We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish rooms, small hotel, central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Teatro Argentina
Ranked #578 of 3,782 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is more a private apartment than an hotel. Just a handful of rooms off a 2nd floor corridor in a convenient, central location. The whole apartment is beautifully fitted and maintained with parquet floors, high ceilings, tasteful and individual artwork and first-class beds and bathrooms. Limited services (not permanently staffed) although Thomas looked after us brilliantly: meeting, greeting, providing coffee and advice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank markandmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great location a couple of blocks south of the Pantheon. Nicely furnished and comfortably sized room with recently remodeled bathrooms. Got a better rate by skipping the breakfast. This is a very small hotel like 6 rooms with a long 2 flight walk up. Had trouble getting in the front door one time and had to disturb another guest to let me in cause the hotel is basically unstaffed except for for breakfast and when they are expecting a new guest to arrive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

This was my husband's & my first trip to Rome (April 2014). We spent the most nights in this hotel & stayed elsewhere for the remainder as we traveled. When we return, this is where we will stay for our entire time in Rome. Very clean, rooms contain the essance of Italy, with a friendly staff & convenient location to popular sights. Reasonably priced for what you get!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gratefuldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in December 2013. It was a very quiet time to be in Rome, and we LOVED it. No big crowds, no long lines, and we absolutely loved this hotel. It's run by a husband and wife who are very kind and attentive. They emailed ahead of time to ask when we'd arrive. We confirmed, then showed up early anyway, unannounced! And they invited us in anyway and the room as was ready for us already. They served us a DELICIOUS breakfast in our room. They helped with recommendations and reservations. No complaints...it was great!

We stayed in the room called "Verde" - I believe that's the name - and it was big, spacious, high ceilings, beautiful floors, beautiful clean bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

What a great find! Excellent location and friendly, helpful staff. Ample, but simple, breakfast. Nice, clean rooms with comfortable beds. Yes, they've upgraded exterior windows so no real disturbances from traffic/street noise. However, this is located above bar/restaurant, so you may hear chatter and techno beat from below until about midnight or so. Not a problem for two weary travelers who packed in sights daily and promptly fell to sleep with no complaint (one a self-professed light sleeper). Carlotta's enthusiasm and knowledge of Rome's off the beaten path sights only added to the value of our stay. Would whole hearted lay recommend.

Room Tip: With the new windows, we didn't consider street noise to be a problem. Might want to ask about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandLtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed in Relais Teatro Argentina for 3 nights and couldn't recommend it more highly. The location is great, really central and only a 25 minute walk to Colosseum and about 5/10 minutes from Pantheon, with delicious restaurants really close by.

Our room - Verde - was really spacious with a really powerful shower and comfy bed. Breakfast was delicious and served in our room when we were ready (there is an option to eat on the pretty balcony but due to wet weather we opted to eat in our room.)

Our hosts were increadibly welcoming and really helpful, providing recommendations of sights to visit and restaurants to try. They also kindly helped us book tickets to some attractions.

While in Rome i'd recommend buying the Roma Pass if you're there for a few days and want to visit some of the key sites - it gives free/reduced entry, queue jumping option and free travel on bus & metro. We ate at Rosciolo (Via dei Giubbonari) very closeby to the hotel which was delicious - a deli/winebar restaurant (booking recommended); also Pesci Fritti (via di grotta pinta 8), again delicious and far more wide ranging than the name may suggest! We also had the most delicious pizza at a local pizzeria just over the river in Trastevere, nicknamed The Marbles due to the marble topped tables.

Room Tip: We stayed in Verde which was really big and spacious. Good double glazing so no noise from the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

A lovely "hotel" in the heart of the city in easy walking distance t some of the best areas. Just 8 rooms (ours was huge by European hotel standards), very quiet and clean and a super comfortable bed. Paolo and Carlotta had lots of great tips for "back door" experiences that weren't even in Rick's guidebook. Tomas was very attentive at the generous breakfast, either in our room or on the terrace. An amazing value in the off season. Note that this is a walk-up on the second floor (third if you count the ground floor as 1).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Portoghesi
Hotel Portoghesi
#121 of 1,271 in Rome
527 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Smeraldo
Hotel Smeraldo
#140 of 1,271 in Rome
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Due Torri
Hotel Due Torri
#257 of 1,271 in Rome
369 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#52 of 1,271 in Rome
1,661 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Oceania
Hotel Oceania
#130 of 1,271 in Rome
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Teatro Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Teatro Argentina

Address: Via del Sudario 35, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #578 of 3,782 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £99 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Teatro Argentina is located in the heart of the city, in a royal palace.Pantheon, Piazza Farnese, Piazza Navona, Colosseum, San Pietro, Trastevere, and the Spanish Steps are all within walking distance.The furniture gives the Relais a style charming warm atmosphere, each room is carefully furnished with antique family, has wood floors, king size beds, individual AC, a bathroom with all accessories, wifi, HD Led television, DVD player. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais Teatro Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing