We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but average hotel, for price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Anglo Americano
Ranked #685 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Devon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location but average hotel, for price”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

When we arrived we found the bed cover was dirty and the sheet had blood on it. This was not replaced, when they were asked to, and we ended up making our own bed.

This kind of set the scene for the rest of our 2 weeks stay.
The rooms are lovely, HOWVER
The floor was only swept/mopped once, in 14 days!
The sheets had holes in them and the towels were frayed.
Toilet roll also seemed scarce, as we did not get it replenished very often!
The bed was hard (like a board) You slept on it, not in it.

Breakfast was not really worth look forward to, depending on what greedy people were staying, as replenishment was lacking
Breakfast was also what could only be described as a daily scrum - made worse with a poorly laid out serving area, plastic cutlery and no where to sit. One morning we went back to our room witha coffee and youghurt!

Great location; you can walk everywhere.
But not up to a 4 star experience, having stayed in hotels around the world. Or maybe Rome just has lower standards?


All staff were friendly and helpful, EXCEPT the older gentleman, we all are talking about.
I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    302
    223
    98
    85
See reviews for
273
317
38
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We had a fantastic 3 days in Rome and thorough enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Our room was spacious with nice decorative finishes and cleaned every day with fresh towels and anew supply of toiletries. Have read the other reviews on the staff and we strongly disagree - we had our bags carried to our room and the gentlemen on reception were very helpful and friendly. The only problem we came across was the small breakfast room, which did get crowded about 9am - so the next morning we waited until 9.30 and is was fine. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Rome and to be central to all the sights. Don and Christine Proctor

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

It is not fair that the bad reviews are still publish because the hotel was redecorated and now it's practically new.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Just back from a short stay. Hotel was clean and tidy, breakfast was abundant and you were not spoilt for choice. With the exception of one male receptionist, staff were extremely helpful. When he was asked to print off boarding passes he told me the hotel was too busy and it would have to wait until the next day (I was leaving at 8.00am next day!!). When I insisted he said that I could come back in the afternoon when the reception desk was a bit quieter. Also, I was charged a ’City of Rome’ tax of €18 which my travel agent did not inform me off. When I queried this with Mr Personality he handed me an A4 printed sheet to read in Italian! I paid by credit card and will be investigating this when I get back to Ireland.
Hotel is centrally located and is convenient to all the major attractions of Rome. Rome itself is beautiful, plenty to see and do (including an unplanned live adult attraction whilst walking through the park at 11.00am in the morning!)
A lot of street sellers around, just put up your hand and walk on, it’s the best way. Be mindful of service charges in the restaurants, you get no warning and it just appears on the bill.
Rome is a must for all to see

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

If you're looking for a hotel close to all of the tourist spots this is the one for you. It's clean and has all of the facilities you would need. We were sent to this hotel after ours had to close some rooms due to a severe storm, we stayed for one night. Be aware they tried to keep our passports, we insisted they photocopied them instead (we were later told that this was possibly not even legal in Italy), we were conceded about the large number of passports which were just lying about behind the desk, not even in a safe, anyone could have walked in and stolen them!
The hotel is fine but not very Roman, it's a very bland, could be anywhere type of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yesmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Room and bathroom were renovated, but rather small. Bed was hard.
Breakfast - nothing exceptional, but ok to start the day with.
Smiling guys at the reception. Friendly services.
Excellent location - historical city center within walking distance and close to metro/bus stops.
I had a double room for single use with a view to the yard of Barberini palace.
Taking into consideration prices in Rome, I would say this hotel strike a good balance in price/quality ratio.
Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrrrro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at this place recently and here are our opinions.
Rooms - too small , am surprised at how many can be fitted in a floor
But the rooms had new decor with marble flooring, excellent bathroom and flat screen tv. Bed was a bit small for my height (6.2)
Staff - Very friendly and hard working especially during mad rush @ b/fast
Location - Walking distance to Barbarini station , trevi fountain..

Beware , this hotel seem to be favorite among the tour groups hence it gets crowded and its a fight @ b/fast table.

Overall, its good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank send2ram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#220 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Trevi Collection
Hotel Trevi Collection
#433 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Trevi
Barberini Hotel
Barberini Hotel
#322 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Nuovo Hotel Quattro Fontane
Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
#575 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Colonna
Leonardi Sistina Hotel
Leonardi Sistina Hotel
#695 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anglo Americano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anglo Americano

Property: Hotel Anglo Americano
Address: Via delle Quattro Fontane 12, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#308 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Anglo Americano 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 6-story Hotel located in main shopping area, overlooking Barberini Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Anglo Americano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anglo Americano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing