We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never a 3 star and beware location”
Review of Hotel Gabriella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gabriella
Ranked #928 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Never a 3 star and beware location”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Our initial impressions were not good. It's not in the nicest bit of town and it looks awful from the front, somewhat like you would expect if you were walking into a bedsit. The reception is not the best and I'm afraid I cannot agree with the previous reviews about the great location? Yes it is near the termini, which is a massive complex so beware if getting a train and getting to the correct exit. If like us you exit towards rear of station it's a lot further than 5 mins walk and there area littered with pickpockets. Thanks to my wife being alert she managed to wrestle back her iPhone from some horrible creature who had his hand on it as he pushed past her as we negotiated the narrow footpaths alongside the termini station. I suppose if you are happy to use the bus and / or metro during your stay the location is fine.BUT if you like to walk to the main attractions be warned its at least a 30 min walk minimum to say the pantheon etc. We ended up catching taxis at the end / beginning of a long day to / from the hotel which at around 10euro a time soon adds up. Ok onto the hotel itself. Basic is what I'd describe it as. The moans... Very small bathroom, if you had long legs near impossible to sit on loo without your knees smacking into the shower cubicle. Shower v small and really difficult to wash feet lower limbs ( water was always hot though to be fair) toilets seat dirty old / worn and broke along with cracked floor tiles and big dint in the bathroom door, bedside drawer broken.TV v basic and only local tv with no remote. Fridge was frosted up with massive ball ice. Hardly any hangers max 5 and nowhere to hang up your coat etc on rear door / near entrance? Don't bother with breakfast at 10 euro each v cramped dining area toaster that is less effective than a 2 bar electric heater ie wait ages for it to work, cheap food / instant coffee awful. Ok the good points .. It's cheap for Rome and although not spotless it's clean enough and the bed was comfortable. I suppose to sum it up.... disappointed with location however ok for 3 nights but I couldn't do a week there. I would personally look for something nearer and possibly a star upwards

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank davidmlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    79
    102
    44
    46
See reviews for
48
199
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baldwin Park, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Worst, Unpleasant ambiance and very rude staffs.
The hair dryer is very old, you'll be afraid to use it since it feels like its too hot on the wires already. The room is very hot, we opened the window to catch some fresh air, the noise from the outside is very annoying.
The manager Barbara very rude and yelling us on the hallway when our friend from Rome, wanted to just use the BR going into our room, I mean for 5pm only, she was ridiculously yelling along with the staff member guy who were treating us like total strangers.
This place is very unpleasant, You will have to clim up stairs to go to a front desk along with your heavy luggage. I was very disappointed and very upset and regret so much why I chose this horrible hotel. I will never ever recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benchnov5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca N, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Gabriella, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Mr Torning,we are answering you to this review knowing already that you made the same review with another title,we are happy that you don't have nothing to do so important and you are spending all the time to review us,but we have other guests to take care of,so will be the last time we will answer you,to all your offensive lies.
First of all I show you the room and you said"very nice room" so I think the only reason to give us a bad review is that you tried to go into the room with a friend(when you arrived we allowed him to come with you with the luggage)you want him to take a shower and stay in the room with you.
In Italy the low is very attentive to the fact that all the guests that stay in hotel should be signed and the police should know every body names and datails.Otherwise the hotel could be asked to close..Do you think we could go anyway against our principales and value for a guest that dosen't understand that he reserve a double were 3 people are not allowed.
Also the respect you had was show in the room you left each morning.
Is the first time from the 1954 (hear in wich our family started the buisness)that a made report me the bad condition in wich a guest is reducing a room(dirty indument everywhere,paper all over the room,liquid on the floar).
Let me suggest you to have more respect of the people that works.
Also about the fact that the room was warm is that we had to turn on heating,because other guests in november need it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I had read the previous reviews and was somewhat apprehensive when booking. However, the hotel exceeded expectations. The hotel was extremely clean ,room was spacious and very comfortable. Very clean bathroom.Our room was down a corridor which gave us peace and quiet even though we could see the station from our window. Tasty and plentiful breakfast was included.The reception area is also very nice - with friendly, fluent English speaking staff .We liked everything about the hotel. It was clean, friendly staff, nice breakfast, and great location (5 min walk to tram stop for the city center- 10 min ride). Nice for us to be out of the crowded city center but easy to go back and forth. We would stay here again when coming to Rome. Overall, a very upmarket feel for such a budget friendly hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose Manuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Me and my gf stayed here for 3nights from nov 12-16. Room
Was small. Bfast buffet was okay but the worst part is..we have a frend from rome who toured us around the city. 5pm we decided to go back at our hotel.. Suddenly the front desk came after us telling us that they dont allow 3people in the room.. We beg for the manager to have our friend stayed for just an hour but they are soo rude and un apologetic. Definitely not a friendly hotel to go esp when in rome.. Wont go back to this hotel EVER!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelRNsonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesca N, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Gabriella, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear guest Torning ,we are answering you to this review knowing already that you made the same review with another title.
First of all I show you the room and you said"very nice room" so I think the only reason to give us a bad review is that you tried to go into the room with a friend(when you arrived we allowed him to come with you with the luggage)you want him to take a shower and stay in the room with you.
In Italy the low is very attentive to the fact that all the guests that stay in hotel should be signed and the police should know every body names and datails.Otherwise the hotel could be asked to close..Do you think we could go anyway against our principales and value for a guest that dosen't understand that he reserve a double were 3 people are not allowed.
Also the respect you had was show in the room you left each morning.
Is the first time from the 1954 (hear in wich our family started the buisness)that a made report me the bad condition in wich a guest is reducing a room(dirty indument everywhere,paper all over the room,liquid on the floar).
Let me suggest you to have more respect of the people that works.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almira, Washington, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The outside of this hotel leads you to believe it is scummy but its really not. The staff was Very helpful and friendly. The location is incredible! You are walking distance from Termini station which means close to trains and main metro stop... you are also just as close to a metro stop called Castro Pretoris.... which we actually used far more than the termini stop simply because at termini its major crowded and busy.
Our room was very small but we expected this as its typical.... the bathroom was clean and had two choices for toilet which we appreciated very much. We loved that out our window was a little market that set up every day except sunday. We stay here 6 nights and slept well.... the beds are quite firm, but we found we were comfortable anyway.
The breakfast is wonderful! You typically had 2 choices for cereal, 3-5 pastry choices, 2 meats and a YUMMY cheese, plus 2 kinds of juice, water, coffee and espresso options as well as yogurt, fruit and waffles.
I only give 4 in stead of 5 rating for 2 reasons, they charge for internet, 1 euro for use of the computer and 3 euros for wi fi password good for one hour... this isn't the part that bothers me, paying for it is sort of ok... the issue is the internet is SO slow that I was unable to do what I needed in the 30 minutes or hour... this was frustrating to pay for a service that was very slow. The other things is, every day our room was cleaned while we were gone, which I loved, but, they spray some sort of a strong perfume every day that actually burned my throat and eyes each evening, we had to have the window open most of the time to help... there is a musty, smoky smell they are covering up from what I assume is from when they used to allow smoking there.... the smell isn't bad, just the perfumy thing they spray is too strong.
Overall, I would definitely recommend staying here! You cant put a price on location and really, when in Rome, you aren't going to spend much time in your room anyway. It has everything you need at a very good price plus the bonus of helpful staff and wonderful breakfast! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReenieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

went to rome 11 nov for a short break this hotel was great every thing we needed was there friendly staff room and bed the best would stay here again and central for all the attractions all in all five star.

Room Tip: very good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Booked this hotel based on the reviews,and I' m not disappointed at all.What really make the difference here are the three ladies that own the hotel,they simply went out of their way to help us with restaurants reservations and museum tickets.I also explained them my problems with small spaces so they gave me a big room,also my parents room was nice,although a little smaller .Buffet breakfasts were delicious,plenty of first choice food,meats,cheese,pastries eggs,juices,coffee,made to order cappuccino ,fruits and more.Location is perfect for a lot of sights,and a market is just right outside.Would definitely return if in Rome next year.thanks BBF.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ninadicastro3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#452 of 1,261 in Rome
292 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cambridge
Hotel Cambridge
#749 of 1,261 in Rome
277 reviews
Esquilino
Mariano Hotel
Mariano Hotel
#567 of 1,261 in Rome
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Il Papavero
Hotel Il Papavero
#981 of 1,261 in Rome
367 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#276 of 1,261 in Rome
586 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#313 of 1,261 in Rome
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabriella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabriella

Property: Hotel Gabriella
Address: Via Palestro 88, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #928 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gabriella 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run since 1954, hotel offers comfortable rooms, modern amenities, restaurant, breakfast buffet; set in ancient city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gabriella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabriella Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing