We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service at Hotel Columbia”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Columbia
Ranked #97 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Great Service at Hotel Columbia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband, 12 year old daughter, and I stayed at the Hotel Columbia for 4 nights Monday June 9 – Thursday June 12, 2014. Hotel Columbia was one of the hotels recommended by our travel agent. To get the best rate, we prepaid 692 Euros for the 4 nights.

From FCO airport, we took a white taxi and paid the 48 Euro fixed rate to Rome, to our hotel. Don't let a so called “supervisor” tell you that a taxi will cost 70 Euros and that you should take a bus or shuttle. They will lie to you to get your money.

After a 40 minute drive, we arrive Hotel Columbia, which is close to the Opera House, and not too far from Termini Station. We were greeted by Verena, who so warm and welcoming. She tells us that we booked a standard room, but we were upgraded to a superior room on the 2nd floor, room 204. She gives us a map to give us some familiarity of the city.

Our room is small, but fine. There are two twin beds put together, and another twin bed for our daughter. The bathroom is nice and clean. There's a laundry line in the shower. Toiletries provided are: 3 sets of soap, 3 shampoos, 3 sets of toothbrushes & toothpastes, 3 shower caps, 3 nail files, and a sewing kit.

There is a television, and a small refrigerator, a couple of shelves, two end tables on either side of the beds, and a desk with a chair. In the closet, there's many wooden hangers, a mini ironing board, a show valet, several drawers, and a safe for you to program a personal code. They offer laundry services at mainly 6 euros per item of clothing.

The hotel provides free breakfast on its 5the floor rooftop terrace Monday – Friday 7 – 10am. There's different hours on the weekend. We met Jean, who will prepare and bring you your drinks. We had cappuccino every morning!. The breakfast has a nice spread of breads, croissants, butter, cheese, meats, jelly preserves, hard boiled egg, Greek yogurt, fruit cocktail, figs, cereals, oats, granola. Drinks are grapefruit juice, orange juice, milk, and water.

Also, there's free wifi that Verena gave each of us three separate codes. The wifi was pretty good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennShio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    258
    57
    14
    5
See reviews for
155
404
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was my third visit to the Hotel Columbia and it was a great experience once again. The front desk staff is extremely helpful, especially Anke (sp?). Breakfast is very good and simple. Aurora is so sweet and she makes great cappuccinos. The roof terrace is terrific, especially with a bottle of Prosecco to help end the day.

You can't beat the location. Just a few blocks from Termini and surrounded by a lot of shopping, restaurants, and conveniences like ATMs and grocery stores.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a shower only. The ones with the bath tubs are difficult to take a shower in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LpatCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I spent the night here at the end of a two-week trip to Italy. We wanted to stay in Rome one more day and be handy to the train station to get to the airport. This was an excellent choice for the money. The staff was very helpful, our room was clean and quiet, and it is a very short walk to the Termini. We had to leave before breakfast was served, so they prepared us a sack breakfast - a very nice gesture.

This is in a good location for sight seeing, and being so close to the Termini it would be simple to catch a bus or take the metro to someplace a little out of the way.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our travel agent booked this hotel and it ended up being great for our 4 night stay in Rome. We were upgraded to a Superior Room upon arrival because our room wasn't ready yet (we were there a few hours before our check-in time so we hadn't expected it to be ready yet anyhow). Our room was very nice with a window that looked down into the street. Close to many restaurants and the Termine. The room was quiet and dark when we closed the window - great for sleeping! We walked to all the major sites from our hotel (15-25 minutes from most places). Nice breakfast was included. Staff was very friendly and eager to offer directions and recommendations!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We spent two nights here in late May. Our room was a normal room for two with a little patio.
Overall our stay was perfect, but the elevator was not working, and the breakfast is served on fifth floor. And it was quite easy to hear noises from neighboring rooms. Luckily our neighbors were quite silent. :)
The staff was very friendly. The lady at the reception marked all locations that we found important on a tourist map.
The room was roomy enough, not huge, but didn't feel tiny either. Everything seemed to be clean and working properly. The closet for clothes/luggage in the room was quite big, which was nice.
The breakfast was served on fifth floor terrace, which looked lovely with all the flowers blooming.
The location of the hotel was one of the most important things for us. It takes only few minutes to walk to Termini station, so we took the train to and from the airport and the subway to see all the sights. There are lots of things to do around the hotel too. Very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ainou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is near the central termini railway station. Many bus companies from the airport stop there, for 4- 6 Euro one way. The hotel is then a short walk away and also a 15 minute walk to the main sights. The hop on hop off bus stop is also nearby and some churches and Bellini statues a few minutes away. The staff are helpful at any time of the day and there are some fun eating places nearby. The rooms are an average size with good quality linen and towels and choice of pillows. They are spotlessly clean! The breakfasts are good and can be eaten on an outdoor terrace, weather permitting. This hotel is good value for its location in a capital city.

Room Tip: Rooms high up are away from any road noise althougfh the road is not a busy one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stebel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

A truly excellent experience! In my very short stay of less than 24 hrs (just an overnight stay to catch a flight) I had outstanding personalized customer service by every one of the four hotel representatives I came in contact with. (Not to mention the lovely personalized welcoming emails received before and after my stay) Each shift of the front desk representatives and maid were not only friendly and helpful but more than willing (and capable) to accommodate my every need. My greatest impression was that my wifi connection continued to faultier and the desk clerk helped to ensure after numerous attempts himself that I received a good connection. Further more my pickup from the hotel was early (well before breakfast) and so I asked if I might have room service... Instead I was offered a prepared take away breakfast which was held for me at the front desk as I rushed out early in the morning! On all levels, service nearer to the quality of a 5 star.
Bravo! Grazie mille!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#124 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#63 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#129 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#94 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Property: Hotel Columbia
Address: Via del Viminale 15, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#105 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Rome
Hotel Columbia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing