We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with Old European charm”
Review of Grand Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Plaza
Ranked #717 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I was pleased with my choice of location of this hotel, I had never been to Rome before. We were greeted pleasantly by staff. The first night was a basic room. Very lovely decor and rested well. One week later returned to same hotel for 2 nights after a cruise. We had a room with a balocony and a view.(up graded room) .Worth the the extra money. The hotel staff was most kind and helpful. Taxis parked out front, so grabbing a taxi was always easy. We were walking distance to Spanish Steps, Pantheon, and coliseum.Only.10.00 euro to the vatican by taxi.The only drawback to this hotel in my opinion are small showers and beds and pillows were hard. ( Might be European normal) My husband thought floors were dirty.(in second stay the bathroom walls were dirty) Our 2nd room lacked a guest book to refer to you ( I never bothered to ask for one) the in room frig barely kept things cold, and curtain was broke at the top therefore couldnt completely close the curtain..which didnt bother us really. The hotel should repair these few things. I give the place 5 stars for staff friendlinest and a 4 for overall condition of the room.The breakfast was european style( great coffee) Breakfast is 16.00 euro pricey .Some other reviews by other people on this place say outdated furniture, I personally thought the old furniture pieces they had were part of the charm. Bed linens very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHPlaza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Client,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very sorry that you didn't notify us directly about the lack of service. We would have immediately remedied the situation. Thanks to your photographs, however, we were able to identify the rooms in question and immediately fix the problems.
Once again, thank you for the detail and clarity of your review. it is precious information to us because we can improve our marvelous hotel and its service.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel is dusty, the staff are rude and not helpful at all, the breakfast is like a breakfast at a 1 star hotel, the rooms smell of dust, the beds aren't comfortable at all! Bad service and i dont recommend this hotel to anyone and for advice dont stay here. The only good thing about this hotel was the location.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zack1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHPlaza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you very much for taking time to write your review.
We sincerly apologize that some of our staff were ill-mannered to you during your stay. We are invastigating and will take immediate action to remedy this.

Yours truly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

An excellent location hotel in via del corso. A huge hotel(maybe palace in the past), but very much outdated. Furniture was very very old, not particularly clean.The sink, toilet and bathtap in our room were dirty from the day of our arrival .There was mould on the walls of the shower..Breakfast was unacceptable.The pastries were stale. I always considered eggs to be a must in an american breakfast buffet.....but if your child wanted an egg you had to pay 8euros. We basically could not eat the breakfast...The staff was far from polite and most certainly not particularly helpful. The only thing I appreciated as far as this hotel is concerned was the location.It is not worth the money"""

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EVI G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHPlaza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very sorry that you didn't notify the management of your dissatisfaction because we would have immediately changed your room, and happily provided the eggs to your child with our compliments!

Cordially yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The two things going for this joint is (1) location, location, location and (2) the wow factor when you see the classic lobby and grand staircase. But that's it: the front desk (particularly the lady gestapo) is not professional or service oriented. The rooms are not elegant, quite worn, indeed odd, and lacking in basic essentials, like tissues, found at one star motels . . . and this is rated five stars??? Where did that reviewer spend the night? Will return to Rome, and in that neighborhood, but not at the not-so-grand joint.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is very well located, can't deny that! The public areas are beautiful, like an old-time italian palace. However, it needs lots of refurbishing. Rooms are far from clean and would need overall upgrading, beds are old, we had only 2 hangers for our junior suite for 4 people, and took them forever to bring additional ones --just to name one example, hair dryer from the seventies... Service is very poor, breakfast is served by way fewer people than required, reception desk works at slow motion. There's no concierge. In brief, public areas are awesome, but the rest is very poor. Definitely not a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Grand Hotel Plaza (again for the third time) and found it to be warm, friendly hotel situated in the middle of everything! The front desk staff were attentive to our needs, our room with a huge walk-out balcony was spacious and clean and offered us incredible views of the city, and the lobby and breakfast areas are incredibly elegant and old world.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GailT844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is amazing! The public areas are beautiful; the atmosphere brings you way back in time, but with the comfort of modern times! We enjoyed our stay and we'll certainly stay at this hotel during our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fossum2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#275 of 1,270 in Rome
963 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel d'Inghilterra - Starhotels Collezione
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#193 of 1,270 in Rome
473 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Trevi
Sina Bernini Bristol
Sina Bernini Bristol
#320 of 1,270 in Rome
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Plaza

Address: Via del Corso 126, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#317 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £144 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Luxury Grand Hotel Plaza Rome. The Grand Hotel Plaza was well renovated and restyled without altering its features and maintaining the fascination of its past history. With more than 150 large rooms with high ceilings, all rooms are elegantly decorated in each detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome
Grand Hotel Plaza Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing