We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of bed bugs!”
Review of Exe Domus Aurea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Exe Domus Aurea
Ranked #300 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My husband and I visited Rome in January for 3 days and we booked this hotel as it was a reasonable price and most of the reviews were good. The hotel was fine but unfortunately a couple of days after we returned home I started to get bitten whilst sleeping. After a few days of wondering what was feeding on me, we discovered we had bed bugs. There is no way we did not bring these back from the hotel with us! We made the mistake of not checking the mattresses (which we will ALWAYS do in future) and we also put our suitcase under the bed as the room is very small so this seemed the only place for it (another mistake as bed bugs just jump on in there and come home with you). As a result we have had to get pest control to our home which has cost us £75 and we have had to wash all our bedding and clothes and tumble dry everything in order to make sure we kill all the eggs the little buggers lay. We thought Rome was beautiful but we can't help feel annoyed when we think of our little trip as it ended up being very costly with the souvenirs we bought home with us from Eurostars Domus Aurea.

By all means stay here as the rooms are ok, if a little small, and the location isn't bad. The room was warm which was good as I thought it may be cold in winter. The walls are thin so I could hear the tv from the next room and people talking but it wasn't too bad. Breakfast was ok - quite a lot of choice but none of it amazing really but it sets you up for the day.

To conclude the hotel was fine but just make sure you check the mattresses! Look for brown/red specks in the corners and under the buttons as this is signs that bed bugs are present. If you see this ask to move to another room as bed bugs don't mean an unclean/dirty place - they can just get everywhere and travel with you so just keep an eye out for the pesky things!

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 303!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janejokic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed here for fours days at the end of January and had a very pleasant stay with my partner. Rooms where small but comfortable as we didn't come to Italy to spend our time in a bedroom. Wifi was good and available in all areas of the hotel. The hotel states that it has a bar, wouldn't call it a bar myself more like a corridor which the receptionist keeps an eye on! Something the hotel could improve on. Breakfast room was lovely in the morning for its views but wouldn't recommend it for the extra cost could find better if you explore the area. Location is excellent and one of the main reasons for booking this hotel. Two minute walk from the main termini which has buses and a metro which will be able to transport you around the entire city in minutes. We purchased a Roma pass which allowed us two use this transport for three days and as often as we liked. Would recommend this hotel for explorers and not for luxury.

Stayed: January 2013
Thank Barrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

The first room we had in this hotel flooded at midnight. I had a late night shower and when I finished, the entire room was an inch under water, including all our luggage & anything else that was on the floor! We were moved to another room without an apology.
Our next room was on the first floor. It had a much bigger bathroom.
Both rooms in this hotel were absolutely tiny -- I had to climb over the bed to get to my side. That said, the room was spotless, and quite acceptable.
Service was less than average. Wifi - not working at all, staff couldn't seem to rectify the problem.
Breakfast was nice, but at 10 euro per person, probably not worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d0risdelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

its a nice hotel whith clean rooms.! good eating at tbe top of the building! nice view! only 1 thing; the beds are not soft! but it was ok for us. good hotel for second trip to rome Italië. near trainstation

Thank Matthijs Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Hotel chosen as we booked late and Rome was very busy. Easy 5 minute walk from the station and about 25 mins walk from the Capitoline Museums. On plus side staff were friendly, breakfast was reasonably good for a 3 star hotel, wifi not too bad and the rooms were clean and furnishings in good condition. On the minus side rooms were very small - first room difficult to walk around the bed and mini-bar door blocked by the bed. Shower roms likewise. TV didn't have the '40 plus' satellite stations advertised on the web site - more like 10 - one of which was a poor reception BBC world, rest Italian. As previous reviewers noted a lot of noise from the corridors/ajoining rooms. Hotel has only 1 lift - which you may spend a lot of time waiting for. As a late booking on a very busy weekend we ended up paying around 200 Euros a night - for a relatively basic 3 star hotel with few amenities and tiny rooms this was excessive even for a city like Rome. Would have been reasonable value for half the amount or less. Poor overall rating based on what we got for the price.

Room Tip: twin rooms seem to have [a tiny bit] more space than the doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nimbu2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

If you're arrriving through Termini Train Station and/or is looking for low budget hotels, this is your place. However, if you want to stay near of everything, try another neighborhoods, like Campo de Fiori or Trastevere.
The accomodations are nice, though. Staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are good and clean. The only down is really the location, but if it's ok if you don't mind to walk a little and spare some money (that's my case!).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juniorcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

the hotel was in the best place in rome if you go for holidays, becuase it's very close in the central station termini...there you can take the bus, train taxi everything you need, and it's very easy to go everywere by walk!!! the rooms was very nice simple but nice, and very clean !! and the best of all was the breakfast, it was amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmakk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Windrose Hotel
Windrose Hotel
#322 of 1,271 in Rome
640 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#278 of 1,271 in Rome
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#187 of 1,271 in Rome
883 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#210 of 1,271 in Rome
992 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#39 of 1,271 in Rome
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exe Domus Aurea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Domus Aurea

Address: Via Volturno 34, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Eurostars Domus Aurea)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#281 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £44 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exe Domus Aurea 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Exe Domus Aurea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Domus Aurea Rome
Eurostars Domus Aurea Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing