We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, decent rooms.”
Review of Exe Domus Aurea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Exe Domus Aurea
Ranked #275 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small, decent rooms.”
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

The first room we had in this hotel flooded at midnight. I had a late night shower and when I finished, the entire room was an inch under water, including all our luggage & anything else that was on the floor! We were moved to another room without an apology.
Our next room was on the first floor. It had a much bigger bathroom.
Both rooms in this hotel were absolutely tiny -- I had to climb over the bed to get to my side. That said, the room was spotless, and quite acceptable.
Service was less than average. Wifi - not working at all, staff couldn't seem to rectify the problem.
Breakfast was nice, but at 10 euro per person, probably not worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d0risdelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    298
    122
    28
    14
See reviews for
95
303
22
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

its a nice hotel whith clean rooms.! good eating at tbe top of the building! nice view! only 1 thing; the beds are not soft! but it was ok for us. good hotel for second trip to rome Italië. near trainstation

Helpful?
Thank Matthijs Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Hotel chosen as we booked late and Rome was very busy. Easy 5 minute walk from the station and about 25 mins walk from the Capitoline Museums. On plus side staff were friendly, breakfast was reasonably good for a 3 star hotel, wifi not too bad and the rooms were clean and furnishings in good condition. On the minus side rooms were very small - first room difficult to walk around the bed and mini-bar door blocked by the bed. Shower roms likewise. TV didn't have the '40 plus' satellite stations advertised on the web site - more like 10 - one of which was a poor reception BBC world, rest Italian. As previous reviewers noted a lot of noise from the corridors/ajoining rooms. Hotel has only 1 lift - which you may spend a lot of time waiting for. As a late booking on a very busy weekend we ended up paying around 200 Euros a night - for a relatively basic 3 star hotel with few amenities and tiny rooms this was excessive even for a city like Rome. Would have been reasonable value for half the amount or less. Poor overall rating based on what we got for the price.

Room Tip: twin rooms seem to have [a tiny bit] more space than the doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimbu2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

If you're arrriving through Termini Train Station and/or is looking for low budget hotels, this is your place. However, if you want to stay near of everything, try another neighborhoods, like Campo de Fiori or Trastevere.
The accomodations are nice, though. Staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are good and clean. The only down is really the location, but if it's ok if you don't mind to walk a little and spare some money (that's my case!).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juniorcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

the hotel was in the best place in rome if you go for holidays, becuase it's very close in the central station termini...there you can take the bus, train taxi everything you need, and it's very easy to go everywere by walk!!! the rooms was very nice simple but nice, and very clean !! and the best of all was the breakfast, it was amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmakk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This hotel has a superb location, in a very short walking distance from Termini Station. People at the frontdesk were all nice and always had the right information when we needed. Rooms are clean, but I would say that they are just ok, not bad, but not so good (well, the place is a 3 stars hotel). I was first given a room where I could not walk around the bed; it simply had no space for 2 suitcases! My husband and I were bumping into each other and the bathroom was like a closet! I asked to change (or I would leave the place) and the girl at frontdesk was really nice and solved it quickly. The second room was not big, but this time we had enough space and the bathroom was much bigger! Breakfast is very good, plenty of fruits, cheeses, breads, etc, served in a charming terrace. Since we don´t spend a lot of time in hotels when in Rome, it can be a good option if you are not very demanding.

Room Tip: Please, say you don´t want the small rooms: they are REALLY small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElianaTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2012

A group of 18 of us stayed at this hotel, the front desk knew where we should eat, they were funny and the manager was amazing! The hotel was right across from the train station but in a safe little street which felt authentic. It was so easy to take an EasyJet flight, hop on the Leonardo Express and walk there. The hotel was clean and the breakfast was fantastic - complete with a view of ancient ruins! We will definitely be back next year! Awesome thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAPEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Fenix
#376 of 1,261 in Rome
423 reviews
Esquilino
Windrose Hotel
Windrose Hotel
#337 of 1,261 in Rome
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#211 of 1,261 in Rome
953 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#109 of 1,261 in Rome
817 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Camelia
Hotel Camelia
#139 of 1,261 in Rome
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exe Domus Aurea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Domus Aurea

Property: Exe Domus Aurea
Address: Via Volturno 34, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Eurostars Domus Aurea)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#282 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Exe Domus Aurea 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Eurostars, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Exe Domus Aurea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Domus Aurea Rome
Eurostars Domus Aurea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing