We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but there are better B&Bs”
Review of Hotel Miami

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Miami
Ranked #213 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location, but there are better B&Bs”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The reviews on here looked promising, but our experience was quite different. The room was clean, but the bathroom was so cramped that you couldn't sit on the toilet straight as it faced the bath, so we found for 3 nights we were sitting sideways on the toilet! Food really wasn't great, not much choice for breakfast, but there were surrounding hotels, which looked far more welcoming! The staff were welcoming and you can't beat the location, but given the romance of the city, you wouldn't expect to have two single beds pushed together and the general dry atmosphere. There are better places to stay within Central Rome, but it was definitely an experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parbeen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    466
    157
    26
    13
See reviews for
181
397
46
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Treforest, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The best thing about this hotel is it is right in the middle of the city. The location makes up for not having a restaurant in the hotel (although theres one quite close by). Comfortable clean rooms, clean bathroom and very helpful staff. Although located next to the main Via Nazionale street, it is surprisingly quiet. Coming back after a long long day in the city, the hotel was a nice place to recover for the next day! Definite recommendation!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KapilTrivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Pros:
Good location-10 minute walk from Termini train station (easy to do even with rolling luggage), but far enough away where the neighborhood was good. In fact, lots of boutique style shops nearby. Very close to metro, though only useful for trips to the Colliseum/Forum and Vatican.

Price: very reasonable pricing. I booked about a month in advance and paid less than €100/nt.

Hotel staff: very friendly and helpful with all questions. Every staff member that we encountered spoke English.

Room decor- tastefully decorated and spacious for 3 star standards.

Cons:

Bedding: the beds are pretty hard, though we slept okay since we were so tired after walking around all day.

Bathroom- the bathroom, especially the shower, is very small. Adequate for two people.

Neutral/Miscellaneous:
-They will store your bags for free in the reception, if you sightsee after or before check-in/check-out.
-We had a room on the back side, which was nice and quiet, despite the hotel being on a busy street.
-Breakfast was good, consisting of various croissants, rolls, cereal, yogurt, meat, cheese, coffee, juice, etc (7-9:30am), but make sure you get there early before choices are limited.
-you must pay a €2 per night per person tax IN CASH, so make sure you have the cash before checking out.

Note that scaffolding currently covers the facade of the building, but once you know where it is, it's very easy to find. We found it by address in our taxi.

Last note, under no circumstances pay more than €48 for a taxi from FCO. There are many drivers who will try to sell the trip for more money. Also, ONLY USE THE WHITE TAXIS WITH THE METERS.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Firstly difficult to find due to the scaffold around the building covering the sign! The hotel was close to the metro although only really of any use to travel to the Vatican. Other areas are all within walking distance of the hotel, sometimes a longish walk. The room was adequate although to be fair clean, we looked out over the rear of the building which was better than the front which according to our friends was very noisy due to the very busy road and the cobbles didn't help! Breakfast was basic; no coffee/tea making facilities in the room. No reception area or lounge to relax in which was particularly disappointing.

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greyhairedyoungman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Givat haim ichud, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel following recommandations from friends and were not disappointed.
We took an economy room but yet the room was very nice with a lot of old fashion furniture, paintings and it was very clean.
The breakfast was very indulging, and the location of the hotel is great and minute walk from most of the famous old attractions.
It is also 10 minutes walk from the Termini central station.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank r4ml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I took my son to Rome for his 13th birthday last month, we stayed at the hotel Miami and it was perfect, being in Rome for the 1st time the hotel booked all our tours and we were picked up at the hotel. I am so glad we done the tours with greenline tours they were excellent and me n my son leant so much more about Rome, we had four perfect nights in this hotel, the breakfast was lovely rooms spotless and very central to all the site seeing, I will be back to Rome and will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 37Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

we stayed at the Miami in Rome 4 years ago and although on a busy and noisy street, Via Nazionale, found it to be very central, very close to the railway station and bus stop from Ciampino aeroport, really good and the room lovely. and only 10 minutes walk from many key sites.
we returned last week and it was just as good. The manager Mario - speaks perfect English and very helpful - was still there. nice surprise. room lovely, clean, hot at night!, lovely décor, breakfast room a touch small but the food fantastic. the central lobby floor is polished daily by the building janitor. you can see your face in it. bellissima.
would we stay there again? yes instantly. love it. great value for money. and Rome is pretty good too!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#221 of 1,256 in Rome
529 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#215 of 1,256 in Rome
1,192 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#59 of 1,256 in Rome
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Dorica
Hotel Dorica
#343 of 1,256 in Rome
816 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#185 of 1,256 in Rome
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miami

Property: Hotel Miami
Address: Via Nazionale 230, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#239 Family Hotel in Rome
#256 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Miami 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Miami Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing