We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Europe Trip”
Review of Hotel des Artistes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel des Artistes
Ranked #263 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our Europe Trip”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel online so had no real idea what to expect. First thing we are greeted by a very friendly and extremely helpful front desk. Without her insight I think we may not have got as much out of our trip. The room was very nice and typical Rome with an old world charm. The hotel is close to many places to eat and also close to Rome termini from which you can get most places in Rome. All in all a great place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    574
    206
    65
    51
See reviews for
226
487
132
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have stayed here twice, in Oct 2013 and April 2014. The rooms are nice (and large for a hotel in Rome), the price is great, and the location is only a few minutes walk from Roma Termini if you have a train to catch. Oh and if you're lucky the young lady will be on duty at reception (the most beautiful girl in Rome!).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznań
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The location of the hotel is very convenient (10 minutes on foot from the railway station). The rooms are very clean and cosy. The hotel is worth recommending first of all due to a very helpful and nice personnel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hostel was amazing, we stayed for 5 nights in total and had a wonderful holiday. Arriving very late at night (midnight) we were worried that there might be issues with us checking in so late, yet the desk was manned 24 hours a day and we were greeted with an incredibly helpful attendant who made the whole process very easy considering how tired we were from travelling. He also provided us with free maps of the city and highlighted the most important sites worth seeing, as well as drawing on a few helpful bus routes to help us get around.
The room was quite simple, but very clean and tidy. Our room had a big tv, a safe, a desk, large mirror, 2 chairs and a large wardrobe. There was also a UK plug socket which was a nice touch. The separate bathroom was spacious and cleaned daily, perfectly adequate for our stay.
On several occasions we asked our hotel receptionists, every time being provided with great recommendations for places to eat or visit.
The hostel is perfectly located a short walk away from the main train and bus station (all buses and metros pass through this station so makes sense to stay near it) which makes a highly affordable, and much easier on the feet after walking around all of the sights!
Cannot recommend this hostel enough, excellent affordable prices and a real treasure in the centre of Rome.

Room Tip: The hostel rooms are of a similarly high (slightly less plush) standard but can save you a bit of mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I was actually very surprised when I realised that we were booked in a hotel and not in a hostel, as I expected. There was a bit of noise on the outside as well as from the other hotel guests. But apart from the noise there was nothing to complain about. Rooms very clean, location great and definitely good value for money. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Very nice hotel. Rooms are nice although a little bit noisy. If you are a light sleeper bring some earplugss. Cleanliness is good and bathroom is fine. Breakfast is nothing special, but okay. Location is very good, nearby 2 metro stations and some fine restaurants and bars. The walk to the city center takes approximately 30-40 minutes. Good value for money hotel and excellent and very friendly staff which makes the stay extra pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AukeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumont, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My daughter and I stayed there 3 weeks ago for3 nights. The room was always so hot,dark and tiny as was the bathroom making it a bit uncomfortable. Our window/ doors opened out into an alley full of garbage and odors. On the positive side, the staff was very nice, the location was great and the breakfast was terrific. There is also a very nice rooftop patio.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#452 of 1,261 in Rome
292 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#155 of 1,261 in Rome
1,282 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#276 of 1,261 in Rome
586 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#95 of 1,261 in Rome
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Artistes

Property: Hotel des Artistes
Address: Via Villafranca 20, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#244 Family Hotel in Rome
#286 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Artistes 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Des Artistes Hotel, located on a quiet side street in the city center and is perfect for a romantic getaway, a relaxing break or business trip. Is just five minute's elegant stroll from the city's main railway station Termini and a short walk from major monuments, churches, museums and other places of interest. For those of you that want to wander further afield, the Rome underground is just around the corner from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Artistes Hotel
Des Artistes Rome
Artistes Rome
Hotel Des Artistes Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing