We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Highly Recommend Hotel Columbia"”
Review of Hotel Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Columbia
Ranked #97 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was our first trip to Rome and we had a wonderful time made all the more special by the very friendly staff at the lovely Hotel Columbia. Our room was very clean and fresh and well attended each day, all the hotel staff were delightful and so helpful. We enjoyed a good choice of breakfast out on the rooftop terrace each morning and usually ended the evening there with a drink before retiring to our very comfortable bed (a must after walking around the beautiful city!). Convieniently placed for railway station and seeing the sites, We would definately return to this hotel and will reccomend it to our friends. A very big thank you to all the staff at Hotel Columbia!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 285 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have just returned from a 5 night stay in this hotel. From the ouside it doesnt look much but as soon as you enter you are greeted by very friendly staff. They have an endless supply of suggestions for restaurants for all types of food. We were there to celebrate my wifes 50th birthday, we had had a great day,lots of walking, it made it better when a complementary bottle of fizzy stuff was delivered to the room with a card from the management and staff. Such a lovely gesture. Of an evening, we finished with a couple of drinks on the 5th floor. I was dreading the bill on checkout but was pleasantly surprised, very cheap...for rome. I would recomend this hotel to anyone. A big thankyou to all the staff for making our stay so memorable.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

A great little hotel right in the centre of Rome & in a great area close to some lovely little restaurants. The staff were incredibly polite and gracious and really couldn't do enough for you. They were always friendly and polite. Even the cleaners greeted you every morning. There was some great choice of breakfast foods & a lovely setting in which to enjoy it. The room was comfortable although basic it provided everything we needed. My only complaint was an ominous smell coming from the toilet!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natalie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We love this hotel. It was our 1st trip to Rome & weren't sure where to stay, what a brilliant choice. The moment we arrived, the welcome was very friendly & we were given a map of the city. Every aspect of the Columbia is spotless and rooms very warm & cosy, you even get to choose your own pillow type. Room had mini bar/fridge. The continental breakfast was really nice, great selection and a really nice rooftop garden. Hotel is in good location for all the local sights and there are plenty of nice restaurants within 1 - 2 mins walk, drinks available until 11PM on the top floor. Highly Recommend this hotel, can't wait to return.

Room Tip: If you want a high floor, there are 4 floors, the lift is really quick/efficient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pemby54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Lovely hotel with fantastic staff. The location is fantastic, walking distance of Termini and Repubblica metro station. However, the location also places it within walking distance of most of the major attractions.

The staff were so helpful and quick to offer assistance in any way they could. The safe in our room had a low battery and they changed it straight away so we could go explore Rome. Checkout is at 10 and on the last day they were happy for us to leave our bags in the lobby where someone is there 24 hours. They also told us that if we got tired in the middle of the day we could sit upstairs where there is a bathroom and we were offered hot drinks.

The room was a decent size, with a large TV, clean bathroom, comfortable bed, with air conditioning (being February, we didn't use) and heating (which we did). There is also a minibar and hair dryer. Fresh towels and linen were provided everyday. There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room but that's true for most of the European hotels I've stayed in. With the window open it could be quite noisy, but we had no problems at night sleeping with the window closed.

Breakfast was really good, yogurt, toast, cured meat, cheese, cereals, croissants, mini pastries, cake and lemon tart with the largest selection of jam and spreads I've ever seen at a hotel. They also offer you tea or coffee with your breakfast and have juice available. The roof terrace was a lovely place to eat breakfast even if it was a bit chilly!

We will definitely return here on our next trip to Rome. I honestly can't say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 20adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

If you want to find a small, quiet, unfussy, reasonably priced hotel right in the centre of Rome then you need look no further that the Hotel Columbia. Set almost next door to the Rome Opera House in an quiet back Street it places you within walking distance of all the main attractions of the city centre - and within easy reach of the bus station, the metro and the mainline station, not to mention the shopping centres. The staff are wonderful and ready to help with suggestions for restaurants and advice on everything else you might want to know. Unusually the owner appears from time to time and is interested in all her guests and very ready to stop and talk will ask you for suggestions to improve her hotel services.. We will be going back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cornishtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel! I do not have a single bad thing to say about it, so let me list its strengths:

- The staff. They were so nice and helpful. They gave us an upgrade to a better room when we checked in, and they were eager to help in any way they could - directions, advice, restaurant suggestions, etc.. They were superb!

- The room. It was very large, comfortable, beautiful, and clean. We had a private terrace, too. I slept like a baby here and did not hear any noise from the streets or the rest of the hotel. The rooms have a very classic look to them. In fact, this whole hotel does. It reminds you of something from the 1920s, but it has all of the comforts and conveniences we expect today.

- Breakfast. I don't know if it is always included in the cost of the stay, but it was for us, and it was great! It is a continental breakfast, so you won't get any cooked items, but you will get lots of pastries, breads, cakes, jams, some fruit, juices, hard boiled eggs, cheeses, and lunch meats. I am a vegan, and I even did alright here. Vegetarians and carnivores would be in their glory.

- Location. We were able to walk to everything you'd want to see from here. I should add that we are young and like to walk a lot, so older travelers or travelers who don't like to walk as much might need to use public transportation, but we found we could get to everything on foot just fine. One thing anyone can walk to from this place is the Termini train station. It is VERY close to the hotel, and this was great because we could catch the train to and from the airport without needing the additional cost of a cab to/from the hotel.

I really think this place is an exception hotel - particularly for how inexpensive it is! I would wholeheartedly recommend it!

Room Tip: I don't know that there are any bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phillygirlagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,272 in Rome
1,350 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#66 of 1,272 in Rome
744 reviews
Esquilino
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
Smooth Hotel Rome Termini
#48 of 1,272 in Rome
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#88 of 1,272 in Rome
973 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#112 of 1,272 in Rome
1,517 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Address: Via del Viminale 15, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £72 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Rome
Hotel Columbia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing