We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but its what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Hermitage
Ranked #1,131 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Basic but its what you pay for.”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and were greeted by a lovely gentleman at the reception. Polite and courteous and allowed us to check in early. The rooms were very old fashioned but when you look at the price you pay you don't expect the Ritz. Our room was clean, yes the beds were hard but after a long day of walking around the sites of Rome I could have slept on the floor and still be passed out all night. I also like my showers quite hot and although I was able to shower it wasn't as hot as I would have normally liked. For those who were cold, you can also turn the air vents onto warm. This was noisy so we did it when we went out so the room was toasty when we came back.

Breakfast was continental, what do you expect in Italy! I would have liked a toaster just like every other Brit would but its not the norm there. I will say the coffee is disgusting and I have had some bad coffees. However I did notice Italian guests asking the lady who worked there for cappuccinos and espressos which she brought out for them.

The location is out of the way, however you can pay 24 euro for 7 days unlimited travel on the metro (available for shorter periods if your are staying for a couple of days). These tickets worked on the little train line at the bottom of the hill which is a 5 min train journey to Flaminio which is a lovely area of Rome with lots of bars, restaurants and shops. At Flaminio you can jump on the Metro to all the major site (Vatican is one stop up from Flaminio station and Trevi fountain is 4 stops down). I don't understand why everyone is complaining about distance and taxis when it was quite easy for us to have unlimited travel for 24euros each. The trains run until about half 10 so if you want to stay out later than that then you will need to pay a taxi its just personally by 9 my legs ached so much and I just wanted my bed.

All in all a good hotel. yes its seen its day but how much time do you actually spend in your hotel. Good value for money.

Oh and there is safe deposit boxes available, free of charge! Very rare thing when abroad. Just ask at reception and they will show you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    79
    110
    117
    177
See reviews for
63
127
43
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Breakfast was average, coffee tasted like cigarettes, room was cold, beds really hard and uncomfortable, bathroom was best part about the room. Staff weren't very friendly never smiled once we felt like a burden on them. We were only here 1.5 days / 2 nights and had to keep paying for taxis to and from hotel as it is 15 minute drive from any tourist hotspots and bars/restaurants. Public transport near to hotel is very limited we tried to use the local bus services but ended up waiting at the bus stop half hour without a bus coming so had to get taxi. Would reccommend paying extra money and staying somewhere closer to the centre.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamIveson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here end January 2014...We had our money STOLEN FROM OUR ROOM....Reception refused to investigate and said their staff were beyond reproach and we must have MISLAID our euros!! Errr....NO!! ...To add insult to injury there was NO operational restaurant..although this IS advertised and pictures are shown of it....and it was miles to walk to any decent restaurants....Bar always closed...We didn't manage to even get ONE drink during our three night stay!!....Bedroom freezing cold and windows leaked....water all over floor...headboards not attached to bed and noisy!! Telephone in room not working and reception refused to allow me to use theirs!! Reception staff rude and unhelpful.

Room Tip: Do not stay here..... unless you want to be robbed!! Find another Hotel.....preferably one that doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Lets start our review very positive, the rooftop garden had fantastic views. Right now for the negatives.

The staff upon arrival ( around 7pm local) were about as lively and helpful as a cold turd. They said hello and passport please and thats about it! No welcoming atmosphere or help carrying our bags in. No information about safes, maps or even where the hotel is compared to Rome. Theres your key now buggar off to your room peasant.

The rooms were terrible and dirty, for example there was short and curleys ( Pubes ) all over the bathroom floor and sink, gunk in the shower cubicle and hair and other bodily deposits in the plug hole. Things were broken, shower cubicle was hanging off, shower holder had snapped and they just looped the shower head over the handle. Wardrobe doors hanging off, TV in room entertainment didnt work, no signal. BEDS- Extremely uncomfortable, lets put this into prospective, I ve slept in may places, including dartmoore on the ground for 1 week and it was more comfortable that this bed. First night extreme back and neck pain and by the second day I think we both slipped a disk it was that crap.

Resturant- well there isnt one! Its like looking at the Titanics lobby room but no body in it, i enquired about this, " No resturant sir only breakfast" ok then, So I thought id head to the bar and have a stiff drink as I needed one, Only to find a lonely itiallian at reception, Bar closed sir. what at 8pm??. They had a very vast choice of coke, coke and sprite. Pathetic to say the least.

Parking- NONE or you have to pay.

Breakfast, None existant, bit of reprocessed ham and ultra muddy coffee. Which will give you runny D.

Overall before I have nightmares about this, Please avoid. Its Not a 4* rating, I would honestly give it a half a star for the rooftop garden.

You will be dissapointed, theres cheap hotels and theres crap, this one lays on crap.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san luis obispo, ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Subject: Grand Hotel Hermitage
Location: Rome, Lazio, Italy, Europe

ID#: 184315312

Built in the 40's it was a 4 star hotel of it's time. The extensive use of marble and it's location in the Paroli District where it is quiet belies it's current state. 4 stars are prominently displayed at the entrance, an entrance with a torn carpet. It is currently being used for groups and unsuspecting tourists. I bid blindly on Priceline at $135. US and only after finding out where it was located and the reviews did I try and cancel our 5 night stay, but to no avail. The toilet seat in our room slid to one side and the shower slide could not be tightened so you had a shower spraying at waist level. It was a bus ride to the City but we accepted that. Thankfully we had Mapswithme, a software program, on our phone which led us to restaurants which were quite good, about 5 blocks down the hill from the hotel. I'll never trust Priceline again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SLOFOODIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

So nothing is grand about this hotel. Issues as we found them:
Head board not attached to bed very loud when turning over in bed, who nows what the our neighbiurs thought. Radiotor had left marks on the floor. It looked like the room had beed broken into, damaged door etc..Bathroom was from, you could actually write your name in the mould on the tiles...wtf. The toilet flushed constantly, really annoying in the night. The worst thing about this place was the lack of zircon, I measured the temperature on the room over night with my watch and it was 32 degrees, ludicrous, we complained but no joy.
Only positives were the tv worked and we watched CNN news and the breakfast was canny. Do not stay here, it is probably one star at best!!! Oh and its no where near Rome at all, spend the extra cash you will save on cabs and buses on a place in Rome Centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank johnpooley1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Be very careful when booking this hotel. Four Star it is not. It is not close to city centre as described- it is a 20minute bus ride away and is only on 1 bus route. Reception staff were unhelpful and no one spoke English. The whole hotel is in need of updating and the bedroom we had was nothing like those advertised. Our bathroon was a design masterpiece - how they managed to fit a mini bath, vanity unit, toilet and bidet into an area 6ft by 5ft 6ins had to be seen to be believed and then they expected in this 4star property, guests to use a shower with no shower curtain and to struggle with a folding door with no handles to get in and out. The array of toiletries shown in the brochure were non existent and the 20inch TV in the bedroom allowed guests a choice of 3 Italian channels!!. We were advised that the bar opened at 7pm and shut at 10pm, but we never saw it open. It is, however, cheap as far as Rome hotels, but I think I'll pay a bit more next time and hopefully get a 4 star hotel worthy of the name.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Hotel Regent Roma
Hotel Regent Roma
#1,014 of 1,256 in Rome
530 reviews
Hotel San Giusto
#1,086 of 1,256 in Rome
393 reviews
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#187 of 1,256 in Rome
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pineta Palace
#466 of 1,256 in Rome
982 reviews
La Mela
#872 of 1,256 in Rome
190 reviews
Parioli
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
#515 of 1,256 in Rome
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Hermitage

Property: Grand Hotel Hermitage
Address: Via Eugenio Vajna 12-18, 00197 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#368 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Hermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a top floor terrace overlooking the dome of San Pietro and around the city, Grand Hotel Hermitage offers accommodation in the elegant Parioli district of Rome, 600 meters from the green oasis of Villa Ada Park. The Hermitage is well connected by bus to the main attractions of the city and the Termini Railway Station. Not too far you will find the Olympic Stadium and the Foro Italico sports complex with facilities for tennis, swimming and rugby. Rooms come with wooden furnishings, carpeted or parquet floors, a balcony in some rooms, TV, safe and air conditioning. A continental breakfast is served daily in the dining room. Our staff at the Grand Hotel Hermitage will be happy to advise you on nearby avant-garde art attractions such as the Auditorium Parco della Musica and the MAXXI Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing