We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two fat old guys and a double bed”
Review of Hotel Arcangelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Arcangelo
Ranked #536 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Two fat old guys and a double bed”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We arrived around midnight in a very nice Mercedes also arranged with the hotel (absolutely painless) We were welcomed and shown to the only unoccupied room in the hotel. We were perturbed to find a double bed. We had come to Rome for rugby weekend and I was sharing the room with a good friend but not that good! Fortunately the room also had a day bed which was comfortable to sleep on. The following day the double bed was divided into the two singles we had previously requested.

Aside from this brief scare, our stay in the hotel was perfectly fine and we had a super weekend in Rome. As other reviews have stated the location is good and we walked everywhere, Vatican, Stadio Olympico (Scotland won!), Trastevere, Vittorio Emanuele monument. The hotel is not fancy but has everything we needed for a weekend in the Eternal City.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hophiphop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    157
    66
    18
    14
See reviews for
59
148
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were three couples travelling together and we gave the job of finding a hotel for three nights in Rome to one of our friends. Being the time of year and just a week after the canonisation of Popes, JP II and John XXIII, this was the only hotel he found with 3 rooms free on the same nights.

On the whole I don't have a big axe to grind about this hostelry. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was more than adequate, the rooms were clean, it has Wi-Fi connection. The location is central, as already mentioned by other reviewers, and the hotel has an interesting feature, a roof-garden, from which you can see the Vatican dome.

If there is one thing I did not especially care for it was the old-fashioned decor of our room, which was very dark and gloomy and the walls covered in a strange kind of wall-paper, which when touched seemed made of a sponge-like material. The bathroom was very small too!

As it stands I would avoid this hostelry. If the owners cared to update it into a boutique style hotel, more modern and more bright, then I might just consider staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darwin1859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is so good I really don't want anyone else to know about it! It's one Of those rare things in the world that you want all to your self. Rooms are great, staff are great, breakfast is great, location is great and there is an amazing surprise on the roof, you'll have to stay there to find out! Get this, my girlfriend had her birthday in Rome and the hotel organized a bottle of champagne and card on behalf of friends back home! This hotel is a gem, but only tell good friends otherwise it'll be booked out next time I'm in Rome!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestReviewer2013Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, BC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Arcangelo at the beginning of our Italy trip for 3 days, and 3 days at the end. We found it to be a lovely hotel, private with comfortable beds and excellent breakfasts included. We could walk anywhere, or have them call us a taxi - when we wanted to get to the Roma train station for a visit to the seaside resorts. The staff was very helpful, especially the breakfast staff, and the rooftop lounge staff. It felt like home when we returned after our southern travels, and we especially appreciated the excellent attention to customer service. Don't miss happy hour on the rooftop each day - great view, and a nice chance to mingle with other guests if you like. The vatican is very close, and the neighborhood is walkable - flat streets, and with lots of street vendors for souvenirs and clothing. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humantrends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Great little hotel not far from most attractions.
I walked to everything from here (Vatican, Piazza del Popolo, Piazza Navona, Colosseum etc.) Some a little far but well worth it.
Staff were excellent in all respects and a good breakfast buffet, you need it if you like to walk.

Helpful?
2 Thank JoeCat68
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for three nights. The room was at a great price, very comfortable and clean and we especially liked the mirror on the wall. The breakfast was very good and the hotel is located in a pretty neighborhood, 15 min walk from Vatican, 10 min walk from nearest metro station and 5 min walk from Castel Sant'Angelo. The best thing is the solarium on the fifth floor. We definitely recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank its123
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Flemington
Level Contributor
306 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We found this to be a good hotel and reasonable for Rome. A short walk to the Vatican, the staff is very helpful and the rooms are fairly large. A real treat is the roof garden with views of St. Peter's dome...great to have some wine and relax away from the hustle of Rome.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank wahoowa1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#111 of 1,256 in Rome
862 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#595 of 1,256 in Rome
788 reviews
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#210 of 1,256 in Rome
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#120 of 1,256 in Rome
487 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#89 of 1,256 in Rome
1,343 reviews
Prati
Domus Carmelitana
Domus Carmelitana
#455 of 1,256 in Rome
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arcangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arcangelo

Property: Hotel Arcangelo
Address: Via Ezio 15, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #536 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arcangelo 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arcangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcangelo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing