We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value hotel in convenient location”
Review of Hotel des Artistes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel des Artistes
Ranked #249 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a recent visit to Rome. The location was very convenient for us as we were using the Ascoli Piceno bus service which stops nearby.
The lobby area is very basic but the staff were helpful and polite. The room was surprisingly good. It was a reasonable size for Rome and comfortably furnished. It included a fridge, flat screen TV and safe. The bathroom was a good size and perfectly adequate. My only criticism was that it was far too hot and was impossible to cool down without having the windows wide open. The breakfast was plentiful and not at all bad except the coffee out of a machine which was awful. On balance, for the price, we would stay here again for a short visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DES ARTISTES R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, which allows us to improve in order to achieve higher standards of quality. We really appreciate your opinions.
We have taken note of your suggestions and we have already proceed with all necessary improvements that will result in a better service regarding your advices.

Looking forward to have you back again with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed at Hotel des Artistes overnight in Rome. A large plus is its close proximity to Roma Termini. We were able to walk even with our luggage, and you can use the metro to get to all attractions including the Vatican across the river. The included breakfast is what you would expect at an American hotel which is nice since most Euro hotels only have the fruit and croissants. We actually were a little late to breakfast (jet lagged) but they still got us croissants and coffee which was really nice of them. Wi Fi is not included, but is only 2 Euros for 24 hours (1 device only) or 5 Euros for your entire stay, so very nominal. You do need to pay a city tax, in cash, of I believe 2 Euros a person. The only negatives would be the elevator/stairs mentioned in other posts - the elevator is big enough for one person with a piece of luggage, so you either need to make several elevator trips or use the stairs. But, that is a relatively minor issue given the good value and what I consider to be a good location of this hotel. We also stayed at the Yes Hotel on our return trip to Rome which we discovered was under the same ownership. That was also a good price and location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DES ARTISTES R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

You are so kind, taking the time to write this review and sharing your experience with other travellers. We are happy that your staying has been satisfactory. People find indeed, our location very convenient for its proximity to main sights and relatively non expensive. Police Station at Termini, just around the corner guarantees safety. And for the staff, we are always happy to be at your service. Looking forward to see you again here in Hotel Des Artistes or at our sister hotel YES HOTEL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This hotel was quite nice, not luxurious but clean and the staff were very friendly. Breakfast was nice. Wifi in the room worked well, it is not free but there are 2 computers available at the 5th floor free of charge. There was a roof terrace which is probably very nice in the summer!

The location is close to Termini station, from where there are buses and metro all over Rome, but it is also possible to walk to all the sights. When you exit the hotel and head towards Termini, turn right, not left. To the right is a large road, to the left a small, dirty road that did not feel as safe. On the "right" route there is a grocery store, Conad. At reception we were provided with a map and some directions that were very helpful.

We spent our first night in a small room with one double bed, as it was fully booked and there were no twin bed rooms available (we had not requested it when booking), The next morning we saw a glance of a bigger room across the hall, and asked if it would be possible to get a twin bed room for the remaining two nights of our stay. The lady at the reception asked us to pack our bags and they will be moved to our new room, which will be ready when we come back from sightseeing in the evening. This worked out very well, we got a new, significantly bigger room that evening! Beds were hard but we slept well. Some sounds from the corridor, but not too bad. Additional pillows were provided upon request.

I would consider staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catharina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DES ARTISTES R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

You are so kind, taking the time to write this review and sharing your experience with other travellers. We are happy that your staying has been satisfactory. People find indeed, our location very convenient for its proximity to main sights and relatively non expensive. Police Station at Termini, just around the corner guarantees safety. And for the staff, we are always happy to be at your service. Looking forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Pretty poor but location was good. Scary elevator!!! Rooftop terrace was nice. Computers were a joke and fortunately I didn't pay for them because what a rip-off. The room was adequate (shared x 3 beds), and so was the bathroom. Breakfast offered but I didn't take it. The restaurant across the street was wonderful! Other than that and the proximity to a metro station I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Private rooms might have been nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annagoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DES ARTISTES R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for commenting on our hotel. We are very grateful that you chose to stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We were extremely pleased with the hotel. Excellent location near the railroad station.Great restaurants close by. The room was plain but very clean and the bed was very comfortable.Staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast that was included was excellent-hot and cold choices and unlimited portions. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay there again when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DES ARTISTES R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you so much for this review. The hotel is happy to see that your experience was positive and we appreciate that you decided to share it with others and to recommend Yes Hotel. Looking forward to see you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Internet and towel aren't free, you must pay money for those.
Bathroom and toilets aren't enough.
Hostel is a little bit far to centre but so close to Metro.
But otherwise everything is nice.
I recommend that hostel to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 88onur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DES ARTISTES R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, which allows us to improve in order to achieve higher standards of quality. We really appreciate your opinions.
We have taken note of your suggestions and we have already proceed with all necessary improvements that will result in a better service regarding your advices

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is an unpretentious, relaxed, friendly, clean and utterly charming hotel. We stayed for 4 nights at the beginning of November and found it to be an ideal base for exploring this beautiful and fascinating city. The reception staff could not have been more helpful and the room housekeeping was quite exceptionally attentive. We loved our stay here and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building away from the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoggypete_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DES ARTISTES R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

We feel very thankful. We really appreciate your kindness, writing such a nice review. It could not be a better prize for our efforts. We are very happy to know that your experience was positive. So thanks again and come back soon!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
#683 of 1,272 in Rome
144 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#463 of 1,272 in Rome
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#350 of 1,272 in Rome
442 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#226 of 1,272 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#231 of 1,272 in Rome
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Artistes

Address: Via Villafranca 20, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#285 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £46 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Artistes 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Des Artistes Hotel, located on a quiet side street in the city center and is perfect for a romantic getaway, a relaxing break or business trip. Is just five minute's elegant stroll from the city's main railway station Termini and a short walk from major monuments, churches, museums and other places of interest. For those of you that want to wander further afield, the Rome underground is just around the corner from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel des Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Artistes Hotel
Des Artistes Rome
Artistes Rome
Hotel Des Artistes Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing