We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the nicest.. but clean”
Review of Appia Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Appia Park Hotel
Ranked #608 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We were billeted at this hotel (in their annex building) when we attended a 2-day conference. It's outside the Appian Wall, therefore far from the city center. There is a bus stop near the hotel but a taxi is more convenient for us.
My sister and I shared a room. The hotel room is clean but it's just small. We don't have space to walk on once we opened our luggage. Bathroom was also small.
The great part is that wifi is free and very fast in the room. Their breakfast is good and the staff were accommodating. There's also a grocery on the other side of the road.
If you want a place that's quiet and far from the bustle of the city, then this can be your place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jing G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

We arrived with a group for a one night stay and were shunted to one of the two buildings separate from the main hotel. We were told there was a lift, which wasn't true, and had to drag our cases up steps to the building and then up a flight of stairs to our 2nd floor room. The room was tiny, with bars at the window, and quite depressing. The bathroom's shower cubicle was fairly small and a large person would have a problem getting in it. Breakfast was OK. It was quite far from everywhere and I would not make a return visit.

Room Tip: Demand a room in the main hotel block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flossie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We were pleased to have english speaking workers since we do not speak Italian. They were very helpful (and there is Wifi access). The bus into the city stops right down the street, get tickets at the newspaper stand across the street (then it was covered by the Roma pass which we got for the 3 days we were there). There is a great little market, cafe and bank across the street. It is a very serene location considering it is right off a busy street. The room was very clean but did smell of cigarettes when we first got there (not too bad, I am sensitive to that). There is a park with Roman Aquaducts a short hike behind the market. Beautiful to see close up (they are enormous).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob_plus_Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Beautiful Grounds in a quiet location out of town - Perfect for Couples - However Car-Hire would be recommended - The Hotel is close to the main Airport a plus - commuting to Rome Central is a pain without transport although there is a good bus service close by which you need to pre-buy tickets for! All round it is a very good Hotel with a good Breakfast - Room Service Food is limited if you do not want to eat out - however acceptable - excellent hygene throughout the Hotel.

Room Tip: It is a Beautiful Hotel in wonderful secluded surroundings which are perfect for couples on a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOUMTAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I spent one night here, and the room (505) seemed superficially satisfactory, although it was not very clean. I spent time at the bar and the steward was helpful and attentive, when he eventually arrived.
I ate with a colleague in the restaurant and enjoyed a pleasant steak and some decent pasta well served by an hospitable waiter who was fluent in English.
My nights sleep was spoiled by various factors. The bed was uncomfortable and low, and no clock was provided. Also the plumbing was very noisy whenever a neighbour used their facilities. After a transatlantic flight the ability to see the time easily when half awake is important to me.
When I went to use the bathroom I was surprised to find that the shower cubicle, a minute dirty plastic device, was crawling with small black bugs 1-2mm long. They were not put off by the peeling paint obviously!
I will be posting the video I shot of these bugs. Overall I think this hotel is poorly placed for a tourist, being 30mins by taxi from the centre, and is a bad deal for business travellers because of the sleep quality.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel! I do have video evidence of the infestation of bugs, and will post it on You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steveandchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This hotel is the perfetc venue if you play tennis at the nearby club. Other than that it's an average (and big!) hotel. The restaurant is good, service not bad, rooms are cold in winter. Location is a nightmare as the only way to get into the city is by car or taxi. It is right on the outskirts of Rome and it is a very big and teaffic ridden city. No public transport whatsoever. The road outside is a fast teaffic route and no shops to speak of within walking distance

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdoardoJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

The breakfast is great with wide selection of tarts, fresh coffee and other breads. The reception workers are extremely nice. My biggest COMPLAINT is that THEIR HOUSE KEEPERS STEAL YOUR MONEY... I came back to my room opened my drawer and instead of having 200 euros they had taken 100 of it. Thinking that since I am American I wouldn't know it was missing. So, if you go make sure you keep all your money with you.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peace25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
1.3 mi away
Piccolo Borgo
Piccolo Borgo
#278 of 1,268 in Rome
841 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Capannelle
Hotel Capannelle
#748 of 1,268 in Rome
1,391 reviews
1.5 mi away
Locanda delle Corse
Locanda delle Corse
#677 of 1,268 in Rome
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ardeatina Park Hotel
Ardeatina Park Hotel
#404 of 1,268 in Rome
308 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Artis
Hotel Artis
#459 of 1,268 in Rome
665 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Giardino d'Europa
Hotel Giardino d'Europa
#600 of 1,268 in Rome
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appia Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appia Park Hotel

Address: Via Appia Nuova 934, 00178 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#288 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £59 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Appia Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Appia Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appia Park Rome
Hotel Appia Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing