We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel AA, Rome, November 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Anglo Americano
Ranked #681 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hotel AA, Rome, November 2011”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

I've stayed in AA hotel in Rome for a week in November 2011.
The hotel has been recently rennovated and I really liked design of the room. Also location is wonderful - you can easily get anywhere - either walking or by underground (station is on the corner, 3 mins walk from the hotel). Staff was friendly and helpful.
However, there were few things which disappointed me.
There was no printer available to the guests. I had to print out museum vouchers few times and each and every time I had to ask reception staff to do it for me.Once their printer was broken. And I think wi-fi could be free of charge for the hotel's guests.
Also breakfast could be better.
But generally I have good impression and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yershova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    301
    221
    96
    84
See reviews for
272
314
38
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

This hotel is located in a part of Rome I had not stayed in before. Close to the Spanish Steps and just a short walk to the Trevi Fountain. However, I found it to be a very centrally located property and it had a charm other hotels we have stayed in did not. The front desk can be warm or cold, depending on the time of day, number of people being dealt with and who is working. Overall, I found them to be very helpful, English speaking, but with a bit of an Italian quickness. The hotel is located on a hill and has no parking. Cabs will drop you at the front door, but buses are frowned upon in stopping at the front door. The street is too narrow. The lobby and public areas of the hotel were very clean. The breakfast area was quite nice and had an abundant variety of hot/cold items (eggs, meats, cheese, fruits, cereal, juices, breads, rolls etc) to choose from for breakfast. The wedding party of about 60 people that stayed at the hotel found it to be delightful place to meet and get ready for the day. We met many people from all over the world and the hotel even expanded the area when needed. The only thing that was slow, now and then, was the coffee pot being refilled.

The hotel is located just around the corner from a metro station and a short walk to the HARD ROCK CAFÉ. There were many restaurants nearby, so you won’t need to go far to eat. However, getting the front desk to get you a cab is easy and the cost is reasonable if you are interested in going to some places further away.

The rooms were spotless and ours, a corner room, had views up the hill and toward the museum and plaza. The beds were very comfortable and the towels were large and fluffy. The bathroom had a shower and bidet and plenty of good lighting. The rooms were equipped with a refrigerator. Locks on the doors were electronic and took a bit of getting used to when returning at night. You do need to leave your room card in the inside holster to keep the lights on. There are English channels on the TV, just asked at the front desk how to access them with your remote; otherwise you will only be able to access Italian and French channels. Can’t say enough about this place and will stay here again on our next trip to Rome.

The wedding was wonderful and the hotel did so much for the Bride and Groom and the families in making this a very memorable event!

Room Tip: They have two elevators, but the rooms on the highest floor must walk up the last flight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bedbugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Location was great. Staff were inconsistently in all regards.
Required a wheelchair acccessible room and the toilet had no seat on it at all... Wheelchair couldn't get around the bed. Was shown to an even smaller room however the bathroom at least had a seat on the toilet..
The beds were extremely hard and uncomfrotable.
The breakfast was very average and ran out of items and cutlery and plates each day.
One staff member was particularly rude and each request was met with a very condescending tone or total disinterest, if not blatent rude responses.
I watch intereation between an AMerican Female Tourist ask the staff member a question he was so unhelpful and rude told her that he couldn't possibly answer her question as he didn't know her interests or needs tso couldn't advise her what tours could possibly be available in Rome for 1 day. She was shocked. I answered her question for her simple and easily with a number of options.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolcengabbana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Devon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

When we arrived we found the bed cover was dirty and the sheet had blood on it. This was not replaced, when they were asked to, and we ended up making our own bed.

This kind of set the scene for the rest of our 2 weeks stay.
The rooms are lovely, HOWVER
The floor was only swept/mopped once, in 14 days!
The sheets had holes in them and the towels were frayed.
Toilet roll also seemed scarce, as we did not get it replenished very often!
The bed was hard (like a board) You slept on it, not in it.

Breakfast was not really worth look forward to, depending on what greedy people were staying, as replenishment was lacking
Breakfast was also what could only be described as a daily scrum - made worse with a poorly laid out serving area, plastic cutlery and no where to sit. One morning we went back to our room witha coffee and youghurt!

Great location; you can walk everywhere.
But not up to a 4 star experience, having stayed in hotels around the world. Or maybe Rome just has lower standards?


All staff were friendly and helpful, EXCEPT the older gentleman, we all are talking about.
I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We had a fantastic 3 days in Rome and thorough enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Our room was spacious with nice decorative finishes and cleaned every day with fresh towels and anew supply of toiletries. Have read the other reviews on the staff and we strongly disagree - we had our bags carried to our room and the gentlemen on reception were very helpful and friendly. The only problem we came across was the small breakfast room, which did get crowded about 9am - so the next morning we waited until 9.30 and is was fine. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Rome and to be central to all the sights. Don and Christine Proctor

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

It is not fair that the bad reviews are still publish because the hotel was redecorated and now it's practically new.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Just back from a short stay. Hotel was clean and tidy, breakfast was abundant and you were not spoilt for choice. With the exception of one male receptionist, staff were extremely helpful. When he was asked to print off boarding passes he told me the hotel was too busy and it would have to wait until the next day (I was leaving at 8.00am next day!!). When I insisted he said that I could come back in the afternoon when the reception desk was a bit quieter. Also, I was charged a ’City of Rome’ tax of €18 which my travel agent did not inform me off. When I queried this with Mr Personality he handed me an A4 printed sheet to read in Italian! I paid by credit card and will be investigating this when I get back to Ireland.
Hotel is centrally located and is convenient to all the major attractions of Rome. Rome itself is beautiful, plenty to see and do (including an unplanned live adult attraction whilst walking through the park at 11.00am in the morning!)
A lot of street sellers around, just put up your hand and walk on, it’s the best way. Be mindful of service charges in the restaurants, you get no warning and it just appears on the bill.
Rome is a must for all to see

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#226 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Trevi Collection
Hotel Trevi Collection
#465 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Trevi
Barberini Hotel
Barberini Hotel
#323 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Nuovo Hotel Quattro Fontane
Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
#575 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Colonna
Leonardi Sistina Hotel
Leonardi Sistina Hotel
#686 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anglo Americano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anglo Americano

Property: Hotel Anglo Americano
Address: Via delle Quattro Fontane 12, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#305 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Anglo Americano 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 6-story Hotel located in main shopping area, overlooking Barberini Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Anglo Americano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anglo Americano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing