We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Columbia
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$342
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$385
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$385
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$954
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$468
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (881)
Filter reviews
881 results
Traveller rating
500
293
67
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
293
67
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracetermini stationbreakfast roomtop floortour busespastrieswonderful hotelthe hotel stafffront desk staffwithin walking distancesuperior roomcentral locationhard boiled eggsfriendly hotelthe air conditioningtrip to romemain sights
Filter
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 881 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel! I do not have a single bad thing to say about it, so let me list its strengths:

- The staff. They were so nice and helpful. They gave us an upgrade to a better room when we checked in, and they were eager to help in any way they could - directions, advice, restaurant suggestions, etc.. They were superb!

- The room. It was very large, comfortable, beautiful, and clean. We had a private terrace, too. I slept like a baby here and did not hear any noise from the streets or the rest of the hotel. The rooms have a very classic look to them. In fact, this whole hotel does. It reminds you of something from the 1920s, but it has all of the comforts and conveniences we expect today.

- Breakfast. I don't know if it is always included in the cost of the stay, but it was for us, and it was great! It is a continental breakfast, so you won't get any cooked items, but you will get lots of pastries, breads, cakes, jams, some fruit, juices, hard boiled eggs, cheeses, and lunch meats. I am a vegan, and I even did alright here. Vegetarians and carnivores would be in their glory.

- Location. We were able to walk to everything you'd want to see from here. I should add that we are young and like to walk a lot, so older travelers or travelers who don't like to walk as much might need to use public transportation, but we found we could get to everything on foot just fine. One thing anyone can walk to from this place is the Termini train station. It is VERY close to the hotel, and this was great because we could catch the train to and from the airport without needing the additional cost of a cab to/from the hotel.

I really think this place is an exception hotel - particularly for how inexpensive it is! I would wholeheartedly recommend it!

Room Tip: I don't know that there are any bad rooms here.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phillygirlagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is a wonderful little find in Rome. It is walking distance to the Termini but just far enough away on a quiet (for Rome) side street near the Opera House. My wife and I usually stay at the Hotel Barocco while in Rome but wanted to try something a little different this trip and we were not disappointed. The staff was excellent and very helpful. The room was a good size but certainly not as large as when we stay at The Barocco. Since we know Rome fairly well getting around was even easier from this location and we discovered some different neighborhoods to approach The Coliseum that we had not seen before. We both like to walk a lot so again the location worked for us. If you are not big walkers the location may be a bit out of the way for you (The Spanish Steps were about a 15 minute walk) but the Termini is a short walk away. The nice thing about staying in new locations is it affords you the opportunity to discover new sites, side streets and certainly new places to dine. The price was very reasonable for the quality and service offered. We stayed here in November of 2012 not 2013. The option on TA for When did you travel does go beyond the current year.

Room Tip: While in Rome we always try to pick an upper floor in any Hotel. Keeps the street sounds to a minimum.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank borninthebronx54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here three nights in early November, it's a fantastic hotel. It was absolutely spotless, the room was excellent, we'll decorated with a good bathroom. The staff were all very efficient and friendly. The hotel is centrally located in this relatively compact, beautiful city - all the historical attractions were within a mile or so.
Disappointments? The WiFi was not free and was very expensive, it was cheaper to keep 'Roaming' on and use 3G (£1.99 per day on O2)

Excellent short break.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank YorkshireIMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Upon arrival, we were disappointed by the entrance and exterior of this hotel - it would certainly benefit from a facelift! Also, we were unhappy with the very small room we were initially allocated. However, we upgraded to a suite and were subsequently entirely satisfied with our accommodation.

Three things were especially impressive and noteworthy about the hotel. Firstly, the location was outstanding, especially for excellent restaurants, nearby, the Alessio, directly opposite, the Matriciana, less than a hundred yards away and the Antec Boheme, approximately 200 yards away. Access to all travel options was similarly convenient, located at the top of the road.

Secondly, the hotel was spotlessly clean, thanks to the efforts of Maria and other equally enthusiastic cleaners. Linen was changed regularly and nothing appeared to be too much trouble.

Thirdly, the staff were welcoming and pleasant, both in the breakfast room and at reception. We received endless and painstaking advice and recommendations from both Verena and Emanuela - our special thanks to both of you.

We had a memorable and very enjoyable week's stay in Rome

Room Tip: Road noise can be a problem for the rooms at the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was our third visit to the Columbia over 15 years and it has benefited in a recent refurbishment. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds, good sized wardrobes with plenty of clothes hangers, free built in safe and hair dryer. Note as is usual in Italy there is no tea or coffee making facilities. The only complaint with the room was the shower is over the bath which had a curved bottom making it difficult to stand in, certainly a problem if you are not steady on your feet.

I would recommend asking for a room at the rear of the hotel. Even with shutters and double glazing there is traffic noise on the front. However the rooms at the rear are very quiet.

There is no restaurant at the hotel, only a breakfast room on the top floor. However there is a roof terrace where you can sit outside and eat breakfast on a sunny day.

The hotel is very handy for visiting Rome being an easy walk from the Termini station and airport bus stops. The Coliseum, Forum, Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps are all within easy walking distance. For a visit to the Vatican or St Peters you can catch a bus from outside the Termini station. I can also recommend the Roman Museum just over the road from the hotel, this has very impressive roman mosaics.

There are very good restaurants nearby, all serving good quality fresh cooked pasta and pizza dishes for around 8 to 10 Euros per person. House wine is around 4 Euros for a 1/4 litre carafe but be aware expect to pay between 4 and 5 Euros for a can of Coca Cola, far cheaper to have a bottle of water.

Room Tip: To avoid traffic noise ask for a room at the back.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews