We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, needs updating”
Review of Grand Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Plaza
Ranked #640 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location, needs updating”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Staff was responsive, although it took three requests to have them check A/C in room. When I requested a new room they were great about accommodating. Staff in lounge was exceptional. Ideal location. Was listed as five star hotel, I would disagree. We had a three rooms. The other two rooms were acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    329
    257
    221
    211
See reviews for
349
479
45
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

While the hotel was in an excellant location within walking distance to the Spanish Steps, the Hotel could improve. I enjoyed the roof terrace and the tranquility of it in the late afternoo. The room was very comfortable and clean. We had a shower attachement but not at above head height!
On check-in the staff member came across moody or was having a bad day. She had very little to say to us and just went through the motions!

Room Tip: We had a room, overlooking the inner atriam, courtyard. Lovely and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSherrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Et tu BRU-TAL!

It just doesn't get any worse. If it wasn't for the location...it would be a zero star.

The "free" breakfast is inedible.

Our key doesn't open the room again. So we call down from another room to get a key brought up. The dude brings the master to open the door, but no key to leave us. When I ask if he has another, he turns his back, waves his arms, and walks away.

The "valet" takes 30 minutes to get your car. The secondi time we went to valet, he says, "we don't have valet". When my wife said, "yes you do", he replied, "oh oh oh, the expensive thing. Oh, I guess we do".

But the best part? The AC vent starts screaming at 3 a.m. every night! No matter how many times or what you tell them, they say, "I know it says 5 star hotel but we balance".

Then just now, the desk calls to tell me that the valet doesn't know our car, which we need for a 9 a.m. appointment.

Welcome to the hotel "Cassonetto"
Such a nasty place
What a big disgrace
There's planty of room at the hotel Cassonetto
Any time of year, any time of year
Stay here and shed a tear...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael_on_the_block
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Location, Staff and Chefs are great about this hotel. Breakfast was great when you add hot options. The Lobby and sitting rooms have luxurious interior. The Basilica is front is grand to look at morning and evening. Other than bed and bathrooms, rooms are not cleaned for ages. There is smell of dust in the carpets. No complimentary water/tea coffee/bottle openers like other hotels. Water cost 5 euros if you ask in room.

Over all odd feeling due to over decor. Strange sad paintings in the suite that we stayed in, damp feeling in all furniture, fire place and the mirror was peeled from places. I am sorry that doesn't look antique… quite confused decor of rooms. Closet had torn wrapping papers laid on shelves.

If you are not shopping at VIA CONDOTTI. Its not the best place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tayyaba a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHPlaza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry that your experience at our Hotel
was not up to your expectations.
We take pride in the old-world experience of our Hotel. Antique and vintage furniture make up a fundamental element of the belle èpoque atmosphere that defines our Hotel in the heart of the Eternal city of Rome.
Perhaps you are not a lover of antique and vintage furniture and therefore our Hotel was not to your liking.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rome
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

it was the worst hotel i had seen in my life,breakfast was disapointing there was nothing to eat except bread and butter...rooms were so old and terrible,i killed an insect in the bathroom and nobody picked it during my stay

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leyla_ghadakchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHPlaza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We fully understand the disturbance you felt finding an insect in the least pleasant place: the bathroom, and we also understand that this incident undoubtedly marked your stay. Please be assured that we acted immediately to ensure this will never happen again.
In reference to the breakfast, we offer a "reinforced" continental breakfast.
Kindly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Spent time at the hotel with the family. took 3 rooms. All rooms were spacious and clean. Staff was very helpful and all-in-all service was good. this is our 4th time there.
Pickup from the airport was also efficient and quick.
The location is superb. within walking distance from all the main attractions. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoniEssakow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHPlaza, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very happy to have made your stay at our Hotel unique, and we hope to see you soon once again as our guest.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Was told to come here for a Ameretto Sours drink.

Yes the drink was nice, but this was past midnight and I had been drinking a lot.

The place was quite strange.

The furniture reminded me of the film Beauty and the Beast.

This place is odd.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel d'Inghilterra
Hotel d'Inghilterra
#415 of 1,256 in Rome
519 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#261 of 1,256 in Rome
398 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#286 of 1,256 in Rome
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#125 of 1,256 in Rome
915 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#103 of 1,256 in Rome
1,082 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Grand Hotel de la Minerve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Plaza

Property: Grand Hotel Plaza
Address: Via del Corso 126, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#296 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Luxury Grand Hotel Plaza Rome. The Grand Hotel Plaza was well renovated and restyled without altering its features and maintaining the fascination of its past history. With more than 150 large rooms with high ceilings, all rooms are elegantly decorated in each detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome
Grand Hotel Plaza Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing