We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Hermitage
Ranked #1,126 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel have many negative reviews but after recently staying here for 3 nights I can't understand where they are coming from. Upon arrival the receptionist was very polite and helpful. The room was small but in Italy this is a standard and we've had very nice balcony with sitting area.
Decor is definitely dated but hotel is kept clean and tidy. Breakfast was continental with selection of cheeses and ham. There is no restaurant operating in the hotel and bar is closed permanently.
As for location it is not in the city center. Bus number 360 from nearby stop which runs every 20 min will take you to Termini station the main connection spot in Rome in about 15-20 min.
All in all a good hotel. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tomasz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Hermitage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed here for four nights and were very, very pleased. Please remember that if you want luxury, pay luxurious prices. This was a great find for the money. The room was spotless on arrival & maintained that way, the staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast is basic, but we felt lucky that there was something considering the little we paid for the rooms. As for the coffee, the ready made was a trifle stewed, but if you were prepared to be nice to the waitress, she would make you fresh espresso or cappuccino on request. It is out of the way, but you are booking in a residential area out of the main tourist, and no doubt highly expensive, regions. If you want to consider this place, just make certain the distance is not too great for you, but it is not the hotels fault if you find yourself too far from where you want to be. We would come back

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and were greeted by a lovely gentleman at the reception. Polite and courteous and allowed us to check in early. The rooms were very old fashioned but when you look at the price you pay you don't expect the Ritz. Our room was clean, yes the beds were hard but after a long day of walking around the sites of Rome I could have slept on the floor and still be passed out all night. I also like my showers quite hot and although I was able to shower it wasn't as hot as I would have normally liked. For those who were cold, you can also turn the air vents onto warm. This was noisy so we did it when we went out so the room was toasty when we came back.

Breakfast was continental, what do you expect in Italy! I would have liked a toaster just like every other Brit would but its not the norm there. I will say the coffee is disgusting and I have had some bad coffees. However I did notice Italian guests asking the lady who worked there for cappuccinos and espressos which she brought out for them.

The location is out of the way, however you can pay 24 euro for 7 days unlimited travel on the metro (available for shorter periods if your are staying for a couple of days). These tickets worked on the little train line at the bottom of the hill which is a 5 min train journey to Flaminio which is a lovely area of Rome with lots of bars, restaurants and shops. At Flaminio you can jump on the Metro to all the major site (Vatican is one stop up from Flaminio station and Trevi fountain is 4 stops down). I don't understand why everyone is complaining about distance and taxis when it was quite easy for us to have unlimited travel for 24euros each. The trains run until about half 10 so if you want to stay out later than that then you will need to pay a taxi its just personally by 9 my legs ached so much and I just wanted my bed.

All in all a good hotel. yes its seen its day but how much time do you actually spend in your hotel. Good value for money.

Oh and there is safe deposit boxes available, free of charge! Very rare thing when abroad. Just ask at reception and they will show you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Breakfast was average, coffee tasted like cigarettes, room was cold, beds really hard and uncomfortable, bathroom was best part about the room. Staff weren't very friendly never smiled once we felt like a burden on them. We were only here 1.5 days / 2 nights and had to keep paying for taxis to and from hotel as it is 15 minute drive from any tourist hotspots and bars/restaurants. Public transport near to hotel is very limited we tried to use the local bus services but ended up waiting at the bus stop half hour without a bus coming so had to get taxi. Would reccommend paying extra money and staying somewhere closer to the centre.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AdamIveson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here end January 2014...We had our money STOLEN FROM OUR ROOM....Reception refused to investigate and said their staff were beyond reproach and we must have MISLAID our euros!! Errr....NO!! ...To add insult to injury there was NO operational restaurant..although this IS advertised and pictures are shown of it....and it was miles to walk to any decent restaurants....Bar always closed...We didn't manage to even get ONE drink during our three night stay!!....Bedroom freezing cold and windows leaked....water all over floor...headboards not attached to bed and noisy!! Telephone in room not working and reception refused to allow me to use theirs!! Reception staff rude and unhelpful.

Room Tip: Do not stay here..... unless you want to be robbed!! Find another Hotel.....preferably one that doe...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Lets start our review very positive, the rooftop garden had fantastic views. Right now for the negatives.

The staff upon arrival ( around 7pm local) were about as lively and helpful as a cold turd. They said hello and passport please and thats about it! No welcoming atmosphere or help carrying our bags in. No information about safes, maps or even where the hotel is compared to Rome. Theres your key now buggar off to your room peasant.

The rooms were terrible and dirty, for example there was short and curleys ( Pubes ) all over the bathroom floor and sink, gunk in the shower cubicle and hair and other bodily deposits in the plug hole. Things were broken, shower cubicle was hanging off, shower holder had snapped and they just looped the shower head over the handle. Wardrobe doors hanging off, TV in room entertainment didnt work, no signal. BEDS- Extremely uncomfortable, lets put this into prospective, I ve slept in may places, including dartmoore on the ground for 1 week and it was more comfortable that this bed. First night extreme back and neck pain and by the second day I think we both slipped a disk it was that crap.

Resturant- well there isnt one! Its like looking at the Titanics lobby room but no body in it, i enquired about this, " No resturant sir only breakfast" ok then, So I thought id head to the bar and have a stiff drink as I needed one, Only to find a lonely itiallian at reception, Bar closed sir. what at 8pm??. They had a very vast choice of coke, coke and sprite. Pathetic to say the least.

Parking- NONE or you have to pay.

Breakfast, None existant, bit of reprocessed ham and ultra muddy coffee. Which will give you runny D.

Overall before I have nightmares about this, Please avoid. Its Not a 4* rating, I would honestly give it a half a star for the rooftop garden.

You will be dissapointed, theres cheap hotels and theres crap, this one lays on crap.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Subject: Grand Hotel Hermitage
Location: Rome, Lazio, Italy, Europe

ID#: 184315312

Built in the 40's it was a 4 star hotel of it's time. The extensive use of marble and it's location in the Paroli District where it is quiet belies it's current state. 4 stars are prominently displayed at the entrance, an entrance with a torn carpet. It is currently being used for groups and unsuspecting tourists. I bid blindly on Priceline at $135. US and only after finding out where it was located and the reviews did I try and cancel our 5 night stay, but to no avail. The toilet seat in our room slid to one side and the shower slide could not be tightened so you had a shower spraying at waist level. It was a bus ride to the City but we accepted that. Thankfully we had Mapswithme, a software program, on our phone which led us to restaurants which were quite good, about 5 blocks down the hill from the hotel. I'll never trust Priceline again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SLOFOODIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel San Giusto
#1,107 of 1,267 in Rome
406 reviews
Hotel Pineta Palace
#450 of 1,267 in Rome
1,036 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Regent Rome
Hotel Regent Rome
#994 of 1,267 in Rome
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
#533 of 1,267 in Rome
430 reviews
Smooth Hotel Rome West
#712 of 1,267 in Rome
349 reviews
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#1,048 of 1,267 in Rome
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Hermitage

Address: Via Eugenio Vajna 12-18, 00197 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#369 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £54 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Hermitage 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a top floor terrace overlooking the dome of San Pietro and around the city, Grand Hotel Hermitage offers accommodation in the elegant Parioli district of Rome, 600 meters from the green oasis of Villa Ada Park. The Hermitage is well connected by bus to the main attractions of the city and the Termini Railway Station. Not too far you will find the Olympic Stadium and the Foro Italico sports complex with facilities for tennis, swimming and rugby. Rooms come with wooden furnishings, carpeted or parquet floors, a balcony in some rooms, TV, safe and air conditioning. A continental breakfast is served daily in the dining room. Our staff at the Grand Hotel Hermitage will be happy to advise you on nearby avant-garde art attractions such as the Auditorium Parco della Musica and the MAXXI Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing