We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Anglo Americano
Ranked #722 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Loved the location of this hotel. Right by the Piazza Barberini. There was a lot of traffic out the window though. The wifi you had to pay for- not like our other hotels we stayed during our trip to Italy. And…It dint work very well! The morning breakfast was so-so. Great coffee. There was a great snack/bar on corner called Pepy's Bar,and another brother restaurants a few doors down from there called Enoteca Pizzeria. Great people, great food, great music!! The sightseeing was easy to get to. We had a tour guide one day ( Rudy's Touring service) HE was AWESOME!! And went to the places we wanted to see more of and investigate further the other days. The only thing was the open bus we took. We picked the wrong one. -Ciao Roma- don't use this service. cheaper and thats what you got!!!

Room Tip: Small rooms!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kari r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 932 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for six nights the room was small but that was tiny my husband couldn't fit in the shower the maids Barging in our room even though we put the do not disturb sign out we paid for full breakfast and they told us we had to eat the free continental breakfast they had so we didn't get what we paid for the staff was rude I'm knowledgeable and it was a nasty nasty hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marymsyhemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Our room was on the 7th floor-and smelled of foul sewer. We immediately informed the hotel desk clerk who said they would look into it, but never offered any other solution. The room was absolutely foul. We put towels over the drains and kept the exhaust fan running, which was of little help. The breakfast was a combination of cold scrambled eggs and stale pastries. I would never recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenJenHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The Hotel Anglo Americano was extremely well located, it was an easy (Italian) walk to the train station and many famous sights. There were four of us two adults and two teens. We had two bedrooms and one bath. One bedroom with a queen bed and one with two double beds. There was plenty of room for our suitcases and the rooms were clean and tidy. Our rooms were tidied and cleaned every day and we used it as a base for our adventures. The staff was courteous and they had bag storage for arrival and departure days. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We didn't use or even look for a swimming pool or fitness center. The evening walks were beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Over all, the hotel seemed OK from the outside - nothing too spectacular, but the location was good, and being a 4*, expected the rest to follow suit.
I had a single room which had a small double bed against the wall - fine by me, but the window didn't shut properly and despite informing concierge several times to have it arranged - they didn't, so my room was freezing at night!
The shower is tiny (thankfully I'm not a big person myself - but a weightier person would have problems getting in and out) and there's nowhere to put shampoos/soap etc. so everything has to be put on the floor - a great inconvenience to keep bending over to pick up your things in an already very confined space!
At breakfast, the plates were all chipped and many a time, the cutlery wasn't available. Besides the choice of food was extremely basic!
One choice of cheap cheese and cheap ham and bread rolls.
Sausages and eggs and diluted juice and canned fruit.
However there was a better choice of sweets.
Would I recommend it to a friend? For location - maybe, but would not for the discerning traveler.

Room Tip: Be prepared that the rooms are small. We booked 5 rooms in all, and only one was decently sized!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nadvassallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location.
The rooms are renovated, clean and very cosy, but they are also very small (at least the one I was in). although small, the room is sufficient.
the staff is very friendly, breakfast is nice and basic.
The hotel provides WiFi at the lobby, no for free but 1euro for 2 hours is a fair price.
the only problem we had was that it was extremely hot in the rooms (we were on the 6th floor).
the AC only works on heat and we had to sleep with the window open (mind you it's February and there is traffic outside), just so we wont sweat all night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hagaist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed at the Anglo Americano last month and loved the fact that it was minutes from the major attractions, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Colosseum, Pantheon etc.. Loads of services nearby to choose from as well, bars and restaurants. The hotel is clean and well decorated, breakfast is good too and served in a lovely breakfast room. Overall a very good experience!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flower b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#141 of 1,272 in Rome
1,041 reviews
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#221 of 1,272 in Rome
1,288 reviews
Trevi
Barberini Hotel
Barberini Hotel
#337 of 1,272 in Rome
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Memphis
Hotel Memphis
#430 of 1,272 in Rome
482 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Trevi Collection
Hotel Trevi Collection
#572 of 1,272 in Rome
880 reviews
Trevi
Nuovo Hotel Quattro Fontane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anglo Americano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anglo Americano

Address: Via delle Quattro Fontane 12, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#319 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £62 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Anglo Americano 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 6-story Hotel located in main shopping area, overlooking Barberini Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Anglo Americano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anglo Americano Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing