We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Hotel Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Columbia
Ranked #100 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
derby
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

hotel is close to train station. open top bus stop is only a few minutes away which was really great. staff are very helpful and the roof top terrace is lovely for breakfast. breakfast has plenty of choice and good coffee. bar prices are very reasonable also. room is very clean and toiletries also supplied. hotel is in a good location and not too far from the sights. I would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drew206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    266
    58
    14
    5
See reviews for
160
416
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

What we enjoyed most about this comfortable hotel was the quiet, cool room and the friendly staff who researched bus routes, recommended restaurants and were charming. Lovely roof garden for breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TjarkoGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just a small entrance from the street and a small number of rooms. we found the staff very friendly, the room was clean, finely decorated, and a nice romantic getaway for our anniversary. The included breakfast on the rooftop terrace was excellent with a great variety of food and a wonderful atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We chose this hotel based on good reviews here and the location. Arriving to Termini from Fiumicino airport, the hotel is just a couple of blocks away so no need for a taxi. If you have healthy feet, it's also a walking distance (10-15 min) to Colosseo, the historical city centre and Spanish steps. The staff in the reception as well as the breakfast and cleaning staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok, excellent coffee. Our room was in the fourth floor in the corner of the building, one wall (but not the window) facing the street. Noise was not a problem. The rooms are air-conditioned. We were headed to Toscana and rented a car from Termini at the end of our stay. If I were only going to stay in Rome for a few days and maybe with a little less luggage I would probably choose another hotel in an even more central location considering the big sights, but in this situation this hotel was perfect as walking without luggage isn't a problem for us, and the hotel was a little less expensive than those more centrally located.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riikka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited the Columbia Hotel in a recent visit to Italy. It was the second visit to the hotel after our first visit in 2011 when we got engaged in Rome. Like the legend of the trevi fountain and the throwing of the coin we returned to the eternal city. The city means so much to both of us and we just had to return to the Columbia.
The helpful lady on the reception whilst checking us in recognised us and asked if we had visited the hotel before.
The rooms have everything you need and the bar area upstairs offers a welcome place to rest after a day of walking in the glorious weather.
The hotel staff do everything in there power to help and will happily offer suggestions for places to visit and eat.
The very lovely Italian lady who worked upstairs in the bar even attempted to learn us some basic Italian
Cannot find fault with this hotel and would not stay anywhere else when we visit Rome again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just come back from a 3 night stay at Hotel Columbia.
Excellent location, fantastic reception staff from the minute we arrived at the hotel. Room small but adequate. Really traditional with the extras you need etc hair dryer safe fridge and toiletries. The bedding and comfy beds are what you need after a long day sight seeing.
Breakfast excellent best we have had on a city break. Roof top terrace for breakfast and the odd bottle of prosecco a nice place to start and end the day.

After reading some reviews I think they must have been at another hotel and they got the wrong hotel name as we could not fault anything.

We will return without a doubt. Thank you for a very nice enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Don't look at negative reviews nothing negative about this gem of a hotel and staff. First clas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canz61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Last week I stayed at the Hotel Columbia for two nights with my family. It was the final two nights of our two-week holiday in Italy and the hotel was the prefect way to end our vacation. The hotel has a great location and the rooms were great but what really made the stay wonderful was the helpful staff at the reception desk. Not only did we have a warm friendly reception, we were allowed to check in early. In fact we had interactions with three different people at the desk and each was incredibly helpful. It was our first trip to Rome and they helped with everything from recommending local restaurants, to giving us tips on how to see local sights (like the Forum and Colosseum), to booking us a cab to airport. They were fantastic.

If you're staying in Rome for a couple of nights, I recommend the Hotel Columbia!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marriedin03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#117 of 1,257 in Rome
1,282 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#59 of 1,257 in Rome
708 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#89 of 1,257 in Rome
900 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#215 of 1,257 in Rome
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Property: Hotel Columbia
Address: Via del Viminale 15, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#105 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Hotel Rome
Hotel Columbia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing