We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and very helpful staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Columbia
Ranked #97 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location and very helpful staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Upon arrival, we were disappointed by the entrance and exterior of this hotel - it would certainly benefit from a facelift! Also, we were unhappy with the very small room we were initially allocated. However, we upgraded to a suite and were subsequently entirely satisfied with our accommodation.

Three things were especially impressive and noteworthy about the hotel. Firstly, the location was outstanding, especially for excellent restaurants, nearby, the Alessio, directly opposite, the Matriciana, less than a hundred yards away and the Antec Boheme, approximately 200 yards away. Access to all travel options was similarly convenient, located at the top of the road.

Secondly, the hotel was spotlessly clean, thanks to the efforts of Maria and other equally enthusiastic cleaners. Linen was changed regularly and nothing appeared to be too much trouble.

Thirdly, the staff were welcoming and pleasant, both in the breakfast room and at reception. We received endless and painstaking advice and recommendations from both Verena and Emanuela - our special thanks to both of you.

We had a memorable and very enjoyable week's stay in Rome

Room Tip: Road noise can be a problem for the rooms at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    258
    57
    14
    5
See reviews for
155
404
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was our third visit to the Columbia over 15 years and it has benefited in a recent refurbishment. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds, good sized wardrobes with plenty of clothes hangers, free built in safe and hair dryer. Note as is usual in Italy there is no tea or coffee making facilities. The only complaint with the room was the shower is over the bath which had a curved bottom making it difficult to stand in, certainly a problem if you are not steady on your feet.

I would recommend asking for a room at the rear of the hotel. Even with shutters and double glazing there is traffic noise on the front. However the rooms at the rear are very quiet.

There is no restaurant at the hotel, only a breakfast room on the top floor. However there is a roof terrace where you can sit outside and eat breakfast on a sunny day.

The hotel is very handy for visiting Rome being an easy walk from the Termini station and airport bus stops. The Coliseum, Forum, Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps are all within easy walking distance. For a visit to the Vatican or St Peters you can catch a bus from outside the Termini station. I can also recommend the Roman Museum just over the road from the hotel, this has very impressive roman mosaics.

There are very good restaurants nearby, all serving good quality fresh cooked pasta and pizza dishes for around 8 to 10 Euros per person. House wine is around 4 Euros for a 1/4 litre carafe but be aware expect to pay between 4 and 5 Euros for a can of Coca Cola, far cheaper to have a bottle of water.

Room Tip: To avoid traffic noise ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PR-Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Convenient for the Termini train station which made it very easy to get around the city. Family run hotel, which was clean with a good bufet breakfast which can be taken on the terrace. We had requested a triple room as our 21yr old daughter was holidaying with us, the room would have been great as a double but was a little cramped for three, the extra bed for our daughter was not a proper bed and would have been ok for a small child. Would recommend this hotel and stay again if we returned to Rome.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berylalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

An extremely clean hotel, efficiently run. Room was good for us and was surprisingly quiet at night. Linen was changed everyday and staff were friendly and helpful at all times. A perfect situation for trips to the major sites with easy access to Metro and Bus at Termini, a five minute walk away. Local ristorante were excellent but it pays to keep a look out for inexpensive eating during the daily excursions. Would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel surprisingly quiet, very little street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ward_mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Hotel Columbia was convenient to the Termini train station in Rome, an easy walk around the corner. We did not know that and made the mistake of getting a taxi! The desk clerk was rudely reprimanded us when we would not allow him keep our passports in full view in a stack of others on the counter. It would have been easy for anyone to lift them and we said so. He would not make a copy and return them to us, but he reluctantly accepted the copies we'd brought along. The room was very nice and large but hot. The AC did not work and it was too noisy to open the windows. Be aware that, although they have a very nice terrace, it does not have a view and you are not allowed to bring your own wine to the rooftop for a sunset cocktail.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dsgates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel is convenient to the Termini Train Station, the Metro Lines, the hop on Hop Off buses and good restaurants close by. The staff was very friendly, spoke English and very helpful with recommendations and city tours and travel. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms modern. Breakfast was plentiful and held on the 5th floor and when weather permits, there is a veranda to sit out on. We were there for 4 nights and found it inviting as well as convenient. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NEWelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
171 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

It's usually hard to find a good value near a train station, but this place is one. It doesn't look very good from the front as there is a vacant restaurant next to it and the facade is a bit grim, but inside it's quite nice. The people were very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast room is attractive with a good breakfast. Our room was smallish but very efficiently laid out -- with a large closet with lots of hangers. The bathroom was fine and everything was immaculately clean. The WiFi was easy to use and there was a PC with a printer so we could easily print our boarding passes (many hotels don't pass this test).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isambard40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#124 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#63 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#129 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#94 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Property: Hotel Columbia
Address: Via del Viminale 15, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#105 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Rome
Hotel Columbia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing