We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel des Artistes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Artistes
Ranked #284 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

First time in Rome and what can I say, great location!

Little sceptical about room quality with all the reviews on here but had a double room in the annex and it was perfect. Slept fantastic, quiet and warm room, comfy bed and good maid service!

It's not a 5 star hotel, but on a budget and realistically, for the time you spend in a room in such a fantastic city it was perfect! Definitely stay again if in Rome!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kite_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DES ARTISTES R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, which allows us to improve in order to achieve higher standards of quality. We really appreciate your opinions.
We have taken note of your suggestions and we have already proceed with all necessary improvements that will result in a better service regarding your advices
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    554
    201
    64
    51
See reviews for
210
476
126
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria201010
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We changed rooms three times. First room had blood stains on bed and hair in pillows. Staff were very helpful and friendly which was good or we would haves stayed elsewhere. Location is great, not this is a hostel not a hotel. Mostly shared bathrooms, you have to pay extra for internet even though online they say it's included. Overall ok, wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria201010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DES ARTISTES R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
We feel very thankful. We really appreciate your kindness, writing such a nice review. It could not be a better prize for our efforts. We are very happy to know that your experience was positive. So thanks again and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Excellent base for a trip to Rome near the Termini. Staff very knowledgeable and friendly. Rooms clean and adequate for your needs. Lovely roof top garden to enjoy a drink after a long day sight seeing!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DES ARTISTES R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comment, we at the Hotel Des Artistes are always very happy to be of any assistance we can. Our staff are ready to share their knowledge of the eternal city with anybody who needs help, wether to find out the best ways to view the city or just to find a nice area to eat in. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon, kind regards, Hotel Des Artistes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

The terrace it's a joke. I tried to stay there for a while in a night but the lights were out. You go all the way back to the reception, ask someone to help, they say "in a minute" 30 minutes later, in the dark, no one came. Then, all the way to reception again, once again "in a minute" and once again no one came. After searching in the dark we figured out by ourselves where and how to turn the lights on. In our last day they left us with no toilet paper on the room and, believe it or not, not even the reception bathroom itself had toilet papers.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcelodamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DES ARTISTES R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, which allows us to improve in order to achieve higher standards of quality. We really appreciate your opinions.
We have taken note of your suggestions and we have already proceed with all necessary improvements that will result in a better service regarding your advices
Hotel Des Artistes Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Great hostel, I would recommend to everyone.
Location is great, literally 30 seconds from a Metro B stop, and about 10 mins walk from the main station, for all trains, both Metros and buses.
10 Mins walk from San Lorenzo which is a great area for bars, restaurants, etc (cheaper as its not very touristy)

The rooms are comfortable, ive stayed here a few times in 2, 4 and 5 bed dorms.

This time I had a 5 bed dorm, bed was comfortable and room was clean, and clean daily.
One of the other people snored really loudly, but thats no fault of the hostel! There were also some really noisy asian boys who were shouting and running around at 2am, but I think they were told to shut up by staff.

Staff are helpful and always available at reception. The woman in the mornings is a bit cranky, but I would be at 6am too! Shes gorgeous so ill let her off ;)

Shared bathrooms are like in a gym, cubicles for showers and sinks outside. If youre not so shy its not a problem at all, and they are very clean.

Only 2 minor complaints - I personally wouldnt charge for wifi, its not that expensive but still, in this day wifi is everywhere and should be free in my mind.
The breakfast is expensive - €8, and the coffee is horrible, you can get better for less outside.

I come to Rome often and I stay here every time. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinw1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DES ARTISTES R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
You are so kind, taking the time to write this review and sharing your experience with other travellers. We are happy that your staying has been satisfactory. People find indeed, our location very convenient for its proximity to main sights and relatively non expensive. Police Station at Termini, just around the corner guarantees safety. And for the staff, we are always happy to be at your service. Looking forward to see you again here in Hotel Des Artiste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I've stayed at many hotels in Rome, and like in any big city, you can spend a lot and not get much in return. Sometimes you just need a place to put your head down, where you feel comfortable, rested and safe. I found the Hotel des Artistes to be one of those places.

It starts with a friendly and helpful staff, with a desk that's maintained twenty-four hours a day. The hotel rooms (there are also hostel-style accommodations) are ample, clean and well appointed for this price range. The bathroom was also decently sized and very clean. Generally the hotel was quiet, though I found that noise from the adjacent room's bathroom was clearly hearable in my room.

The breakfast offered good, buffet-style food in a pleasant atmosphere on the first floor.

The hotel's location near the train station means you're a bit of a hike from the main Roman tourist attractions, but there is a metro station nearby, or a taxi will arrive within about three minutes, so everything is easily reachable.

For seeing Rome on a budget, I found Des Artistes to be a good starting point.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rascal_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DES ARTISTES R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
We really want to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel with other travellers. Your opinions are very helpful. It so good for us to know that your stay has been satisfactory and we invite you to come back among us next time.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed for an entire week in January. Our room was in the Annex and was large, very clean,quiet and very comfortable. The breakfasts were ample, and altho the hotel is not located within the historical district, we were able to walk to every area we wished to visit including the Vatican ( long walk but much to see on the way) Very nice helpful staff. Good dining options nearby .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmbChicagogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DES ARTISTES R, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel des Artistes, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comment, we at the Hotel Des Artistes are always very happy to be of any assistance we can. Our staff are ready to share their knowledge of the eternal city with anybody who needs help.We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon, kind regards, Hotel Des Artistes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Lodi
#267 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#291 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#369 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Artistes

Property: Hotel des Artistes
Address: Via Villafranca 20, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#244 Family Hotel in Rome
#286 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Artistes 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Des Artistes Hotel, located on a quiet side street in the city center and is perfect for a romantic getaway, a relaxing break or business trip. Is just five minute's elegant stroll from the city's main railway station Termini and a short walk from major monuments, churches, museums and other places of interest. For those of you that want to wander further afield, the Rome underground is just around the corner from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Artistes Hotel
Des Artistes Rome
Artistes Rome
Hotel Des Artistes Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing