We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service, room and breakfast” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Anglo Americano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Anglo Americano
Ranked #663 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
BS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible service, room and breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

The location of this hotel is very good; in the center and quiet.
However, it is bad in any other possible aspect:
- The bathroom is small, no bath (in an ordinary room), no place to shelve stuff, the water at the shower always overflows.
- The breakfast room is too smal; no matter when you come in, it is crouded and noisy; no service at all, tables are not clean; the variety and quality of food is limited, not clean, coffie is not served to the tables so you have to go and wait at the coffie machine.
- In the rooms there is no single piece of paper, pen, brochure, phone directory - absolutely nothing!
In summary, it is absolutely not what you expect to get in a 4-star hotel - even not in a 3-star hotel...

Room Tip: not in this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BsPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    293
    215
    93
    81
See reviews for
267
305
38
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
global
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

I was in Rome for a friends wedding, booked this hotel at the last minute but was really pleased with the hotel. The room was really clean and tastefully decorated, not huge but typical size for Rome. Staff were good too, they kindly pressed my posh frock for no charge.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGypo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Stayed for four nights in July. Nice clean hotel with decent rooms. The best part of the hotel is the location. You can walk to many of the major attractions in Rome. We are a family of four and our room was big enough to move around in. Bathroom was not huge but spacious enough. The service was good. We would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Anywhere down town Rome is busy busy busy. Either way, this hotel has an ok continental breakfast (Complimentary), the rooms are decent, and the tv has a couple of English channels.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Totallynorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisoco
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Family of four (10, 8), last minute trip to Italy. We had a great time. Summer time, things were crowded, all the venues have some "VIP" option to skip the lines, well worth the price.

Great location. 5 minutes to Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. One minute to all bus stops.
Lots of restaurants at all price points within a few blocks.

Room was surprisingly spacious with comfortable beds.
Shower little odd, open construction, would flood the BR after 2 minutes, we think it was handicap access.
Huge Breakfast, again pleasant surprise. Scrambled eggs, cappuccino, etc.
Wifi only works in lobby. Grocery store 2 blocks away, great to stock up on "cheap" snacks in the mini fridge.

We were little disappointed in staff. Basically just grumpy. Even by European standards. you can look at our review of Hotel Giglio in Florence and Hotel Scandinavia in Venice for comparison. We observed their interaction with other guests as well while using wifi in lobby. "Allen" was the only one who was friendly. Do not expect a concierge type service, they all spoke English and had appropriate brochures and maps.

We like the location, room, and breakfast enough would probably consider staying again.

Separate issue. We were disappointed by VAS tours, recommended by the hotel. We were stuck due to a Italian holiday and limited train schedule. We expected a "herding" type of tours, but three simultaneous languages, we waited for each language in sequence. For three hours at Pompei we wasted at least 31/2 hours waiting for the tour operator. Would not use again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junaid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

A solid "good" rating on my Italian hotel scale. Small, clean and nice decor. Reception desk usually busy, business like, don't like to get friendly, so expect short answers to questions and don't get too conversational or you will experience some rudeness, which is typical interaction in many Italian big city, high tourist traffic hotels and restaurants.. Excellent breakfast. Good location, very walkable to Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

This hotel is in great location, steps from Pza. Barbarini, tons of busses and metro. Hotel was recently renovated and at first seems great, but in fact the room renovations are of poor quality. Think all Ikea furniture. Of 8 lights in our room, 4 were broken. We were 4 people (adults + 2 tweens) and there was enough space for us and our massive luggage. Bathroom is quite nice, but to sit on commode, your knees touch the sink. Beds are comfy.
Room faced the main street - street noise didn't bother us, but slamming doors in the middle of the night were quite loud.
Full and spacious shower and bathtub - we were on 2nd floor and water pressure was excellent. B'fast was nothing great, but free is always good --- croissants, pressed ham and cheese, capuccino, vat of scrambled eggs, yogurt. No fruit :(.
People were great, helpful, funny. Although we liked it, it is not a 4star hotel, as claimed. Be careful of the number of starts -- the mandatory Rome City tax (always paid in CASH) is lower for 1-3 stars, and higher for 4-star.
As for clean factor -- bathroom glass had lipstick and bathroom floor had long hair on it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KNAP3133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#234 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Trevi
Barberini Hotel
Barberini Hotel
#292 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Trevi Collection
Hotel Trevi Collection
#490 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Memphis
Hotel Memphis
#406 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Trevi
Nuovo Hotel Quattro Fontane
Colonna
Leonardi Sistina Hotel
Leonardi Sistina Hotel
#685 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anglo Americano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anglo Americano

Property: Hotel Anglo Americano
Address: Via delle Quattro Fontane 12, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#303 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Anglo Americano 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 6-story Hotel located in main shopping area, overlooking Barberini Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Anglo Americano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anglo Americano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing