and fresh fruit, and the staff in the breakfast room were very polite. Wifi access was tedious (lots of letters and numbers) and as we had 2 iphones and an ipad we needed 3 different access codes.
I will definitely recommend this hotel as it is good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZellJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

A good clean hotel with towels and bedding changed daily. Friendly and helpful staff. We stayed on the 4th floor and it was fine. Breakfast was good especially as a continental. Wifi connection is annoying but I did not use it a great deal. Great location with plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.

Thank Iain831
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Remarhotels, Direttore vendite at Hotel Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your review online.
we are so happy that you had a nice stay with us and that you have appreciated our hotel and services.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Rome and to Hotel Memphis.

Kindest regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Hotel is hard to find, but conveniently located. Five minute walk to the Trevi Fountain and Barberini Metro (for Forum, Colosseum, Spanish Steps and Vatican), 10 minutes to the Pantheon, 15 minutes to Piazza Navona, 20 minutes to Campo de Fiori.

Room was small by American standards, but very comfortable and air conditioned with an adjustable thermostat. The elevator made baggage transport easy.

Prior to our trip, we were told that most hotels in Europe offer a simple breakfast of rolls and coffee. We were pleasantly surprised by the breakfast buffet at Hotel Memphis that included scrambled eggs, ham, prosciutto, cheese, an assortment of bread, rolls and pastries, juices, coffee, cappucino, cereal, etc., etc., etc.

Across the street, and on the way to the Trevi Fountain, there were numerous restaurants to choose from.

We wholeheartedly recommend the hotel, and will stay there again, if we return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remarhotels, Direttore vendite at Hotel Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.
We really work hard to achieve the goal to make every guest's stay in Rome unforgettable, thank you also for your nice comments about our Breakfast service and our location.
We are definitely looking forward to welcome you to the Hotel Memphis in the future.

Kindest regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was a return visit to this hotel, staying for 3 nights. We had previously stayed here in June 2012. The hotel is so convenient to everything. Walking distance to Trevi, Spanish Steps, Colosseum, Piazza Navona and Vatican City. The breakfast was included in our stay and although not different each day, certainly of a good standard for Italy. Rooms are small, but we were not here to stay in our rooms so that did not matter. Very clean small boutique hotel and well worth a look at. Only frustration is slow wifi and having the enter your password in everytime I wanted to use my ipad to email family/friends at home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remarhotels, Direttore vendite at Hotel Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your second stay at our hotel and for sharing your review online.
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay in Rome and we consider really important your suggestions about the Wi-Fi connection because we are working to improve this service.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at Hotel Memphis.

Kindest regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#238 of 1,271 in Rome
1,174 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#156 of 1,271 in Rome
798 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Julia
Hotel Julia
#359 of 1,271 in Rome
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#87 of 1,271 in Rome
687 reviews
Trevi
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#333 of 1,271 in Rome
646 reviews
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#234 of 1,271 in Rome
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Memphis

Address: Via Degli Avignonesi 36, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#230 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#269 Family Hotel in Rome
#297 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £55 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Memphis 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing